We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great looks HORRIBLE everything else!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Kennesaw, GA, United States
1 review
“great looks HORRIBLE everything else!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel looked great from the outside and in the lobby. Once we got past that... The room was tiny and expensive. The amenities were nonexistent unless paid for and the SERVICE WAS WORSE THAN A TURKISH PRISON! Everyone with exception of one manager, the parking attendant and the security guard (that had direct contact with me) was rude, deceptive and just plain made me feel unwanted and less than a human being. I was told that I had a smoking room then I was told smoking rooms didn't exist for a few years. I asked for the manager to explain the bad service and the concierge evaded the question until cornered and then said that she was too busy to speak to me. OVERALL: THE WORST STAY I HAVE EVER HAD!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
19
22
2
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a recent stay at the Hampton Inn French Quarter, we were very much looking forward to upgrading and staying at another lovely historic property. We reserved a room on the Executive floor and were looking forward to the amenities and privacy afforded by that room category. At check in we were told, due to renovations, that : 1) rooms on the Executive floor were not available, 2) evening cocktails would be in the lobby, 3) breakfast would be in an alternate location within the hotel, and 4) snacks could be retrieved from the sundry’s shop.
While Hilton did make an effort to provide alternative accommodations and amenities for guests that had reserved on the Executive floor, a better option would have been to not advertise Executive rooms at all but rather to offer the same rooms at regular rates without giving guests the expectation of an Executive experience. Guests would have reserved these rooms at advertised rates and Hilton would not have been on the hook to provide Executive amenities in inferior spaces.
Other less than ideal situations included the conspicuous absence of helpful attitudes by front desk staff, the restaurant and bar area being entirely too small for a hotel of this size and the unmistakable sound of a jackhammer resounding from behind the front desk. Restaurant staff was not friendly and valets did not want to be bothered to lend assistance with hailing a taxi. As far as the room, ours was much smaller than and not nearly as nice as the room we had in the Hampton Inn in November (see previous TA review). The room did not even have a dresser or chest in which to unpack personal items.
On a positive note, the bell and housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful.
As a recap, keep your greenbacks in your pocket and stay at the Hampton (if you must elect for Hilton when in NOLA). Although the Hampton does not have a restaurant, bar or executive floor, the staff is accommodating and the property is just and lovely and rooms even nicer than Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit. Truly sorry our team and hotel did not met your expectations. While our executive lounge is under renovation our objective was to provide the same amenities and services but in different locations. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We regret losing you as a potential repeat guest but delighted to read that your faith remains in the Hilton family. Thank you again for your valued comments. Rest assured your review will be shared with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, we checked in for 4 days at Mardi Gras time, but certainly the hotel reaches capacity at other times and can plan accordingly. My husband is Hilton Honors Diamond so we stay at lots of Hilton hotels and typically receive a welcome expressing appreciation. But not here. I'll go so far as to say this was the least welcome I have felt at any Hilton establishment. No smiles, no welcome letter, no bottled watter, no mention of WIFI. No Executive Lounge--for 4 days? A previous reviewer remarked what a great job they did to make coworkers happy--king cake and parade viewing area. Wish I'd met that staff. Bell service was nowhere to be found. It took several requests at a quiet front desk to get bags out of storage. The room was nicely refurbished. We did get turndown service and 2 little chocolate pieces ONE night. The best? A wonderful dinner at the restaurant there - Luke. Thankfully the concierge booked us a table the week before or we couldn't have gotten in. We did have one good breakfast there, too. However, another day we were there during advertised breakfast hours and we were told they weren't serving anymore. FYI, we were about to order room service one night when I realized a burger would cost nearly $40 delivered--really? I do think this is a grand location if you're interested in Mardi Gras parades. It's a pleasant walk to the French Quarter and many attractions, too. Just don't expect Southern Hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Wow, certainly not what we like to see in a review. Please know we value our Diamond members for you are the heart of our brand and I am truly disappointed that our team did not rise to your expectations. Mardi Gras is quite difficult on our team but hospitality should always be there no matter what pressures we face. Please accept our apology for the lack of recognition and service you deserve. We value your comments and rest assured your review will be shared with our team. We hope you will consider a return visit to the Hilton St. Charles. I am confident, if given another opportunity, your experience will be quite different and you will be embraced by the hospitality our team is known for. Thank you for your patronage and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a great location on the Mardi Gras parade route on St. Charles avenue. The convenience cannot be overstated. During Mardi Gras week, the hotel provides wrist bands to all guests to allow access to the hotel. This is a life saver when standing on the parade route all day and you have to go to the bathroom. Your clean room vs. a port a potty is no comparison. Also, the hotel is within walking distance to Canal street, the French Quarter, and Harrah's casino.

