We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved Chez Palmiers, David and Schuyler are fantastic hosts. We stayed in the Loft Room, which was very quiet and spacious. The continental breakfast they had was outstanding-- a true European-style continental offering, not the junk you get in American hotels. Absolutely loved the home and the decorating style of the hosts. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room, but the only 2 things I would mention that weren't exceptional were the very small shower (it's bit of a squeeze) and the fact that the room was quite dusty in the not-so-obvious places. Doesn't really bother me but I know some folks are turned off by that and the room could have used a thorough cleaning. The neighborhood felt completely safe to me, but for those not accustomed to city neighborhoods, you may be inclined to take a cab at night. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, you can't beat the value!

Room Tip: The Loft Room has a very small shower and no bath, so if you like a bigger show space, you might wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
74
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great place to stay. As NOLA virgins, we didn't really know what to expect in terms of B&Bs or location but feel we really got lucky finding Chez Palmiers. David & Schyler are pretty perfect hosts: amiable and helpful but not in-your-face. They can recommend some great places to eat and things to see. We stayed in 2 rooms, both of which were good sized, comfortable and nicely furnished with antiques and bits and pieces from their own travels, which not only makes for an interesting room but also gives it a personal touch. This is not a chain hotel, after all. The garden is beautiful and the breakfast is great. There was homemade cake and fresh fruit and all manner of awesomeness in the fridge. I would recommend this place very highly - my only regret (other than not staying longer) is not having asked the hosts out to dinner during our stay. Maybe next time :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

David and Schuyler is the perfect hosts! They are so kind and helpfull and have the perfekt balance when it comes to interaction with the guests. We stayed in this lovely house and in the nice garden one week in March. The rooms were very nice and clean. We looked forward to the breakfast every day, very fresh and good! The location can´t be better, quiet and with walking distance to Frenchmen street, French Quarter and the nice restaurants in Marigy. We must come back to New Orleans some day and then we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Run by 2 sweet guys, Schuyler & David, extremely welcoming and accommodating, this creole house is an absolutely lovely place to stay. Clean, tidy and comfortable, the rooms are large and well furnished. A stone's throw away from both French Quarter and Frenchmen Street, and away from the madness of Bourbon Street, the location was just what I needed t enjoy this amazing town.
And the rates are still affordable compared to other guest houses around.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My friend and I recently spent a long weekend here and had a great time! Schuyler and David are great hosts who go out of their way to make you feel at home. This location is quiet and within walking distance of everything you would want to see in the French Quarter. I also had the best continental breakfast I've ever had at this spot. They had an assortment of breads, juices, yogurts, cereals, and they even had nutella and quishe! Anyone looking for a home feel should stay here. I'll def be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I were very pleased by the upstairs room we stayed in. Comfort and privacy. I soon became our little hide a way. We enjoyed making friends over the breakfast table and spending time with our hosts. I would love to come again in the warmer weather and sit by the pool at night under the twinkling lights. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great spot in NOLA for ANY event as it's centrally located and within walking distance of all and also it is very quiet, so you can sleep in without any noise. Really close for Quarter, Frenchman's St and Jazz Festival, and BEST hosts you can find anywhere

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list