We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Looking and Just Stay Here. Really.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stop Looking and Just Stay Here. Really.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Schuyler was such a welcoming host! Although we had never styed there, we immediately felt right at home. Comfortable and laid back. Spotlessly clean room. (We stayed in the Blah Blah room). Our bed was comfy. The room was quiet. And out back is your own private oasis (complete with palm trees and lounging kitties), for sipping coffee, or finishing off that Monsoon from nearby Port of Call restaurant, or just relaxing by the pool. Breakfast is easy, and yummy. A nice assortment of juices, yogurts, baked goods, quiche, croissants, coffee, teas.... you get the picture. It's an easy walk to the French Quarter. And an easier walk down Frenchman Street and all its restaurants and cafes, and places to hang out. This place is just great. If you are looking for a quiet little place to rest your head (or your feet), someplace that is clean and comfortable and friendly, close to some of the best places in the city, someplace where you will feel like a welcomed friend, this is your place. Seriously. Stop looking and just stay here. We're really glad we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
93
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

David and Schuyler did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We rented their last available room which was a little cozy but we'd come for JazzFest (it's only a short bus ride from their place) and were hardly ever at home. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance and Frenchman Street was only a few block away. When we were at home, I enjoyed chilling on the back patio.

Both were extremely helpful. I've been living in Mexico and they helped me find a place where I could get a US SIM card for my phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Arrived to a very friendly greeting from Schuyler, David was away. Schuyler went over everything and home was very spacious. Even has outdoor setting out the back to enjoy your coffee in the morning. Also have a swim in the pool. We were in the Loft room with Day bed which can be used as a bed for third person, and Double bed very spacious and own little fridge and coffee maker. The area of the B&B is great easy walking distance to French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. Not far for a laundry mat either, close to restaurants, mini marts. Schuyler and David have a fantastic little gem here and next time I visit I will be definitely staying at Chez Palmiers again. A+ Service. Just like staying with some mates. Would recommend this place to anyone who stays in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Choose the loft if three of you The breakfast was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

David and Schuyler's B & B was wonderful. The place was cozy and comfortable. The room was plenty big with nice antique furniture.
We found it very helpful that they had some nice restaurants picked out with directions and reviews as we had never been to New Orleans before.
The breakfast we tasty every morning. We loved the outdoor sitting area (there is a pool for warmer weather!)
It was close enough to walk/ride a bike to the French Quarter but we found Frenchman street to be a nice place to go in the evening which was even closer.
They were very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay.
Would recommend this B & B to anyone.

Room Tip: The grand suite was huge, plenty of room. Bedroom + a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was in New Orleans over a year ago, but I haven’t forgotten to write my review! I stayed there in January 2013

My friend and I stayed in the loft room friend that had a double bed and a day bed.

David & Schuler were excellent hosts - very warm, welcoming and have a great knowledge of the area, especially the architecture. They provided a handy map which they printed themselves and marked useful landmarks for things like grocery stores, restaurants, bars, etc. The map also contained mini-reviews which I found extremely helpful when trying to decide what to eat.

Our flight coming in was delayed, so our arrival time was even later in the evening, and they were still accommodating. Our flight out of New Orleans was later in the afternoon (a few hours after check-out time) but they let us keep our bags at the B&B while we walked around.

Pros: Room was cozy, comfortable and quiet - never had any noise issues with other guests. The room has a small "kitchenette" - mini fridge, sink and a kettle. Stocked with some New Orleans trinkets and books which were interesting to look at.

The B&B is about a 5-10 minute walk east from the French Quarter & close to Frenchman Street, so it's in a convenient location.

Cons: Small shower only, no bathtub - so not a lot of space.

Neither pro/con: Furniture isn't modern so if your ideal accommodation is a modern chic hotel room, this place isn't for you. Breakfast is served in the kitchen downstairs, so you have to walk outside and around the house if you want food. This didn't bother me much, but if the weather was really bad, I wouldn't have bothered going to the kitchen for breakfast at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during spring break. We stayed in the Grand Suite, which consisted of a small living room(which could easily have slept 1-2 people on an inflatable mattress) , bedroom with queen bed, dressing room and separate bathroom. This was our first B & B experience, but we felt very relaxed and comfortable the entire time. Schuyler and David were very gracious hosts, greeting us each morning and offering help in planning our day. We parked our car and never drove the entire time. We loved the location, as the house is very close to Esplanade and Frenchman Streets. Check out the Spotted Cat Club - wonderful jazz bands and entertaining swing dancers, too! We felt safe each evening as we walked back to the house after exploring New Orleans all day. I feel we made the perfect choice for a most enjoyable and fun-filled vacation. The Chez Palmiers Bed & Breakfast gets two thumbs-up from us! Thanks guys for all you hospitality and help!

Room Tip: Grand Suite is very roomy with the additional little sitting room at the entry. The small refrigera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My friends and I had a ton of fun in New Orleans and it would not have been as good of a stay without David and Schuyler. Chez Palmiers was not only in a convenient area, with a quick walk to just about any part of the French Quarter but David and Schuyler were extremely helpful with their knowledge of the area. It was a wonderful stay in a vibrant house with accommodating and personable hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.