We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Grill

Oceana Grill
739 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-525-6002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

As a former New Orleanian, I usually tend to be wary of French Quarter restaurants because I have had the "tourist treatment" one too many times (rush in, rush out, mediocre food/service...) I am SO glad I gave Oceana Grill a chance to change my mind. This place is truly a hidden gem. Friends recommended it to us on a previous visit and we stopped in for lunch; now we make a point to come here every time we are in town! This trip, we just came in for a "snack" before heading to the airport. We love the BBQ shrimp, and the crab cakes are amazing!! Great food, reasonable prices, friendly staff. Our server, Errol, took great care of us. The restaurant is low-key and laid-back; we were not rushed at all. We really enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,106
    1,306
    365
    118
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy food good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW via mobile

The Oceana Grill is a good place for some seafood. They have a few meat entrees also if you don't like seafood. I especially recommend the breakfast seafood jambalaya...scrambled eggs, crawfish, gator, and shrimp over rice with tasty sauce.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NH
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Our dinner here was excellent. We wondered a bit when we arrived and the restaurant was nearly empty, but that's apparently just because a lot of people don't know what they're missing. Both of our meals were delicious and the service was friendly and efficient

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too touristy for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

It's fair. Probably good for most cities. Clean. Well appointed. Good staff and systems. But, they are just too bland for a city with such competition.

Tried the grilled oysters and gumbo. Both were good but too bland for me.
M

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The food is still Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

I recommend we eat at Oceana Grill in the French Quarter and as the first time I was not disappointed. The food was very good. The services was great. Everyone acknowledged us as we went upstairs and once we finished and left. It was a good feeling.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Oceana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.