We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place close to French quarter for music lovers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA (Bywater)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 163 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Wallingford, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place close to French quarter for music lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Away from loud and obnoxious Boubon street yet easy walk to everything fun! Great for those of us who love antiquing, music and great food. Enjoy the best pork poboys at nearby bar, 13. I will always stay on Frenchman street when visiting New Orleans! Best of both worlds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,101
    803
    189
    46
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best jazz I ever heard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

ya know, I'd rather not tell you how good Frenchman Street is. I'd rather you all got wasted on Bourbon Street because you wouldnt appreciate it anyway. But if you find your way there and wander down where jazz, R&B, soul, and reggae bleed out into the street, you need to stop and appreciate what you're hearing. This isn't the gentleman jazz of Duke Ellington jazz standards done at wedding parties playing Satin Doll. This is raucous brass jazz with trombones and tubas rocking your as and making you feel dirty. This is soul that hits the headboard. Monday night's at DBA are legendary, Spotted Cat for a slimmer, more furious sound. Ask the locals what's hot, you may not want to miss a better show, but it's hard to go wrong anywhere on Frenchman. But seriously, I'd rather you never left Bourbon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What New Orleans is all about!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great music, great food, fun atmosphere. Safe.
Lots of super experiences and each club is different. Pay the cover, tip the bands and have an amazing time. This is what Bourbon Street used to be before the t-shirt shops and strip clubs and cheesyness.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not quite what we wanted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were really looking for some good standard jazz, but seemed to hear more rock than jazz; little dixieland. Visited d.b.a., which was very, very small - entertainment was a single performer, folk/blues. Not that good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My favourite bars were BMC and The Maison. We ate at the Maison and the food and service were fantastic.
There werent as many bars open as what I thought there would be, but it was only a Wednesday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.