We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B close to everything, but tucked away on quiet street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison DuBois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison DuBois
Save Saved
You added Maison DuBois to your Saves list
1419 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Fairhaven, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B close to everything, but tucked away on quiet street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed shy of a week at Maison DuBois. Entirely satisfied with our stay. It's wonderfully positioned just off Esplanade abutting both French Quarter and Frenchmen Street areas. Rooms are amply sized, some of which are huge with sitting areas. Our group stayed in the two largest suites, but the two rooms in the back really give you the serenity and deck views of the amazing courtyard w/swimming pool and hot tub. This space is quite the mini-Shangri La, very lush and romantically-lit. The house itself is a converted two-family, beautifully decorated and quite spacious in the common areas. Fellow travelers were a diverse and friendly group. Breakfast was simple but good--healthy cereals, fresh fruit, decent breads and such. Added plus was the convenience store two doors down. Most memorable was Tom, the innkeeper. Always available to provide suggestion for just about anything. He's funny and warm and is just as comfortable "settin a spell" to chat as he is taking a cue that you're breezing in and out and want to be left alone. This place is best suited for adults who want a a B&B to decompress in a safe, welcoming B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it Tom was great. And the location was prefect just the fact that we were staying within walking distance made everything just great. Thanks Tom for everything and we will see each other soon (::

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location, just outside of the French Quarter. Lovely old building, beautifully furnished. The pool is a godsend, an oasis on a hot afternoon, private and serene. Our hosts were extremely helpful in suggesting places to go and treating us like we were family. Definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Front room is large and lovely but a little noisey on the street. The others are all lovely and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just got home from our second stay with Maison Dubois. It's fabulous! Excellent hosts with great stories, history and recommendations. You are in the midst of a lovely residential neighbourhood, a short walk to the music and food of Frenchman's Street and all the interests in the French Quarter. After wandering all day, it's fabulous to enjoy a shady respite in the lovely pool and/or to soak away the sore feet in the hot tub, to rejuvenate before heading out for dinner and music in the neighbourhood. The rooms all have private bath/shower and sitting areas and are totally lovely. I am happy to make this my home when visiting this wonderful city!

Room Tip: They're all great. Two rooms share a balcony/ porch overlooking the pool, so they're fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend getaway and OH! what a getaway it was. The inn is great, the inn keeper warm, wonderful, friendly and helpful. The room was weel appointed, quiet and relaxing. The courtyard was beautiful, what a great retreat right in the middle of it all! We had a great stay at Maison DuBois and I have recommended it to several friends and co-workers since.

Room Tip: The Orleans Suite is fabulous, and the balcony overlooking the courtyard cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Maison DuBois is located in the Marigny Triangle, a quick walk to Frenchman and the French Quarter. You get the best of both worlds...plus the quiet of a residential neighborhood away from the touristy hustle & bustle of the Quarter. It was relaxing and had a lot of history behind it.

We stayed in the Esplanade Suite, overlooking a beautiful saltwater pool & hot tub...it was a lush oasis perfect for getting away from the humid heat. Tom was a wonderful host with plenty of suggestions of his favorite local bars & restaurants, as well as lots of fun & insightful stories.

Don't expect an extensive, heavy breakfast...I suggest getting up early, grabbing some coffee and a bowl of cereal or a bagel and camping out by the pool. Then you can walk into the Quarter for something heavier if you're in the mood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here over 2nd weekend Jazz Fest last week and were thrilled with the place. Rooms were clean and fairly spacious. Lovely front and back porches. Very nice salt water pool and hot tub. The location was ideal for me as it was very near Frenchmen, the quarter and the Fair Grounds where Fest is held. Actually walked to Fest one day and it wasn't too awful. Tom and Gary were most gracious hosts. My mother and I would go back in a heartbeat! Thanks again, guys. We had a stellar experience!

Room Tip: Rooms in back have their own balconies overlooking the pool/hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison DuBois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuBois

Address: 1419 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Location! Nowhere is this more important than the French Quarter where the sights, sounds and adventures are unlimited. Maison DuBois will beckon and entice you with an ambiance unmistakably New Orleans. First time visitors are struck by the lush tropical foliage of hibiscus, banana trees, jasmine and queen palms that line the courtyard while the fountain splashes playfully into the pool's waters. Each guestroom is uniquely decorated to enhance their comfort and appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Dubois Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison DuBois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.