We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #9 of 193 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Landmarks & points of interest, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had been looking forward to an evening cruising Frenchman Street for the New Orleans music. We were very disappointed because it was extremely crowded, over priced and most places had a long waiting line. We enjoyed better music from street musicians when we walked around in the French Quarter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,342
    912
    202
    54
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Up and coming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is a nice local artists market held over the weekend in an area at the side of the market. This street produced the best music for my tastes and what I expected to see/hear while in N.O. Local musicians playing in doorways etc. It is small, but a much better experience than Bourbon Street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Frenchman St”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great time listening to local musicians playing along the length of the street. Really old buildings with a lot of untold history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nix Bourbon, and Go Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have eaten at, or watched bands at just about every place on this street when I come to New Orleans. Spotted Cat is the real deal, d.b.a. has a wonderful schedule and is smoke-free (just a bigger cover charge). Three Muses is a must for tapas and music. I've paraded down Royal crossing Frenchmen with live stock and drag queens, and held up traffic in spur of the moment dance parties. One time Kermit Ruffins got out of his car, holding up traffic, and danced with us! That's the kind of place it is. Just don't be an idiot showing up with your hand grenade drinks from Bourbon Street.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Tons of cool places to check out for music and food here. Best place for music - the Spotted Cat. Best experience from New Orleans!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.