We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of The Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Oakwood,Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best of The Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Everything you want from Old School New Orleans. Jazz and Blues within steps of each other. Middle of the day until the middle of the night with people that can hold their liquor. Shrimp and grits at a place, I believe, was called Marigny Brasserie was one of the best meals of our week long stay. Let's keep this place a secret.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,160
    822
    191
    47
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The place for not only good music but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I spent quite a few evening here listening to some music. The first nite we went to The Three Muses for dinner and music. We had the lamb sliders, spring rolls, fish tacos and the flatbread. All the food was excellent. The music was pleasant and entertaining.
We also spent a few nites at the The Spotted Cat, each nite the music was excellent. We also stopped by a few other clubs of which I cannot remember the names but the atmosphere and music were very good.
Now for the best meal we had in NO, above the apple barrel bar is a restaurant called Adolfos. My wife had the rack of lamb, this was without a doubt the best meal either one of us had while in NO. I had the veal ocean which was the second best meal we had. The service was excellent.
Overall Frenchmen street is an excellent place to spent an evening or two

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place for music and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We walked around Frenchmans and stopped in a few bars to hear great music. Even better, perhaps was the music on the street. The whole scene was great and we are so glad we were there. If you are in NOLA don't miss it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satsuma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“French Quarter East”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We really like the music & atmosphere on Frenchmen Street. It lies just east of the French Quarter & has several great music venues,shops & eateries. You can even get a great tattoo if you like.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I loved Frenchmen Str. The music, the noise, the bands in the street!
Every bar has a different set, but if you don't want to go in, you can just wait to see someone playing in the street. And it was even quite cold when we were there!
During the day the road gets cleaned and it looks a bit shabby, but in the night it wears a completely different dress. I loved it and never had enough - spent there almost every night after dinner for a gig or two.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.