We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #84 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I strongly advise you to stay away from this hotel. Our room was broken into when staying there - just at the same time as we were out at a wedding all day. More than $8,000 worth of goods - cash, laptops, iPads and personal items were taken and the hotel doesn't really seem too interested in helping us.

The management refuses to accept any liability even though the door did not always close properly (something we discovered after the robbery) and that there is no CCTV available in the corridors or elevators. Furthermore, they refuse to share the 'lock interrogation' with us so we don't know exactly when the door was opened and which key was used.

This is absolutely not the kind of service I expect from a Hilton and I will definitely refuse to stay in any other Hilton hotels as a result.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We certainly want every guest experience to be great. In the future, we suggest ensuring that valuable are safely locked away when inviting guests back to a hotel room. New Orleans and Bourbon Street offer many amenities that require responsible use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    243
    109
    60
    36
See reviews for
114
189
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel because we have always had a great experience with Hilton and this particular hotel had a perfect location. We could walk to every place we wanted to and yet it was far enough away from Bourbon Street to have a peaceful nights sleep. Our first night (Saturday) was a little rough. Our room on the 18th floor had a moldy smell when we arrived. We asked if there was another available but they were sold out. However they did send up housekeeping to spray some freshener to combat the smell. Then the next day, Sunday, we went to take our showers and had not hot water. It was warm at best. When I spoke to the Night Supervisor Dino about this he couldn't have been more helpful. He immediately arranged for us to go to a new room that night, gave us some passes to the breakfast/snack area and made sure we were as comfortable as possible.
Well what was supposed to have been a 4 day visit wound up being a 7 day stay because of hurricane Sandy. When that happened the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We never knew when we would be able to get a flight out and so every night I would speak with Dino about extending our stay. He made sure that not only would we be able to stay in our room but also that we would get the best rate possible for each and every night we had to extend. Following Dino's example, every person working there treated us like five star guests. They couldn't have been more helpful with any request we had and were more then sympathetic to our particular plight. Whenever I go to NOLA this is where I will be staying and Dino has a friend for life. Thank you one and all.

Room Tip: They don't have great views from this hotel so I wouldn't worry what floor your room is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad we were able to assist during the challenging time of Hurricane Sandy. We hope all is well with you.

Dino and the rest of the staff make this such a great place to stay. Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was staying at this hotel for a friend's wedding which is meant to be a joyful weekend. To my disappointment I had a MacBook Air, iPod, $500, camera, watch and Nike + stolen from my room! I travel very frequently for work and leisure, a great deal internationally on the Middle East, Africa and Asia, and in 9 years of professional travel have never had this happen. I am saddened not only by Hilton but also by the GM's response to this situation. I recommend you avoid this hotel, and probably the Hilton brand, I know I'm wary.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, General Manager at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We know how much our guests enjoy all of the amenities New Orleans has to offer. We make every effort to ensure the safety and security of our guests including providing complimentary in-room safes and automatic door closers. New Orleans is a a city with many great people, however, we suggest that you limit access to your personal items in your guestroom when allowing unregistered guests access to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just spent 4 days at this hotel and I think the staff is top notch. I had a horrible experience getting to New Orleans due to bad weather in Chicago. Some of my friends were waiting for me to check in...I was going to be hours delayed. Tascha at the front desk was wonderful in getting my friends checked in while I was stuck in Chicago. Elaine on the audit shift was great to deal with at 1am. Smiling and friendly.
Our room overlooked St. Charles on the 3rd floor. Not much of a view but I don't care about views unless I'm at the beach.
The French Quarter is a few minutes walk. It's super easy to get around New Orleans.
The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet even though the city was nearly sold out due to Halloween.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. New Orleans is a great place to be during Halloween and VooDoo Festival. We are glad our great staff was available to ease the difficulties during your long journey to get here.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights at the Hilton on St Charles Avenue whilst attending a conference at the nearby convention centre. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed and check in was a breeze. The room was comfortable and had a huge bed and bathroom. No view to speak of but that didn't really bother us. In terms of location, it's within easy walking distance of the French Quarter but is far enough away that you don't get kept awake by the constant Jazz blaring out of (just about every) drinking establishment. Wireless is free in the lobby and there are also a few computers you can use for free in this area. Wireless only extends to the 3rd floor and if your room is outside of this then you have to use a cabled connection though due to the high charge for access we used the free computers in the lobby. If I found myself in New Orleans again I'd happily stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After walking through the french quarter, shopping and sampling the wonderful New Orleans food, what a haven to come back to at night! A hot shower, comfy bed and a quiet room renewed us for a new day. I feel like we had special treatment from Ryan at the desk in the lobby, although I am sure all guests feel the same. What a friendly, informative, nice young man! A definate asset for the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and our city. Ryan loves this city and he is also great to work with. We will certainly share your praise and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, LA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed 1 night for business. Was on 17th floor, which has a lounge offering breakfast and evening snacks. Room was fine. Clean, some updates, needed new bathroom floor. King bed with tiny window. Coffee maker in room and a robe. Will be my 3rd choice in Nola. Front desk staff great! Lounge staff looked bored and aggravated to be there. Both ladies (morning and evening shift) were not helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Our 17th floor is our executive level floor and while our location is great, it doesn't afford us many rooms with views. This historic building was a masonic lodge and we have worked to preserve the historic integrity of the building.

We appreciate your feedback on the service you received both by the Front Desk staff as well as the Executive Lounge staff. We will most definitely reward our outstanding staff members as well as improve our training efforts. The information you have provided gives us a great opportunity to improve the experience for the next guest. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Address: 333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Charles Avenue in the New Orleans CBD, our location places you with minutes of all that is New Orleans. Our boutique luxury property caters to the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is a member of the Historic Hotels of America offering old world charm with all the modern conveniences that you would expect from an AAA 4-Diamond hotel.Join us at the Hilton St. Charles...You will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans / St Charles Ave Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.