We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh meats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cochon Butcher

Cochon Butcher
930 Tchoupioulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)
+1 504-588-2123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cochon Butcher is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lower Garden District
Cross street: Andrew Higgins
Description: Cochon captures the true essence of Cajun and Southern cooking. Chefs Donald Link and Stephen Stryjewski bring their love for southern Louisiana foods to every plate at Cochon. Donald's experience cooking with his family at their homes in Crowley and Rayne allow guests to share in his passion for real country and home cooking. The food is focused and simple, featuring roasted meats with natural sauces, homemade sausages, and fresh local seafood. The menu compliments the rustic, yet contemporary setting of the dining room. The Bar at Cochon features signature cocktails as well as the classic libations of New Orleans. A diverse beer selection with an emphasis on local micro-brews offers a cool contrast with the sometimes spicy cuisine.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fresh meats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bought 4 lbs of andouille sausage from here and it is excellent. They have other fresh sausages and meats, in addition to counter service sandwiches and dishes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    301
    74
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Best Muffaletta Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I travel to New Orleans a lot. I've tried Muffaletta's at plenty of places and this was the best hands down. The homemade chips were amazing as well. This place will be a new staple when I visit New Orleans.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“food good.. staff rubbish..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We walked from bourbon st to try the pulled pork roll at the butcher @ cochon I had heard it was worth walking 20 blocks for !!
I must say the roll i had was exceptional. maybe the best i have ever had.
Unfortunately the experience was soured by the arrogant staff. The young man behind the counter (with a beard) was just rude as were the wait staff. It was close to closing time and jeez they wanted to get out of there !! We were simply an imposition to the staff and they made us feel as tho we were in their way..!!
The lady next to us wanted to buy a t-shirt as a momento of her visit and she was snapped at by the staff "the tills are closed off" - she even had correct money...but NO T-SHIRT FOR HER !!
Can the owner please do something about this because the food here is great.
Staff are rubbish.
we visited sunday aug 11 at 3.45pm

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were recommended this by a bartender so decided to try it. It was a Tuesday night but surprisingly busy. The food was really nice and the service was good. My only criticism is that it appeared the staff were rushing us (not sure if they needed the table) our main meal came out immediately after our entree was removed from the table. This happened again with dessert. We asked for a wait before dessert to be brought out but after we ordered, it arrived 5 mins later.

Aside from this, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches--our first stop in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restaurant was on my list because it was near our hotel (Staybridge Suites) and highly recommended on TA. We checked into the hotel and decided to walk down to this little deli-like restaurant. As we walked, it began to rain...HARD (typical in the afternoon in New Orleans, I understand)! We stood in a doorway until the rain subsided and kept walking. Once in this little restaurant, we ordered sandwiches and beer. Most of us had the porkbelly sandwich and my son and DIL had the Le Pig Mac sandwich. They loved that! We wanted to get back this restaurant, but ran out of time. It is worth your while to seek this out. Cochen means pork or pig, and that's their specialty. They are friendly and welcoming and you will enjoy the ambiance if you are looking for something casual, affordable, and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochon Butcher also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Cochon Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cochon Butcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.