We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Orleans

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Chateau Orleans
Save Saved
You added Chateau Orleans to your Saves list
240 Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Manchester, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chateau Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chateau Orleans is a wonderful place to stay in the center of activity surrounding the French Quarter. We were there for a wedding/reception that was held at the Ritz Carlton, the Chateau was one of the three hotels recommended by bride's father who lives in the New Orleans area. It is by far the best value in hotels located in this area of New Orleans. The streets surrounding the Chateu are loud most of the night, but that is to be expected in the location so near to the French quarter. The staff, especially Paul at the dresk, was exceptional. Hotel is completing a renovation of rooms. My unit, #15 had not been renovated and I had the take off points because of this for the room rating. If you are afraid of heights, do not ask for a unit with a loft bedroom, navigating an eight foot ladder in't for everyone. There is no restaurant, but is located near some very good ones especially Deanies on Iberville (3/4 of block away). Complimentary Bloody Maries and pastries on weekend mornings at a beautiful pool/courtyard area. There is NO PARKING, but located near an excellent parking garage across from Deanies (3/4 block away). The garage is the most reasonably priced one in the area(Premium Parking on Iberville). I would definitely stay at the Chateau again, I can't emphasize the dollar value enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently remodeled Studio or Townhouse unit. Townhouses are quieter, located in innder co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    6
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been coming to the Chateau Orleans for 33 years. Great, great location in the French Quarter -- two blocks from Bourbon and two blocks from Canal. Swimming pool, living room, kitchenette, and laundry facilities. Very inexpensive compared to nearby properties. New owners have extensively remodeled and renovated. Put in an elevator in one building and are planning to add one to the second building. Rooms and public areas have been refurbished and extensive re-landscaping has been done. Paul Collins, Manager, and Staff are always helpful and will spend time giving advice to first-time N.O. visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard and one in the building with an elevator if you have trouble wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

So, my friends and I started at another property owned by this company and were moved here after a giant ceiling leak was discovered. It was an upgrade from the previous property but that's not saying much. It was cleaner but that doesn't mean clean. Dated, dated, dated. The lady who "works" the front desk is one of the least helpful people working in the hotel industry. Nothing is her concern and nothing is her problem. She simply can't be bothered. The gentleman that works the front desk however is a gem and the ONLY reason I gave this dump a second star. The company that owns both properties should seriously rethink their game plan because the condition of their hotels and the people they choose to staff are WRONG!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Chateau for many many years. In fact we come serveral times a year and stay here without hesitation. The courtyard is like a little oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the quarter. The manager Paul is so helpful and we look forward to seeing him everytime we stay. In fact, if we dont arrive on time...he takes the time to call us and make sure everything is going OK. We have stayed in many of the rooms and its wonderful to stay in a room with so much to offer in the French Quarter. WHere else for the price can you get a living room and kitchenette. I look forward to staying here year after year and many years to come.

Room Tip: Lots of room when you get a one bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

February 18, 2013, exchanged my timeshare for Chateau Orleans. Late arrival, but was assured we could access the Chateau and I was given the codes for the entry and key box along with directions to our room (ground floor, main bldg.) and told us to sign in at desk in am. This all went just perfect. The rooms were amazing, overlooking the beautiful courtyard/pool, very high ceilings, all freshly painted and very clean large bedroom, living room with kitchenette, shower/bath, with lots of towels, etc. The bed and pull-out couch were extremely comfortable. Coffee in the beautiful courtyard daily. We met Susie the following morning and she was wonderful, gave us lots of ideas of where to visit, eat, etc. and made our reservations. As it was our first trip to New Orleans, she was so helpful. We also met the lovely lady painting the beautiful murals on the walls in the hallways, she was also so nice and friendly. Other guests were friendly as is usual in this intimate setting. There were no restaurants, but everything was within one-to-two blocks away. I would recommend and encourage anyone to give this place and its ambience some notice. Would definitely stay here again!
Thank you Susie, you were wonderful!

Room Tip: If you have a disability or suffer from arthritis, I would advise you to let the Management know, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed here 5 years in a row and it just gets better and better. The Chateau is in the process of a beautiful remodel. The front desk area, freshly painted entrance, new well lit entry way, and the addition of an elevator have made this a wonderful vacation stop. Try to remember this is an older building located in the middle of the French Quarter. It is not new but who wants to come to this historic neighborhood and ruin it by staying in some new boring chain. The front desk folks (as other reviews have said) make your New Orleans experience one to remember. All you have to do is ask, they are all very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In March 2011 we booked a small suite (1 bedroom with a partial kitchen) at the Chateau Oleans for the week of February 8-15, 2013 (for Fat Tuesday / the conclusion of Mardi Gras). We had written confirmation of the booking nearly two years in advance. Last week, in late December, 2012 (only about 6 weeks before our long anticipated vacation) we were notified that Chateau Orleans had "made a mistake" and did not have accomodations for us. We have already purchased our airline tickets to travel from VA and are now left with no accomodations in New Orleans for the upcoming Mardi Gras. Chateau Orleans refuses to honor our written confirmation and have left us "high and dry" with nowhere to stay and no assistance except a lame "we're sorry for the mistake". It is our belief that Chateau Orleans cancelled our reservation in order to book other guests at a higher rate. The management at this resort seems to be totally lacking in integrity, empathy or any sense of responsibility for "their mistake". I cannot recommend taking a chance making a reservation with this hotel since based on our experience even your written reservation may or may not be reliable / honored. This is the most callous attitude I have ever encountered with a business in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Orleans

Address: 240 Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Also Known As:
Chateau Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Orleans New

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;