We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Save Saved
You added Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% off your Room
Ranked #75 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Theft”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was staying at this hotel for a friend's wedding which is meant to be a joyful weekend. To my disappointment I had a MacBook Air, iPod, $500, camera, watch and Nike + stolen from my room! I travel very frequently for work and leisure, a great deal internationally on the Middle East, Africa and Asia, and in 9 years of professional travel have never had this happen. I am saddened not only by Hilton but also by the GM's response to this situation. I recommend you avoid this hotel, and probably the Hilton brand, I know I'm wary.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, General Manager at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We know how much our guests enjoy all of the amenities New Orleans has to offer. We make every effort to ensure the safety and security of our guests including providing complimentary in-room safes and automatic door closers. New Orleans is a a city with many great people, however, we suggest that you limit access to your personal items in your guestroom when allowing unregistered guests access to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    223
    95
    51
    33
See reviews for
103
177
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just spent 4 days at this hotel and I think the staff is top notch. I had a horrible experience getting to New Orleans due to bad weather in Chicago. Some of my friends were waiting for me to check in...I was going to be hours delayed. Tascha at the front desk was wonderful in getting my friends checked in while I was stuck in Chicago. Elaine on the audit shift was great to deal with at 1am. Smiling and friendly.
Our room overlooked St. Charles on the 3rd floor. Not much of a view but I don't care about views unless I'm at the beach.
The French Quarter is a few minutes walk. It's super easy to get around New Orleans.
The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet even though the city was nearly sold out due to Halloween.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. New Orleans is a great place to be during Halloween and VooDoo Festival. We are glad our great staff was available to ease the difficulties during your long journey to get here.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights at the Hilton on St Charles Avenue whilst attending a conference at the nearby convention centre. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed and check in was a breeze. The room was comfortable and had a huge bed and bathroom. No view to speak of but that didn't really bother us. In terms of location, it's within easy walking distance of the French Quarter but is far enough away that you don't get kept awake by the constant Jazz blaring out of (just about every) drinking establishment. Wireless is free in the lobby and there are also a few computers you can use for free in this area. Wireless only extends to the 3rd floor and if your room is outside of this then you have to use a cabled connection though due to the high charge for access we used the free computers in the lobby. If I found myself in New Orleans again I'd happily stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After walking through the french quarter, shopping and sampling the wonderful New Orleans food, what a haven to come back to at night! A hot shower, comfy bed and a quiet room renewed us for a new day. I feel like we had special treatment from Ryan at the desk in the lobby, although I am sure all guests feel the same. What a friendly, informative, nice young man! A definate asset for the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and our city. Ryan loves this city and he is also great to work with. We will certainly share your praise and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, LA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed 1 night for business. Was on 17th floor, which has a lounge offering breakfast and evening snacks. Room was fine. Clean, some updates, needed new bathroom floor. King bed with tiny window. Coffee maker in room and a robe. Will be my 3rd choice in Nola. Front desk staff great! Lounge staff looked bored and aggravated to be there. Both ladies (morning and evening shift) were not helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Our 17th floor is our executive level floor and while our location is great, it doesn't afford us many rooms with views. This historic building was a masonic lodge and we have worked to preserve the historic integrity of the building.

We appreciate your feedback on the service you received both by the Front Desk staff as well as the Executive Lounge staff. We will most definitely reward our outstanding staff members as well as improve our training efforts. The information you have provided gives us a great opportunity to improve the experience for the next guest. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good. We took the E2 bus from the airport and were dropped off a few blocks away from the hotel. After a short walk, we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk.
As a HHonors elite member, we got a corner room in the executive floor. It was very clean, spacious and full of light. Made it enjoyable to get back to the hotel after a long day.
The staff at the hotel was friendly and welcoming for the most part. Ryan at the concierge desk was very helpful. He made some nice recommendations for dinner and tours. We were not disappointed.
The hotel is within a short walk to the French Quarter and the river. The St. Charles bus line stops a block away. It was nice taking that line and looking at all the nice houses on St. Charles.
The Luke restaurant downstairs is very busy, so make sure you make reservations ahead of time.
My only complain would be about the Executive Lounge. I may be used to the lounges in Europe, but there is no comparison. The lounge is small. They only have 12 chairs, which seems tiny. They don't have snacks and drinks on weekends. The snacks on thursday had cheese and crackers and a couple of other items, but nothing impressive. Breakfast was ok. On monday they did not have any hot foods for breakfast. There are two ladies working at the lounge during breakfast, which seems an overkill for that size lounge. I asked them why there were no hot items that day. One lady, leaning on the counter replied "We're out". How can such a place be out of breakfast items. Her attitude was as if I were bothering them and cutting into their conversation. Instead of talking to each other, one of them should go and get more food. That was not something that should happen at a Hilton. On the positive side, one could get bottles of water and cans of soda from the fridge at any time.
I would have given this hotel 5 stars were it not for the lounge experience. I would suggest to management to improve the food selection. I would definitely return to this hotel again when visiting NOLA.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and full of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback about your stay at the hotel. We have some outstanding staff members.

I have forwarded your comments about the food and service to the departments handling those things are are so glad to have the opportunity to make adjustments in that area. We are currently working on a plan for expanding the executive lounge. We are anticipating some exciting changes for that area in 2013.

We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Usually stay in the Quarter but this business trip hotel was better than expected.
The St Charles location is close to the river activities as well as a short walk to the action of the French Quarter...the lack of chaos and noise made this hotel stand out.
Beautiful old building turned into a classic hotel; sophisticated lobby, extremely comfortable rooms and an elegant restaurant/bar.
The young concierge offered wine at Happy Hour and, as a local, could help anyone and everyone with area tips...he was simply fabulous.
This Hilton property runs like clock-work. It should not be overlooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStCharles333, Director of Sales at Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback about your stay at our beautiful and historic hotel. We have some great staff that love the city. I appreciate our location too! Just 2 1/2 blocks to the always fun French Quarter and we are on the Saint Charles streetcar line to the elegant Garden District.

Next time you are in town, we can give you a wonderful history tour of the hotel.

We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue

Address: 333 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Charles Avenue in the New Orleans CBD, our location places you with minutes of all that is New Orleans. Our boutique luxury property caters to the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is a member of the Historic Hotels of America offering old world charm with all the modern conveniences that you would expect from an AAA 4-Diamond hotel.Join us at the Hilton St. Charles...You will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans / St Charles Ave Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;