We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rob & Nanc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rob & Nanc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Had the BEST time this trip & much of it is credited to David & Schuyler!! We've stayed in both the Grande Suite & The Loft, I LOVE the Grande Suite - could move into those rooms & be happy for a very, very long time. The Loft is equally awesome, I just have bad knees & the steps after a day of walking everywhere were a bit much. Wished I could have lounged around the pool but this trip was too short, next time for sure. Breakfast was always fun & interesting whether talking with other guests or with the guys. I looked forward to it & always something yummy & a stocked fridge. My favorite was running into Schuyler at a bar in the Quarter for the Saints game & being invited to join him & his friends, one of which I now call a friend & hope to for many years to come!! Thanks guys for your wonderful hospitality & such a warm, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Can't, all three are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
79
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time in NOLA recently and chez palmiers accomadations where awesome. We stayed in the upstairs suite and had plenty of room. Great spot to stay in the frenchman area. Schuyler and David made us feel very welcome and made sure we where set with any directions if needed. They also set up a nice arrangement for my brothers birthday. I will definetly stay here again. Felt like we where visiting family. Beautiful home. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: stay in the upstairs suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For those who don't want perfection but a warm and welcome stay.
The B&B is at walking distance of the French quarter in a nice neighborhood.
The room was spacious and well provided with lots of information of where to eat and shop.
Breakfast was good and it was nice to sit with other guests and share experiences.
Schuyler and David were very nice and hospitable.
If ever we go back to New Orleans we will definitely choose Chez Palmier again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We wanted to avoid hotels and so glad we did :-) Chez Palmiers is just lovely, Schuyler and David made us feel like visiting family, the room was so comfortable and it felt just like being at home. The house is so well situated for the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. Stay here and really enjoy New Orleans :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We're used to B and Bs and this one is a gem. Schuyler was so welcoming when we arrived hot and bothered after battling the NO freeway (we drive on the left in NZ!). There are great notes for each room explaining the foibles of an older house (this is a Creole cottage which has been lovingly restored). There are also great notes about local restaurants which we used lots.
The location of the house is ideal - far enough from the French Quarter to be sane and close enough to Frenchman St to be walkable.
The pool was wonderful to come back to every afternoon and the courtyard was a great place to have an evening drink before heading out into NO's nightlife.
Highly recommended if you're happy to be in a B and B. The little extras like the docking station for the I-pod were much appreciated.
The breakfast was always delicious - plenty of fruit and granola and fantastic wholegrain bread.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs room which got quite hot, but there was an AC unit and a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We travelled as two couples occupying the Grande suite and the Loft space for the last week of October. I can't recommend this place enough. Schuyler and David are great hosts and really nice people, the B and B is comfortable and full of character and the the location is perfect. We had a wonderful time swimming in the pool every day and having pre dinner drinks on the patio before heading out to eat at one of the numerous fabulous restaurants. The area is fantastic we walked a lot and felt very safe doing so. Staying at Chez Palmier's added a great deal to our wonderful and memorable stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: The Grande suite is like a little apartment but all the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my husband's and my first time staying in a bed and breakfast, so it does require a little adjustment, as it's not a hotel. But, we were very comfortable, and felt very welcome at Chez Palmiers. The house is located within easy walking distance from the French Quarter and Frenchmen's Street, so it's nicely situated. It felt very safe, despite the transitional look of the neighborhood slightly north... it's easy to let that color your feelings about a place, but we never encountered anything that seemed odd.

I loved the pool... This was probably the greatest perk of it being an affordable bed and breakfast and really made me feel like we got a huge bang for our buck. Schuyler and David were both so nice as many other reviewers have said, and were attentive but in no way in our way. And the breakfast was always fantastic, and they even made a few special exceptions for me, since I can't eat gluten.

Overall, we were very happy, despite both getting colds while we were there! Thank you again for a great time in New Orleans!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list