We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's all about food and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cochon Butcher

Cochon Butcher
930 Tchoupioulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)
+1 504-588-2123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cochon Butcher is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,627 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lower Garden District
Cross street: Andrew Higgins
Description: Cochon captures the true essence of Cajun and Southern cooking. Chefs Donald Link and Stephen Stryjewski bring their love for southern Louisiana foods to every plate at Cochon. Donald's experience cooking with his family at their homes in Crowley and Rayne allow guests to share in his passion for real country and home cooking. The food is focused and simple, featuring roasted meats with natural sauces, homemade sausages, and fresh local seafood. The menu compliments the rustic, yet contemporary setting of the dining room. The Bar at Cochon features signature cocktails as well as the classic libations of New Orleans. A diverse beer selection with an emphasis on local micro-brews offers a cool contrast with the sometimes spicy cuisine.
Sherman, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“it's all about food and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Talk about hog heaven! I walked in around 11am to pick up a sack of sandwiches to go and found the place humming with staff, locals and a food tourist or two. Loved the family stmosphere -- one young mom and baby were greeted with hugs and smiles by all -- and the patience with which a knowledgeable server helped me determine what foods would travel well to our destination an hour out of town. For any meat lover, the food here speaks for itself. We tried five different items and not one was short of delicious. Go hungry!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    299
    73
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My first Cochon's experience and it didn't disappoint. Of course, I got the Muffaletta and it was excellent. I have had Muffalettas at other places before and never really loved it but the one at Cochon Butcher works. The bread here is a lot softer and fluffier than the others places (which is why I never really loved this sandwich) and they toast it which makes it so much better. Since Cochon Butcher is not only a sandwich joint but also a butcher shop, the meat itself was on point, well-seasoned, and absolutely delicious!!

I also tried the Pastrami. Do not know what is was, but it was far better than the average pastrami sandwich. I have had the great New York pastrami sandwich piled high with meat and even that wasn't a contender when it came to the flavor of the pastrami meat at Cochon Butcher.

I was surprised to find tasty, sweet morsels at a butcher shop. I tried the bacon praline, which I was not a fan of, but the cookies are awesome!!

This location is pretty small so don't expect to find anyplace to sit down and eat your lunch in peace. Also, be ready to stand in line, especially during lunch. The staff here is pretty nice considering how busy they are.

A superb find.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pork O'Liscious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Covington Lager Beer, and fine sandwiches
This little place is great for street food and people watching

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

For lunch one day we ordered a Le Pig Mac. While the wait while it was being prepared was long, it was worth it! It was sooooo good. These folks know their pork.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Me and my family went to Cochon for lunch.

The chiefs seem use to cooking food a certain way. The restaurant itself specializes in pork.

I first ordered fried Alligator bites, as my cousin was onto something. The Alligator bites were delicious ,they were better than chicken fingers, I could eat these all day while watching Hgurashi no Naku Koro ni (When They Cry).

My main entree was the Oyster Bacon Sandwich which was satisfying and tasty.

Cochon had a lot of surprises that intrigued me, and I myself would come back for a surprise visit. lol

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochon Butcher also viewed

 

Been to Cochon Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cochon Butcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.