We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonnie Is the Ideal Innkeeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
2727 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Weeknights, Get 1 Free
Ranked #53 of 147 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bonnie Is the Ideal Innkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Grand Victorian is perfectly located for your New Orleans adventure. Right on the streetcar line (or bus stop when they break down!), smack dab in the middle of some of the most beautiful architecture in America, Bonnie has done a magnificent job of restoring this grand old house.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are super comfy. Snacks abound, and breakfast is tailored to your needs. My mother and I can't do wheat, so Bonnie got us gluten-free options.

The GVBB is walking distance to the best dining and some of the best shopping in New Orleans over on Magazine St. Checkout Sake Cafe Uptown for some life-changing sushi. Need a dinner recommendation? Ask Bonnie!

Nothing is too much to ask of Bonnie and her staff, they will organise everything to make your stay the most enjoyable and memorable stay possible.

Room Tip: Get in contact with Bonnie to discuss accessibility and noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks, ladies, for your glowing opinions of the Grand Victorian and my staff. We try reaaly hard to make sure that each guest has the very best information and experience while at the house and in New Orleans. I hope that the rest of your holiday was equally as great! Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    15
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
62
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipley, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a beautiful Bed and Breakfast on St. Charles Avenue. We stayed in the Greenwood Suite and it was beautiful and roomie. The owner, Bonnie, and her staff were knowledgable about all things New Orleans and were eager to help us maximize our experience. If you are looking for a beautiful old house to stay in, this is it. The only downside to the experience is that due to repairs the streetcar is not working. A bus runs the same route but doesn't seem to come as often as the streetcar and certainly it cannot compete with the experience nor the view the streetcar affords. But the house itself and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: The Greenwood has a kingsized bed and a large jacuzzi tub. It's on the second floor and has a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! I'm pleased that you had a "grand" experience as that is our ultimate goal here at the Grand Victorian.

Just as a note to others who read this, there is currently some long overdue construction/repair happening on the streetcar tracks along St. Charles Avenue, but the parent company says that it will be complete within 2 weeks. In the meantime, everyone does need to ride the bus substitute which is providing the same service along the construction portion of the route. Sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Victorian. The room was lovely, the owner and staff helpful, and it was the perfect location to explore the Garden District and Magazine Street. The trolley car stopped right outside, so we could easily get into the French Quarter as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary in New Orleans and were thrilled to find the Grand Victorian. The inn is well-maintained and elegantly renovated, a fine gem of both past and present. We loved the Shadow's Room and, though we are used to stretching out in a king-sized mattress, we had no trouble adjusting to the queen/full-sized, antique mattress. The room has a lot of character and is very cozy. We enjoyed the complimentary sherry and the shared history of the "rolling pin" headboard!

Breakfasts are generous with a nice variety of pastries, cheeses (Babybel), biscotti, oatmeal, fruit, and an extra treat from the kitchen (ie. one day it was a ham/cheese croissant and the next day it was a cinnamon roll). Breakfast is more casual (self-serve) with individual seating (rather than communal). This is great if you are less fond of the formal dining experience at a shared table with strangers that is characteristic of many B&B's.

The innkeepers take great care of their guests and are very familiar with the area and attractions. Towels were promptly replenished, like magic, while we were at breakfast. The location of the inn is perfect to catch a trolley to the French Quarter. It was nice to be in a quieter area than the French Quarter. FYI: Don't venture around the block behind the inn. The area behind is rundown, but the area lying ahead of the inn (ie. Magazine Street) is good, and we felt perfectly safe exploring at night, on foot. Take good walking shoes and enjoy the charms that the Garden District and French Quarter have to offer! We had a wonderful stay and would definitely do it all again!

Room Tip: If you are particular about mattress size, be prepared that antique beds may run a bit smaller and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful and extensive review of my house! I'm pleased to hear that we met &/or exceeded your expectations for your anniversary getaway. I particularly enjoyed the pictures that you shared (especailly the one down the sidewalk in front of the house.)

I'm glad that you were satisfied and comfortable with the bed in your room even though it was smaller than to which you are accustomed. Because all of my beds were built at the turn of the last century, there is nothing "standard" about them and they do not conform to "modern" sizing. (I don't believe that I've ever seen a rolling pin on the headboard of a modern bed!)

The house is located on the trafficed corner of St. Charles & Washington Aves. It faces into the Garden District. The neighborhood behind the house is considered Central City and is much more residential & less trafficed. Our staff routinely recommends that our guests walk/tour in front of the house rather than behind it. All of the lovely architecture that attracts people to my area of town lies in front of the house in the Garden District itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was thrilled to find a B&B at one of the most convenient corners in the Garden District, surprised to find that they had a room available for the first week of JazzFest, and delighted when we arrived and saw the Grand Victorian. It's a lovely example of a gracious Garden District Victorian home, beautifully restored and maintained. Bonnie met us when we arrived and she and Rachel are the perfect hostesses. They're both friendly and helpful and interesting, and they cook up a fine breakfast. My husband and I felt quite at home - in our room, in the sunny dining room, and (for me especially) on the shady balcony.

We were very happy with our room and its period furnishings - and I slept like a baby on the comfortable mattress. The bath was a real treat, the amenities were very nice, the towels and bathrobes were the perfect thickness of good-quality terry, and I could have spent the entire weekend relaxing in the huge tub. I plan to spend many more weekends at the Grand Victorian and would highly recommend it to anyone who visits New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast wins the trifecta when it comes to Great Accomodations, Great Service, and Great Location! Easy access to the St. Charles streetcar, the French Quarter, the Garden District and Magazine Street. The entire staff at GVB&B is great and the rooms are wonderful. We would highly recommend the Grand Victorian for any occassion.

Room Tip: The best room in the house is the Greenwood Room. Fronts on St. Charles with a private balcony, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLAbar, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
David, thank you so much for the positive feedback! I'm so pleased that you & Cindy had a GREAT Jazz Fest stay in my home. I also appreciated the tip about the Greenwood suite. I agree with you in that it is the best spot in the house! I hope you guys will come back again sometime soon & not wait another 10 years to celebrate your anniversary again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time in New Orleans staying at the Grand Victorian during Jazz Fest. The location was perfect, right on St. Charles and not far from the French Quarter. The house has been completely renovated so you have beautiful character with modern electricity and air conditioning. Our room was beautifully appointed including a decanter of sherry to sip on the private balcony. The breakfast was very good and always included a special hot item - pancakes or fresh croissants - as well as cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Bonnie is extremely knowledgeable about NO; the music, restaurants, clubs, transportation etc. and very generous about sharing her knowledge. She even had street car passes that we could buy. We loved our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were worried that the street car would be noisy but that was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLAbar, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thanks for the complimentary assessment of my home. I particularly appreciated your comments about our breakfasts. While officially B&Bs can only serve a continental breakfaast here in New Orleans, we try really hard to provide a nice & satisfactory assortment for our daily breakfasts. I'm glad that you enjoyed them!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list