We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B and big Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B and big Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Arrived to a very friendly greeting from Schuyler, David was away. Schuyler went over everything and home was very spacious. Even has outdoor setting out the back to enjoy your coffee in the morning. Also have a swim in the pool. We were in the Loft room with Day bed which can be used as a bed for third person, and Double bed very spacious and own little fridge and coffee maker. The area of the B&B is great easy walking distance to French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. Not far for a laundry mat either, close to restaurants, mini marts. Schuyler and David have a fantastic little gem here and next time I visit I will be definitely staying at Chez Palmiers again. A+ Service. Just like staying with some mates. Would recommend this place to anyone who stays in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Choose the loft if three of you The breakfast was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
85
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

David and Schuyler's B & B was wonderful. The place was cozy and comfortable. The room was plenty big with nice antique furniture.
We found it very helpful that they had some nice restaurants picked out with directions and reviews as we had never been to New Orleans before.
The breakfast we tasty every morning. We loved the outdoor sitting area (there is a pool for warmer weather!)
It was close enough to walk/ride a bike to the French Quarter but we found Frenchman street to be a nice place to go in the evening which was even closer.
They were very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay.
Would recommend this B & B to anyone.

Room Tip: The grand suite was huge, plenty of room. Bedroom + a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was in New Orleans over a year ago, but I haven’t forgotten to write my review! I stayed there in January 2013

My friend and I stayed in the loft room friend that had a double bed and a day bed.

David & Schuler were excellent hosts - very warm, welcoming and have a great knowledge of the area, especially the architecture. They provided a handy map which they printed themselves and marked useful landmarks for things like grocery stores, restaurants, bars, etc. The map also contained mini-reviews which I found extremely helpful when trying to decide what to eat.

Our flight coming in was delayed, so our arrival time was even later in the evening, and they were still accommodating. Our flight out of New Orleans was later in the afternoon (a few hours after check-out time) but they let us keep our bags at the B&B while we walked around.

Pros: Room was cozy, comfortable and quiet - never had any noise issues with other guests. The room has a small "kitchenette" - mini fridge, sink and a kettle. Stocked with some New Orleans trinkets and books which were interesting to look at.

The B&B is about a 5-10 minute walk east from the French Quarter & close to Frenchman Street, so it's in a convenient location.

Cons: Small shower only, no bathtub - so not a lot of space.

Neither pro/con: Furniture isn't modern so if your ideal accommodation is a modern chic hotel room, this place isn't for you. Breakfast is served in the kitchen downstairs, so you have to walk outside and around the house if you want food. This didn't bother me much, but if the weather was really bad, I wouldn't have bothered going to the kitchen for breakfast at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during spring break. We stayed in the Grand Suite, which consisted of a small living room(which could easily have slept 1-2 people on an inflatable mattress) , bedroom with queen bed, dressing room and separate bathroom. This was our first B & B experience, but we felt very relaxed and comfortable the entire time. Schuyler and David were very gracious hosts, greeting us each morning and offering help in planning our day. We parked our car and never drove the entire time. We loved the location, as the house is very close to Esplanade and Frenchman Streets. Check out the Spotted Cat Club - wonderful jazz bands and entertaining swing dancers, too! We felt safe each evening as we walked back to the house after exploring New Orleans all day. I feel we made the perfect choice for a most enjoyable and fun-filled vacation. The Chez Palmiers Bed & Breakfast gets two thumbs-up from us! Thanks guys for all you hospitality and help!

Room Tip: Grand Suite is very roomy with the additional little sitting room at the entry. The small refrigera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My friends and I had a ton of fun in New Orleans and it would not have been as good of a stay without David and Schuyler. Chez Palmiers was not only in a convenient area, with a quick walk to just about any part of the French Quarter but David and Schuyler were extremely helpful with their knowledge of the area. It was a wonderful stay in a vibrant house with accommodating and personable hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I went to New Orleans for a much needed couples getaway weekend in March and were very happy with these accommodations. First of all, we did not get in until almost 10 p.m., were in contact with David the entire time; he stayed up, met us, and showed around before retiring for the evening. We were in the loft suite, which was great. We enjoyed the breakfast and company during breakfast; the information left in the suite as well David's willingness to answer all of our questions, was very helpful in finding places to eat. The B&B is in a great location for walking as well. Our experience was great (along with the weather), and we'd definitely stay here again (and hopefully get to meet Schuyler next time :-)). Thanks again, guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at Chez Palmiers for 2 nights. We were immediately put at ease by our hosts Schuyler and David, who not only graciously welcomed us to their home but also had a great list of restaurants that we should check out! The backyard is gorgeous and we loved having our breakfast out there every morning. The house is very well taken care of, and close to the French Quarter. However, it's on a quiet street and it was SILENT at night. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.