We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Grill

Oceana Grill
739 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
504-525-6002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,602 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant was wonderful! We were recommended to eat at this place by a friend who had just visited New Orleans. What a great recommendation! They have the BEST CRAB CAKES EVER!!! I always order crab cakes when we go out to eat if they are available and these are by far the best. Our waitress was extremely nice and informative. Highly recommend this to everyone!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    1,792
    822
    263
    89
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great food, right off of Boubon St.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The food was yummy, great location, the staff was wonderful. Price was just average, not impressed with the portions or prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice taste of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I were NOLA for an evening and wanted to experience a nice Cajun/Creole meal after finishing a horse tour of the French Quarter. We arrived at Oceana Grill (corner of Conti and Bourbon) and were quickly seated. We starter off with the BBQ shrimp appetizer, large fresh shrimp in a delicious spicy sauce served with crusty bread. For our main meal, we split a cup of seafood gumbo and the "taste of New Orleans" sampler platter: jambalaya, seafood etoufee, and red beans & rice with sausage. Everything was spiced nicely and served hot and fresh. For desert my wife had the bread pudding in rum sauce while I ordered the bananas foster ice cream cake; both were great! The bill was $50.00 and well worth it for a taste of e local cuisine in a nice, friendly location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Worth the line up.
I stood half an hour but was well worth the wait.

Good food cooked with some different style.
Restaurant ambiance is different.
Prices very reasonable
Quality and value above average

Make this one of your food stops!

(Note: they have another one on Bourbon St but it isn't anything like this one on Conti, just off Bourbon - so choose wisely)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our first night in New Orleans we decided to have dinner at Oceana. The restaurant was really busy and a little understaffed but our waitress was friendly and helpful with questions that we had about the menu. The food was amazing, everything was served at perfect tempature and very fresh. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone to try some authentic New Orleans cooking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Oceana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.