We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful trip with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our first stay in New Orleans that was not in a hotel, but I would highly recommend it. Schuyler and David were perfect hosts for us, and their property was typical New Orleans - charm, eclectic and cosy!

The trip was initially with my girlfriend and my parents, although my gf's family arrived the next day and we were able to essentially take over the place entirely.

I can truly say that this was a memorable trip for my folks (over from the UK) and staying here added to it immensely. David and Schuyler were perfectly willing to help us in every way, advising us on restaurants (not one bad one!) and trips - helping us plan our stay without being "under our feet".

A number of somewhat negative reviews we read mentioned the fact that it's homely and not like a "sterile" B&B. This to us, was actually what attracted us to it, and we were not unhappy in our choice. If you want sterile - go to a hotel. If you want to be somewhere where you feel like you are a valued guest in someones home, choose Chez Palmiers.

We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and comfy - but the typical "Shotgun" layout means that there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
82
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My mother, sister and I were in NOLA for the weekend about a month ago. We chose Chez Palmiers online and are we glad we did. David and Schuyler were great hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area. The breakfasts were fab-fresh fruit, yogurts and juices. Walking distance from the French Quarter. We stayed in the loft room. It was very spacious and comfortable. We will definitely choose to stay there again on our next trip to the Big Easy.

Ellen

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our first stay at Chez Palmiers but hopefully not our last! We had an "extended stay"...almost two weeks and enjoyed every minute. We were able to walk everywhere from Chez Palmier...not just the French Quarter and Frenchmen St. (Hint: If you do that you can indulge in NOLA cuisine without negative consequence!). Schuyler & David were wonderful and have a wealth of knowledge about the area. They maintain a relaxed, comfortable and welcoming abode!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Schuyler was such a welcoming host! Although we had never styed there, we immediately felt right at home. Comfortable and laid back. Spotlessly clean room. (We stayed in the Blah Blah room). Our bed was comfy. The room was quiet. And out back is your own private oasis (complete with palm trees and lounging kitties), for sipping coffee, or finishing off that Monsoon from nearby Port of Call restaurant, or just relaxing by the pool. Breakfast is easy, and yummy. A nice assortment of juices, yogurts, baked goods, quiche, croissants, coffee, teas.... you get the picture. It's an easy walk to the French Quarter. And an easier walk down Frenchman Street and all its restaurants and cafes, and places to hang out. This place is just great. If you are looking for a quiet little place to rest your head (or your feet), someplace that is clean and comfortable and friendly, close to some of the best places in the city, someplace where you will feel like a welcomed friend, this is your place. Seriously. Stop looking and just stay here. We're really glad we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

David and Schuyler did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We rented their last available room which was a little cozy but we'd come for JazzFest (it's only a short bus ride from their place) and were hardly ever at home. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance and Frenchman Street was only a few block away. When we were at home, I enjoyed chilling on the back patio.

Both were extremely helpful. I've been living in Mexico and they helped me find a place where I could get a US SIM card for my phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Arrived to a very friendly greeting from Schuyler, David was away. Schuyler went over everything and home was very spacious. Even has outdoor setting out the back to enjoy your coffee in the morning. Also have a swim in the pool. We were in the Loft room with Day bed which can be used as a bed for third person, and Double bed very spacious and own little fridge and coffee maker. The area of the B&B is great easy walking distance to French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. Not far for a laundry mat either, close to restaurants, mini marts. Schuyler and David have a fantastic little gem here and next time I visit I will be definitely staying at Chez Palmiers again. A+ Service. Just like staying with some mates. Would recommend this place to anyone who stays in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Choose the loft if three of you The breakfast was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

David and Schuyler's B & B was wonderful. The place was cozy and comfortable. The room was plenty big with nice antique furniture.
We found it very helpful that they had some nice restaurants picked out with directions and reviews as we had never been to New Orleans before.
The breakfast we tasty every morning. We loved the outdoor sitting area (there is a pool for warmer weather!)
It was close enough to walk/ride a bike to the French Quarter but we found Frenchman street to be a nice place to go in the evening which was even closer.
They were very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay.
Would recommend this B & B to anyone.

Room Tip: The grand suite was huge, plenty of room. Bedroom + a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.