We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
2727 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Weekday special in Summer
Ranked #47 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfort & Convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary in New Orleans and were thrilled to find the Grand Victorian. The inn is well-maintained and elegantly renovated, a fine gem of both past and present. We loved the Shadow's Room and, though we are used to stretching out in a king-sized mattress, we had no trouble adjusting to the queen/full-sized, antique mattress. The room has a lot of character and is very cozy. We enjoyed the complimentary sherry and the shared history of the "rolling pin" headboard!

Breakfasts are generous with a nice variety of pastries, cheeses (Babybel), biscotti, oatmeal, fruit, and an extra treat from the kitchen (ie. one day it was a ham/cheese croissant and the next day it was a cinnamon roll). Breakfast is more casual (self-serve) with individual seating (rather than communal). This is great if you are less fond of the formal dining experience at a shared table with strangers that is characteristic of many B&B's.

The innkeepers take great care of their guests and are very familiar with the area and attractions. Towels were promptly replenished, like magic, while we were at breakfast. The location of the inn is perfect to catch a trolley to the French Quarter. It was nice to be in a quieter area than the French Quarter. FYI: Don't venture around the block behind the inn. The area behind is rundown, but the area lying ahead of the inn (ie. Magazine Street) is good, and we felt perfectly safe exploring at night, on foot. Take good walking shoes and enjoy the charms that the Garden District and French Quarter have to offer! We had a wonderful stay and would definitely do it all again!

Room Tip: If you are particular about mattress size, be prepared that antique beds may run a bit smaller and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful and extensive review of my house! I'm pleased to hear that we met &/or exceeded your expectations for your anniversary getaway. I particularly enjoyed the pictures that you shared (especailly the one down the sidewalk in front of the house.)

I'm glad that you were satisfied and comfortable with the bed in your room even though it was smaller than to which you are accustomed. Because all of my beds were built at the turn of the last century, there is nothing "standard" about them and they do not conform to "modern" sizing. (I don't believe that I've ever seen a rolling pin on the headboard of a modern bed!)

The house is located on the trafficed corner of St. Charles & Washington Aves. It faces into the Garden District. The neighborhood behind the house is considered Central City and is much more residential & less trafficed. Our staff routinely recommends that our guests walk/tour in front of the house rather than behind it. All of the lovely architecture that attracts people to my area of town lies in front of the house in the Garden District itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    16
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
64
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was thrilled to find a B&B at one of the most convenient corners in the Garden District, surprised to find that they had a room available for the first week of JazzFest, and delighted when we arrived and saw the Grand Victorian. It's a lovely example of a gracious Garden District Victorian home, beautifully restored and maintained. Bonnie met us when we arrived and she and Rachel are the perfect hostesses. They're both friendly and helpful and interesting, and they cook up a fine breakfast. My husband and I felt quite at home - in our room, in the sunny dining room, and (for me especially) on the shady balcony.

We were very happy with our room and its period furnishings - and I slept like a baby on the comfortable mattress. The bath was a real treat, the amenities were very nice, the towels and bathrobes were the perfect thickness of good-quality terry, and I could have spent the entire weekend relaxing in the huge tub. I plan to spend many more weekends at the Grand Victorian and would highly recommend it to anyone who visits New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast wins the trifecta when it comes to Great Accomodations, Great Service, and Great Location! Easy access to the St. Charles streetcar, the French Quarter, the Garden District and Magazine Street. The entire staff at GVB&B is great and the rooms are wonderful. We would highly recommend the Grand Victorian for any occassion.

Room Tip: The best room in the house is the Greenwood Room. Fronts on St. Charles with a private balcony, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLAbar, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
David, thank you so much for the positive feedback! I'm so pleased that you & Cindy had a GREAT Jazz Fest stay in my home. I also appreciated the tip about the Greenwood suite. I agree with you in that it is the best spot in the house! I hope you guys will come back again sometime soon & not wait another 10 years to celebrate your anniversary again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time in New Orleans staying at the Grand Victorian during Jazz Fest. The location was perfect, right on St. Charles and not far from the French Quarter. The house has been completely renovated so you have beautiful character with modern electricity and air conditioning. Our room was beautifully appointed including a decanter of sherry to sip on the private balcony. The breakfast was very good and always included a special hot item - pancakes or fresh croissants - as well as cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Bonnie is extremely knowledgeable about NO; the music, restaurants, clubs, transportation etc. and very generous about sharing her knowledge. She even had street car passes that we could buy. We loved our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were worried that the street car would be noisy but that was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLAbar, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thanks for the complimentary assessment of my home. I particularly appreciated your comments about our breakfasts. While officially B&Bs can only serve a continental breakfaast here in New Orleans, we try really hard to provide a nice & satisfactory assortment for our daily breakfasts. I'm glad that you enjoyed them!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My boyfriend & I really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Vic. Beautiful neighborhood (a given, being the Garden District), the access to the streetcar was right out the front door (how easy is that?), but the access to all the Magazine street shops and restaurants was the real kicker, less than 5 blocks - just couldn't be beat. Also within walking distance to Lafette Cemetery #1, if your into that kinda thing. So location is fantastic, but the best part was Bonnie's suggestions (Bonnie is the owner, Rachel her assistant and really great too!), their helpfulness in printing out boarding passes, and little things like that - any place else it could have been a drag but Bonnie just took care of the little extra things so we were free to have a good time, now what else could you want in a place to stay?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Fantastic place. Super warm and welcoming without being bothersome.

My girlfriend and I are 27-year olds, and were looking for a place to splurge for a night. We LOVED it. And it is not far from the French Quarter. And the Garden District is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here at the recommendations of another innkeeper in the area. The location, in the glorious Garden District, was optimal, as it was within easy walking distance to the Trolley as well as wonderful restaurants and shopping. Plus, we had a short walk to both Commander's Palace as well as to the independent bookstore, located in the "skating rink" in order to take a very informative and enjoyable walking tour of the Garden District.
Bonnie and Rachel were very nice hosts, The room was very comfortable and the nice continental breakfast--offered for several hours, allowed us the flexibility to eat when we wished so that we could go about our business at our pace. I recommend this beautiful establishment without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list