We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we wanted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA (Bywater)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
NC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not quite what we wanted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were really looking for some good standard jazz, but seemed to hear more rock than jazz; little dixieland. Visited d.b.a., which was very, very small - entertainment was a single performer, folk/blues. Not that good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,155
    818
    191
    47
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My favourite bars were BMC and The Maison. We ate at the Maison and the food and service were fantastic.
There werent as many bars open as what I thought there would be, but it was only a Wednesday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Music and Great Food is Hard to Beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent last week in New Orleans and couldn't believe we'd been on and off since 1980 without visiting Frenchman Street. This will become our "new home" while in New Orleans. Had a meal and heard wonderful music at Three Muses, and tried a number of dishes at The Praline Connection...all delicious. We capped the week off by hearing Kermit Ruffins at The Blue Nile on Friday night, what a performer! The crowd consisted of folks in their 20's through their 60's and the one common denominator seemed to be an appreciation for genuine New Orleans "funked up - old school - newjazz - rockabilly - blues." Also enjoyed The Spotted Cat and dba. So glad we found this place...will leave the first five blocks of Bourbon Street to the fratboys and the cover bands...Frenchman Street is absolutely full of first-rate musicians.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Maison Club did a poor job of customer relations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We came in because of the great music group playing "Royal Roses", and were told we could order our dinner off of the menu. However, 5 minutes later we were told "we just switched, you have to order off of the short menu", so it was only appetizers. Then, our table in the front of the stage had a sign placed on it advising us that we would have to relocate in 15 minutes to open up the dance floor. And, by then, all of the close tables were filled up.

Save your money, and go to one of the much better customer oriented locations such as the Spotted Cat or Snug Harbor; where they actually care about the customer and not the $'s

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best area for great live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Is worth the walk. Trust me. If you are looking for a good time at night and great bands that play jazz, blues, bumping brass bands and comtemporary music, skip bourbon and go to Frenchman Street. Leave Bourbon Street to the college kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.