We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #85 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location walking distance to many things, including the French quarter. The Hotel is a bit older, but is almost finished with renovations. My understanding is it was at one time a Free Mason Lodge, so it has some history. My room was clean and quiet.The restaurant in the hotel (Luke's) is pretty good too.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct, the hotel is a member of the Historic Hotels of America and the building was constructed in 1926 as the Masonic Grand Lodge of Louisiana. While the renovations have modernized our guest rooms, however there are some beautiful areas within the hotel that remain the same. The ballrooms and the Grand Chapel are spectacular and very unique. We hope to see you back at the Hilton New Orleans St Charles real soon. Thank you for your patronage and wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    242
    109
    60
    36
See reviews for
114
188
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 3 nights and nothing really to complain about here. Staff was great, everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Clean rooms, excellent location, room service great, on site restaurant - Luke's - was also good (only had breakfast there). Nice open and airy lobby space. If you are Hilton Gold the perks here are decent. If you don't want to be on Bourbon - this is a great locale as the walk is still close but no worries about a anyone asking you to throw beads at them as you go back into the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask - my room was facing an office building but I wasn't in the room much so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review! We really appreciate your comments and were pleased to read that our team, location and service met your expectations. Please come back and see us soon and again, thank you for the womderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a nice location. You are able to walk to many places. There is a lot of restaurants and many things to do either alone or with a group. The service is nice especially the doormen. You can book some nice excursion to view the city and have an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 6 days ago
How nice of you to share your positive thoughts on our hotel and team. Your comments are crucial to our continual strive for service excellence and act as a moral booster in this regard. Thank you and please do come back and see us the next time you are visiting New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is and has been undergoing renovation. The room I was assigned was nicely put together and was very stylish. However, I felt like it was very small for the price. This hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and in close proximity to the French Quarter. The staff seemed to be a mixed bag, some of them were excellent and some were not very customer focused [just not very friendly]. I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and felt unhappy with the way I was treated at check-in. The front desk clerk argued with me over upgrades and room choice. He could have handled my questions in a much more customer focused manner instead of acting like I was out to lunch. I did have a minor TV issue and the staff was very prompt in getting it resolved. So, all in all, my stay was a mixed bag. One final thought, the valet parking rate seemed to be outrageous - $39 per day. I was here for last seasons Sugar Bowl and stayed at the Homewood Suites just down the road and had a much better Hilton experience. That will likely be my choice on my next visit.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced St. Charles street and I her the bells from the street car regularely. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your comments. They will be of tremendous asistance in our continual strive towards service excellence. Please accept our apology regarding your experience. Consistency in our service levels is important to us and our guests. We hope you will reconsider our hotel the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans. I am confident that your next experience will be quite different and with hope we can make you a loyal fan of the Hilton New Orleans St. Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in the heart of downtown and easy walking distance to the casino, riverfront, and Bourbon Street. The hotel is old but the rooms have been updated. The connected restaurant was good but did not open until 7 so you could not have an early breakfast or room service. The showers did not get hot very early in the morning then had low pressure during peak periods. Hot water, early room service, and free wi-fi would make the place better.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

New Orleans is such a fantastic city, but yes, the Hilton St. Charles is still having hot water issues; in my group of 30, one couple actually had to move to a different room because they had no water. It is an incredible location, a beautiful hotel; perhaps the fact that a plumbing retrofit would be massively expensive is perpetuating the ongoing "there's no hot water/water pressure" problem.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. Please know the hot water issue is something we take very serious and we have spared no expense to rectify the situation. The final piece to this massive project was put in place last Friday and we are currently tweaking the new system. Our issues in this regard have reduced by 98% the final 2% will be corrected shortly. For our readers, the Hilton New Orleans St Charles is a historic building and with any building of this age, repairs can be quite difficult in obtaining replacement parts and tweaking the process. We are confident the issue is resolved, we know this because our guest let us know when it is not. We thank everyone for their patience and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall I would say if you can afford the room rate and it may be competitive - the hotel is very nice, professional, clean, close to the French quarter and the beds are very comfortable. For conference purposes the room for training was very good as well. Enjoyed the French quarter when possible and would visit the city again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Z, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
How kind of you to share your thoughts on our hotel and conference services. We don't normally hear from our conference attendees on Tripadvisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed you stay and we hope you will return to the Hilton New Orleans...hopefully not on business but for play and relaxation! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Address: 333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Charles Avenue in the New Orleans CBD, our location places you with minutes of all that is New Orleans. Our boutique luxury property caters to the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is a member of the Historic Hotels of America offering old world charm with all the modern conveniences that you would expect from an AAA 4-Diamond hotel.Join us at the Hilton St. Charles...You will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans / St Charles Ave Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.