We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cocktail Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour

New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour
Toulouse Street and Mississippi River, New Orleans, LA (Mid-City)
800-535-7786
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Ranked #27 of 205 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
Activities: Drinking, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Cocktail Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This tour was wonderful. After taking advice from other reviewers, we were lucky enough to get Sandy as our tour guide. She was the perfect tour guide. Informative, funny and she certainly brought our group together. We made friends that night and we learned so much. Of course I don't know if a 21 year old would enjoy the tour as much as the group we were a part of, as it's not about getting sloshed and making an fool of yourself. It was about learning the history and culture of New Orleans, and enjoying some yummy new and interesting spirits along the way. If you want to have a good time, this is the tour to be on.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    32
    3
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun Way to Learn and Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Initially, we were reluctant to take a tour with a large tour company. However, the reviews were mostly positive, so we gave it a shot.

It was a blast. Our guide (a gentleman who wrote a recipe book on cocktails) was fun, funny and informative. After getting a brief lesson on a particular bar and cocktail, we would enter a bar as a group. You can order the drink discussed or any other drink to try (or you don't have to drink at all). We walked into several bars, sharing most of the old, classic cocktails.

We tried a French 75, Sazerac, Pimm's Cup, Absinthe, and more.

The next time I want to try the cemetery tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Sandy Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide, Sandy, was obviously born and raised in New Orleans and she had interesting information about all kinds of things we passed, not just the 'cocktail aspect' of the tour. There were originally almost 30 people at the tour when we started and they broke us into two smaller groups, which was a relief. We had a good mix of people in our group and we all stayed at the final bar to have some more drinks and to keep chatting. We even hit Bourbon Street with some crazy girls from Canada that we met on the tour!
Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and Sandy really was the catalyst. I would recommend this to anyone!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
“Fun and Boozy way to start your vacation in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have done this tour twice, last October with guide Joe and last week with Brian, thoroughly enjoyed it both times... I recommend this to everyone.. New Orleans is such a special place and they really give you a feel for the city. I really liked that there was no pressure to purchase any of the drinks. Brian even recommended place to go for dinner afterwards and walked us there...5 crazy Canadian girls had an incredible time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Way to Begin Vacation for First Timers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I booked the tour on line about a week before arriving. We decided to do the tour the first night of our late April - 5 day - first time vacation in NO. we arrived at the ticket office along the river near the end of Toulouse Street about 30 minutes early and were the first to arrive. we received our tickets from the lady at the ticket office window without a problem. There is a pavilion with tables and chairs next to the office so we could relax and look out on the river while waiting to start the tour. Our guide was Susan and we started walking promptly with a complimentary cocktail and brief history lesson. The walking was easy with more history along the way. We visited 4 bars ending at the fourth bar near the Prince Conti Hotel near Bourbon and Conti Street. This was our hotel which was conveniently located to freshen up before going back out to explore the city when we were done with the tour. A side note is that we also like that hotel and would stay there again due to its location. My wife and I each ordered 2 different recommended drinks at each bar just because we wanted to. We did not like every drink we tried but still enjoyed the experience of trying them. We were given a reasonable amount of time to rest, go to the bathroom and enjoy at least all or part of our drink at each bar. You are allowed to walk with drinks all through the French Quarter so it is not a problem if you want to drink extra slow.The tour was interesting and very enjoyable. We would recommend Susan although I see other guide also received good reviews. The tour is just a good way for first timers to begin their vacation in NO.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.