We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi Gras Marvelous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison DuBois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison DuBois
Save
You added Maison DuBois to your Saves list
1419 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Mardi Gras Marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Mardi Gras ended yesterday and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Maison DuBois Bed and Breakfast. Tom was a great host he helped with directions and suggesting things to do. He told me about a wonderful spot to watch the parades uptown one day and enjoyed the local experience. I will definitely be back and stay again my next visit. Next time I will plan a trip when its a bit warmer and I can enjoy the glorious pool that my room overlooked!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It's always a delight to stay at Maison DuBois! It's a perfect location, convenient to all the action in the French Quarter yet a quiet haven when it's time to relax. The beautiful pool in the courtyard makes the perfect escape in the hot summer months and the spa is perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine after an early dinner. The hosts are locals that know every square inch of their city. Ask Tom for a history lesson while enjoying your breakfast...fascinating! The rooms are large and elegant, beautifully decorated in classic New Orleans style. Choose the Orleans or the Esplanade rooms (pronounced "esplanAID in New Orleans) to gain your own access to the back veranda overlooking the courtyard. Enjoy your morning coffee then take the spiral stairs down to the saltwater pool...heavenly! The Plantation is the prettiest with a fabulous sleigh bed and huge gilded mirror over the fireplace. It also has the biggest bathroom. The Vieux Carre is the front room and is almost like having your own apartment with a large living area and quick access to the kitchen. The Dauphine Marigny is perfect for families with it's main entrance and two separate bedrooms with a shared bathroom between. One room has twin beds with lots of space in the center and the other room has a gorgeous tall four poster bed. All rooms have televisions, ironing boards, irons, blow dryers and plenty of towels. We have visited when the house is full but rarely see the other guests except at breakfast. It seems everyone is out exploring or keeps different hours...makes it feel like the house is all yours! I recommend this B&B to any of my friends planning a visit to New Orleans. It doesn't get any better than Maison DuBois.

Room Tip: Orleans or Esplanade for easy veranda and pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Maison DuBois this past weekend for a reunion. We rented the entire place, and we all enjoyed the experience. The home is nestled in a quiet stretch of Dauphine street in the historic Faubourg Marigny district and steps from Bourbon Street. It is very close to the best music clubs and a short walk to great restaurants. The home itself is very well maintained, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a full kitchen and a lovely dining room and comfortable living room. It is a historic home, so the bathrooms are a bit on the small side and the finishes are in keeping with the house. If you are looking for a more modern space, then this isn't the place for you anyway. However, if you want a quiet respite in a lovely home in keeping with the New Orleans tradition, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: the rooms with balconies have a private bath and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent the New Year week in the Maison du Bois and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. Tom could not have been more welcoming and accommodating of our needs and the elegant period house has all mod-cons with a kitchen and comfy sitting room for guests. The rooms were very clean and well supplied and there is a delightful pool and courtyard area outside. The house is perfectly placed to explore the French Quarter. It is situated in a quiet leafy street but great cafe's, shops and entertainment are all 5 - 10 mins walk away at most. Tom recommended seeing the Ogden Museum of Southern Art: a fantastic find of unusual art in various mediums including photographs and collage. It is opposite the interesting and massive World War 2 Museum. We absolutely love New Orleans and finding such a great B&B for a week made the trip extra special.

Room Tip: The Dauphine Marigny Suite suited us as it has a large double bedroom, a separate twin bed room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed shy of a week at Maison DuBois. Entirely satisfied with our stay. It's wonderfully positioned just off Esplanade abutting both French Quarter and Frenchmen Street areas. Rooms are amply sized, some of which are huge with sitting areas. Our group stayed in the two largest suites, but the two rooms in the back really give you the serenity and deck views of the amazing courtyard w/swimming pool and hot tub. This space is quite the mini-Shangri La, very lush and romantically-lit. The house itself is a converted two-family, beautifully decorated and quite spacious in the common areas. Fellow travelers were a diverse and friendly group. Breakfast was simple but good--healthy cereals, fresh fruit, decent breads and such. Added plus was the convenience store two doors down. Most memorable was Tom, the innkeeper. Always available to provide suggestion for just about anything. He's funny and warm and is just as comfortable "settin a spell" to chat as he is taking a cue that you're breezing in and out and want to be left alone. This place is best suited for adults who want a a B&B to decompress in a safe, welcoming B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it Tom was great. And the location was prefect just the fact that we were staying within walking distance made everything just great. Thanks Tom for everything and we will see each other soon (::

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location, just outside of the French Quarter. Lovely old building, beautifully furnished. The pool is a godsend, an oasis on a hot afternoon, private and serene. Our hosts were extremely helpful in suggesting places to go and treating us like we were family. Definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Front room is large and lovely but a little noisey on the street. The others are all lovely and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison DuBois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuBois

Address: 1419 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Location! Nowhere is this more important than the French Quarter where the sights, sounds and adventures are unlimited. Maison DuBois will beckon and entice you with an ambiance unmistakably New Orleans. First time visitors are struck by the lush tropical foliage of hibiscus, banana trees, jasmine and queen palms that line the courtyard while the fountain splashes playfully into the pool's waters. Each guestroom is uniquely decorated to enhance their comfort and appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Dubois Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison DuBois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.