We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Barracks Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Barracks Guest House
Save
You added Royal Barracks Guest House to your Saves list
717 Barracks Street, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Natick
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lots of reasons to stay at RBGH, but you should go there just because of the innkeeper Kelly and her adorable poodle Sweet. She made us feel like we were visiting with family. When we got there she sat on the stoop with us, had a beer and went over places to eat and things to do. She did not steer us wrong. We had red bean, rice and smoked sausages at Coops. She also recommended Port of Call for hamburgers - the best hamburger I have ever had served with a baked potato side. If you go to Port of Call be sure to have a Neptune's Monsoon in a go cup. She also said to skip Bourbon St (unless you are a frat boy and then it is your scene) and go to Frenchman St. Around the corner from RBGH is Cafe Envie - go there for breakfast. We also went to the neighborhood bar called the Golden Lantern. The bartender and other people at the bar made us northerners feel very welcome. During our stay there was a water problem and you had to boil your water before drinking it. Kelly called us to make sure we knew and there was bottled water in our room when we returned. The location was perfect for us because we didn't want to rent a car. There are plenty of things to do in walking distance. We stayed in the Suite. It was tastefully and functionally decorated. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The only reason I did not give them 5 stars is because of the noise level. There is no soundproofing between the rooms; just a wall. The people in the room next door sounded like they were in our room. They woke us up during the night when they got back to the room and then when they went to sleep the man snored like a chain saw. We will go to New Orleans again and we will stay at RBGH.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
60
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the RBGH for the second time and was once again thoroughly impressed. The innkeeper, Kelly, made my family feel so welcome! She was helpful and kind and met all our expectations. One of the best things about the Guesthouse is its central location. Its off the beaten path and in a much more local section of the French Quarter but still close to great restaurants, Bourbon and Frenchman street as well as the French market. There's a courtyard in the rear of the building that is charming and peaceful and the wireless internet works great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Travelled to NOLA for my first Mardi Gras experience. It was a a great time and a great place to stay. The location was ideal as we were walking distance to all the fun but felt like we were far away from the crowds to feel safe. We were even provided with a block party with the local neighbors and food/drinks for Fat Tuesday. If I return for Mardi Gras (which I hope I do) I will come back to Royal Barracks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Barracks Guesthouse Monday night and our stay couldn't have been better. The Guesthouse is beautifully decorated, the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and it was great to stay in a historic building. The location is perfect! It's within walking distance to Frenchman and Bourbon street. Kelly, the innkeeper, was the best hostess and made us feel so welcome. Next time we're in New Orleans we are going to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just in town for two days and one night. This house is in an ideal location. We were in the Garden Room, just off the courtyard. It is small, but, perfect for our needs. Private bath with a hot shower and comfortable bed. The courtyard is very nice, plenty of seating, lush vegetation with a microwave, ice maker, music, a blender.... Easy walk to Frenchman St to hear live music. We walked to the French Market and also Bourbon Street. Safe area, very convenient off Esplenade as well. Highly recommend walking to St. Peter Street and breakfast at Old Coffee Pot next to Pat O'Brien's Irish Bar. The best breakfast I can ever remember having. The waitress that helped us has been there 54 years, fantastic. Also, I loved the keyless entry into the property, only a code is needed. Once you are in the courtyard, another keyless entry keypad gets you in your room. Very convenient. It's clean and well done.

Room Tip: Make sure you check their website or call them to get dimensions of your room. We liked our small r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ive stayed at the Royal Barracks Inn several times now. The location is perfect....right in the french quarter but in a quiet neighborhood and just a couple of blocks from all of the action on Frenchmen St.. R Bar is just a block away, and you can have just about anything delivered to the Inn 24 hours a day from Verti-Marte, which is right around the corner. The rooms are very comfortable and have tons of personality. Ive stayed in 3 of the rooms (so far) and highly recommend "The Suite"...... Kelly, the Inn keeper, will take good care of you and make sure you meet all of the neighbors, while enjoying beers on the front stoop with local celebrity "Sugah". All in all, its just a great place for a great rate. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I've stayed in three of the rooms, but my favorite is the "Suite".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Loved it! Perfect location - close to the action of the French Quarter but on a quiet, historic, street. Stayed in the Peacock Room...if you are looking for modern accomodations then this would not be the place for you, but if you want a unique experience in a charming setting, then you won't go wrong. The courtyard is lovely. Wireless works well. No complaints at all!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Address: 717 Barracks Street, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Barracks Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.