We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour to explore the quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour

New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour
Toulouse Street and Mississippi River, New Orleans, LA (Mid-City)
800-535-7786
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$29*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Drinking, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great tour to explore the quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are lucky enough to get Joe as a tour guide, you are guaranteed to have an informative and great tour guide. There is so much history to the city and to the food an drinks of the city that you get to find out about on this tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    34
    5
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I LOVE Sandy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I don't usually review tours on trip advisor, but I have to give feedback and say that our tour guide, Sandy, was the best, most imformative, and sweetest tourguide of all time! She is really, really wonderful and she made the tour not only educational, but really fun. The drinks were amazing as were the historic locations we visited for libations. Also, Sandy did a wonderful job handling--with grace and professionalism--one less-than-pleasant individual on our tour. Thanks again, Sandy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Fun Tour to Start Your NOLA Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I took the New Orleans' Original Cocktail Walking Tour this past Thursday afternoon.

Offered through Gray Line Tours, this walking tour meets at the Lighthouse on the Riverwalk right next to the Steamboat Natchez. We left at 4:00pm and since our group was a bit too large, they split us in two. There were six of us (three couples) and we had the apparently legendary Sandy Smith as our Tour Guide.

There's absolutely no pressure to buy a cocktail at any point on this tour. Gray Line starts out by pouring you a drink right at the lighthouse, and you can sip it while you walk towards the first location.

Sandy took us to Jackson Square to start off the tour and give us some history on the French Quarter. She showed us a particular tree that she's designated as "hers," and brings all tour groups there while she explained the significance of the Square and its importance to New Orleans.

We visited Muriel's Jackson Square, Court of Two Sisters, Broussard's, and The Bombay Club. Each location had about two signature cocktails that we were offered to try. Again, there was no pressure to buy anything, but each couple seemed to do one of each at every bar.

Each location and each cocktail was preceded with the history of the particular drink and the specific bar. A favorite line of Sandy's was, "when you're drinking that cocktail, you're drinking Prohibition right there."

An extra bonus is that every bartender knows Sandy, and she's able to get us into certain places that tourists might not see. For instance, we went up into the former brothel lounge in Muriel's and out on to the balcony overlooking Jackson Square. She took us into the courtyard at the Court of Two Sisters, as well as the courtyard at Broussard's.

It's important to note that this is not a binge drinking tour. If you're looking to get hammered and forget everything, stick to Bourbon Street. This tour is all about learning the history of some of New Orleans (and our Nation's) most famous cocktails and the bars they're served in. It's a great way to sample some of the Quarter's signature cocktails and start building your "to-go cup collection."

If you have a chance, take this tour. You'll learn and you'll drink - and you'll definitely enjoy yourself too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
“Sandy is awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fun, informative tour through the French Quarter. Learned a lot about New Orleans and tasted some delicious cocktails! Sandy was a delight!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb tour, a great guide in Joe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was probably the best, most informative and most entertaining tour I have been on in a long time, in any city. Our group had Joe Gendusa as our guide (and guide dog, to herd us sheep from one venue to the next), and he was superb as a racconteur and in his selection of venues. We visited places I would never have thought of going into, and learned a huge amount - not just about the cocktails and their history, but about the general history of New Orleans and the buildings we visited. I am sure the tour went on well beyond the time that we paid for it - which I think shows the value, and the interest generated among the group. I stayed on to eat in one of the places (Antoine's - I would never have thought of going there otherwise), and the next day sought out Pirate's Alley so that I could buy Joe's book.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans' Original Cocktail Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.