We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend at Margaret Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margaret Gardens Inn
1133 Margaret Place, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Red Oak, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Weekend at Margaret Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We spent this past weekend at Margaret Gardens Inn and can 2nd all the wonderful reviews. We stayed there while preparing for a wedding which was being held in the courtyard that weekend. Edy was very gracious and helpful while we were decorating for the Sat. evening wedding. We had a group of 5 who were in the bridal party staying at the Inn while the courtyard easily accommodated around 100 guests for the wedding. The setting for the wedding was beautiful and I would highly recommend it anyone looking into a intimate outdoor venue.

Again, we loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

First the good stuff - it is undoubtedly a lovely house, well restored. It's in a convenient location for getting to many of the most attractive quarters of the city. Edy, the innkeeper, is a charming host who has lived in the city a long time and obviously loves it. He's as knowledgeable as others have said, and happy to pass on tips and advice, and talk, or not talk, as you wish. The breakfasts vary each day, and are simple but tasty. Although the advertised time for breakfast is 8am, you can pretty much have it any time you like as it's cold, and Edy leaves it out for you until you're done. The courtyard is lovely too.

On the downside, the hotel is very close to the Pontchartrain expressway - and when I say close, I mean 3 houses away. Yes, houses, not blocks. So that does make it noisy, but we actually found steady traffic noise of this sort quite easy to sleep through and so it wasn't really much of an issue for us.

But the thing that really, er, bugged me was the cockroaches. I do understand (now) that these are somewhat par for the course in New Orleans so perhaps I am being unreasonable to expect anything else, but as I'm unfamiliar with the experience, 2-inch long cockroaches appearing as if by magic literally through the walls of the bedroom were kind of challenging. The one that I noticed in my drink just inches from my lips especially so. And the one that crawled on my hair in the bed. Now, we stayed in the Creole Room, which is the only one with bare brickwork and it may well be that the other rendered rooms don't suffer so. These are the American cockroaches, or Palmetto bugs, and they don't infest rooms in the way 'cockroaches' might suggest to a European - we saw and killed (in the room, there were others outside) 3 in 4 days. But they're big, and fast, and they come out at night.

But, if you don't mind a bit of wildlife, go for it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Margaret Gardens Inn in May and could not have been more impressed. Edy, the innkeeper, will talk for hours if you wish to hear the history of the inn or will stay out of your way if you prefer to be alone. He taylored breakfast to our favorites and really made our vacation special. We stayed in the Margaret Room and I assure you, you will not be disappointed. It is absolutely beautiful with enormous windows and ceilings and even its own balcony. Our room also had a tv and a ceiling fan, both of which were not listed on the website description. I spent well over 20 hours researching the perfect inn room for the right price and was so impressed with this Inn...I just cannot say enough about it.

  • Liked — EVerything was wonderful
  • Disliked — I didn't.
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Black Eddy, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

A rehabilitated mansion situated between my two favorite parts of town - The Garden District (best restaurants & shops) and The Warehouse District (best music venues). I have stayed at Margaret Gardens at least 7 times over the years, for Jazz Fest, New Years and Mardi Gras. The house is simply gorgeous and the host Eddy Rovelo obviously loves the property and his role as host which is why he's great at it! The courtyard is just really something and a beautiful place to have breakfast or evening cocktails. I can't say enough about the place - you really can't go wrong staying there!

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

Upon arriving at historical Margaret Gardens, you immediately get swept away by the intimate courtyard setting with shady trees, brilliant flowers and flowing fountains. The guestrooms have balconies that overlook the courtyard exhibiting large ferns and grand view of the Inn's Carriage House. It is the perfect spot for an impromptu gathering for a crawfish feast or for a quiet morning coffee and croissant breakfast served by host Edy Rovelo.

We have stayed there on two occasions, New Year's Eve and for Jazz Festival in April. The accommodations were quite comfortable and affordable. The rooms are spacious with modern bathroom fixtures and our room had a Jacuzzi. The unique furnishings and decor show that there was painstaking attention to detail to recreate the authenticity of the 19th Century.

The high rating for Margaret Gardens is based on a spectacular experience in New Orleans with the help of a friendly host, great restaurants and an "anything but ordinary" guesthouse retreat.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed in the Margaret Master Suite, and enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and the two balconies (one facing Prytania Street in the master bedroom and the other in the adjacent sitting room overlooking the courtyard.)

We relaxed in the elegant Magnolia Room parlor after touring the nearby WWII museum.

In the beautiful courtyard, we read the morning paper and enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast and the good service and attention to detail that we received from the Innkeeper, Edy Rovelo.

Thank God, NOLA will live on! We will be back!!!

  • Liked — location & service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Margaret Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret Gardens Inn

Also Known As:
Margaret Gardens Hotel New Orleans
Margaret Gardens Hotel
Address: 1133 Margaret Place, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant renovated 1854 "New Orleans" mansion with 2,000 sq ft courtyard. Conveniently located one block from the St. Charles Avenue street car line, four blocks from the Convention Center, six blocks from the French Quarter and eight blocks from the Superdome. Rental by rooms with common usage of the downstairs and courtyard or rental of the mansion by larger parties. These discounted rates do not apply to holidays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Margaret Gardens Inn to your Saves list