We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$45*
and up
New Orleans Bike Tour
Ranked #2 of 471 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Thun, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“At night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Frenchmen Street is just at night a attraction with all the little bars. I prefer this street compared to Bourbon St. - you can see the real New Orleans and the people in the bars appreciate the livemusic!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,765
    1,097
    244
    62
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Frenchmen is Alive and Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I wasn't able to make it to Frenchman in the evening but even during the day you got a taste of the soul music that pours out the doors. Able to hear a band practice and tapped my foot for quite some time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Locals place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the area that the locals go to. D.B.A. Is a great club and the taco truck was great. So much fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place close to French quarter for music lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Away from loud and obnoxious Boubon street yet easy walk to everything fun! Great for those of us who love antiquing, music and great food. Enjoy the best pork poboys at nearby bar, 13. I will always stay on Frenchman street when visiting New Orleans! Best of both worlds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best jazz I ever heard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

ya know, I'd rather not tell you how good Frenchman Street is. I'd rather you all got wasted on Bourbon Street because you wouldnt appreciate it anyway. But if you find your way there and wander down where jazz, R&B, soul, and reggae bleed out into the street, you need to stop and appreciate what you're hearing. This isn't the gentleman jazz of Duke Ellington jazz standards done at wedding parties playing Satin Doll. This is raucous brass jazz with trombones and tubas rocking your as and making you feel dirty. This is soul that hits the headboard. Monday night's at DBA are legendary, Spotted Cat for a slimmer, more furious sound. Ask the locals what's hot, you may not want to miss a better show, but it's hard to go wrong anywhere on Frenchman. But seriously, I'd rather you never left Bourbon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.