However the room is very expensive during Mardi Gras season so do keep that in mind. The hotel charges $40 per night for parking which I didn't know until I got the welcome letter from the hotel. Wifi is also not included. It is free in the lobby but around $12 in room. I have no idea why this is when I've had free wifi at many other Hilton properties, especially considering their rates.

The hotel has an elevated grand stand viewing area to watch the parade however they are at least $20 more expensive than neighboring paid viewing areas and they are standing only, no seating. We paid to view the parades on Mardi Gras day, however I'm a bit disappointed to see other reviews where people got to use this area for free. People who had not paid were given admission to the grandstand area eventually as I saw several up there with me without wrist bands. Again, a huge disappointment.

One night during our stay, someone pulled the fire alarm at 2:30 am which caused an evacuation. This wasn't the hotel's fault. However, they could have done a better job of giving an "all clear" announcement. After marching down 10 flights of stairs, we were told by other guests that it was clear to go back up as the security staff said it was a false alarm. After walking back up 10 flights of stairs and finally lying down, about 10 minutes later the announcement came that things were "all clear." The elevators were out of service for most of the next day (presumably due to the pulled fire alarm) and all guests had to use the one service elevator, causing incredibly long waits.

Even though we did pre-check in, our room was not ready upon arrival and we had to wait nearly an hour. This was not a huge inconvenience but it was an hour wasted that we could have been enjoying our trip. The room was spacious and clean and so was the bathroom. However the hallway and elevator areas certainly needed updating as the carpeting was worn and coming apart.

Overall the hotel is very conveniently located for those coming to enjoy Mardi Gras. Its right on the parade route and within walking distance to within everything that you want to enjoy. I wouldn't pay for the grand stand again and the room was very overpriced, but that's what they do during Mardi Gras season. Be sure to look for or ask about all additional fees, such as for wifi and for parking.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent visit to our hotel during Mardi Gras. We truly learn from detailed reviews such as yours and your comments are valued and provide a wealth of information as we continually strive for service excellence. A special thanks for understanding the importance of our wrist bands. We receive a lot of negative comments regarding this policy, but you obviously understand the purpose it provides regarding a secure atmosphere for our guests. Not sure what happened on the grand stands. We did allow some of our guest to go on the stands over the first weekend of Mardi Gras due to ample availability but the main weekend was predominately sold out. Thank you again for your review and especially your patronage. We hope you will return the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for Business and it was also Mardi Gras time. This was not a planned trip and one that came out of the blue. The hotel did everything possible during the stay to me and my coworkers happy. Free king cake and parade viewing area for the nights were at the hotel. Great service and awesome staff of people.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a nice surprise for your business trip...hope you enjoyed the craziness we call Mardi Gras! Thank you for the wonderful 5-Star review. I was delighted to read that our team met your expectations and we hope to see you back at the Hilton St. Charles the next time your business or pleasure travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very beautiful and modern hotel close to the action, but far enough so you are not in the middle of the chaos that could be the French Quarter when you are trying to sleep. So you can go there, have some fun, and go back to a good night sleep. New Orleans is a place to have fun and not really to enjoy a pool. This hotel has a pool, but it's indoor and in the basement, if you want to take a swim. Their restaurant is great, specially for happy hour. You can have oysters for 0.75 each. A great deal. Breakfast was a little disappointing. We were expecting the food to be better. In general, this is a nice hotel to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Geraldine, how kind of you to share your thoughts on the Hilton St. Charles. We agree, our location is one of the best...within walking distance to all that is New Orleans and yes... a great night's sleep to go with it! Please accept our apologies for any challenges regarding Luke for breakfast, but delighted to read you enjoyed their great happy hour. We hope you will come back to the Hilton St Charles for a return visit. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapua, Finland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this Hilton several nights on a business trip. I liked the spacious gym that had just the equipments I needed. Excellent location for the Mardi Gras festival and close to the buzzing city centre. Some might find the hotel even too historic. If you look for a trendy hotel this might not be your choice. Service was friendly althougth there were all kinds of small hassles with the breakfast coupons. The breakfast is not a light one and selection is rather limited.

Room Tip: With Gold card I had executive level room which was just nice. View was nothing to mention but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Jari K, thank you for selecting our hotel as your host for your recent business travels to New Orleans. Delighted to read you enjoyed Mardi Gras and our great location. We really apprecite your review and nice comments and we hope you will return to the Hilton St. Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Address: 333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Charles Avenue in the New Orleans CBD, our location places you with minutes of all that is New Orleans. Our newly renovated property caters to the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is a member of the Historic Hotels of America offering old world charm with all the modern conveniences that you would expect from an AAA 4-Diamond hotel.Join us at the Hilton St. Charles...You will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans / St Charles Ave Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.