We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Orleans Experience !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison DuBois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Maison DuBois
Save Saved
You added Maison DuBois to your Saves list
1419 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Park City, Utah
1 review
“A New Orleans Experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have visited this amazing city on numerous occasions. I have visited many different venues for lodging in this wonderful city as well. I can without hesitation state that Maison DuBois is among the very best. My goodness, what an incredibly beautiful establishment this is. Maison Dubois is neatly tucked away inside the most desirable residential and commercial areas of the country. It is one block from the famous Vieux Carre literally and in the historic Fabourg Marigny.The ability a access any venue you wish is within in safe walking distance from this B & B. Besides the convenience of this B & B's location the ambiance has that feel of the old New Orleans style creole cottages. The antiques are beautiful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The patio area holds a very pleasant surprise. It provides a place of escape and solitude. The pool and spa are very clean and well maintained by the staff. Tom is amazing. He knows how to run this business and is available for personal consultation when needed. I highly recommend this establishment on your next visit to the Crescent City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

When my partner and I travel to New Orleans for business we stay at Maison Dubois. Tom is always so helpful with suggestions for new restaurants and places to grab a cocktail in the evening. We always feel like we are at home and we really enjoy his gracious attitude and the personality of the city! (Within walking distance to everything!) We highly reccoment Maison Dubois over any other bed and breakfast in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Maison DuBois B&B for three nights earlier this month (January 2013). I chose this B&B because of the cost and the good TA reviews. We were VERY pleased. We stayed in the Orleans suite and it exceeded our expectations -- a really large and comfortable bedroom with an adjoining sitting parlor and a balcony that overlooked the salt water pool and spa. What more could we want?! The decor of the house seems evocative of something old worldly -- I imagine it's how houses must have been furnished in Old New Orleans. Tom, the manager, was friendly, reliable, and ran the house very efficiently. He can definitely keep you entertained with stories and history of New Orleans. As for location, everything was in less than a nice 20-30 minute walk -- exactly what I needed with so much delicious New Orleans food being a constant temptation! We will definitely stay at Maison DuBois on our next visit to New Orleans!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great --- take a tour on their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had a girls weekend and stayed in their 2 bedroom suite - which worked out great for 4 of us. The owner and caretaker were very helpful and pleasant. There is a heated pool with hot tub in a private garden. And the location is perfect - one block off the French Quarter - so everything is walking distance (or quick cab if going to the other side). And a few blocks to Frenchmen St - where we got to enjoy some great jazz.

Room Tip: There is a description of each of the rooms on their website. We did check all of them out - and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Maison du Bois for a special event and reserved the entire house. It's a great location, just 1/2 block off the north border of the French Quarter and a few short blocks to Frenchman St. It's a safe location for walking and there's a convenient corner market down the block. Street parking wasn't a problem with the parking pass we requested from our host in advance. We walked to and from the Dome, which is a healthy 30-minute walk but pleasant and safe.
The backyard pool area is charming and private. Two bedrooms (Esplanade and Orleans) open onto a shared balcony that overlooks the pool and has a staircase leading down. Esplanade has a king bed, two closets, and a nice bathroom. Orleans has a queen bed, a split bathroom (toilet separate), and a generous sitting area. Between Esplanade and the kitchen area is the Plantation suite with a queen bed. It has a large bath area and boasts an antique mirror. Across the hall is the two-bedroom Dauphine-Marigny suite with a bath situated between the two bedrooms. One bedroom has a very tall queen bed and the other has two twins. The largest room is the Vieux Carre suite with a magnificent queen-sized antique Belgiun bed and enormous sitting room.
All the rooms have lovely furnishings that have been hand-selected in good taste. All rooms are on the main level of the house.
Everyone in our group liked our host, Tom. He was very friendly and is extremely knowledgeable about New Orleans. He recommended restaurants that the locals visit, but if you're going to be there at a busy time, ask in advance so you can make reservations.
Even our pickiest travelers were delighted with this selection, so I'm rating 5-stars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family went to the final four and rented the entire house. This is such a beautiful home and both Tom and Gary were perfect hosts. The pool area is a nice escape from the heat, and the home is close enough to the action but far enough away that we could escape crowds when needed. We always had clean towels and Tom was nice enough to print all of our boarding passes and even was patient enough to help me pick my seats for the flight. I stayed in the suite with double beds- the door was tricky to shut and did not appear to have a lock. This was not an issue for me since I was sharing with family, but just something to note. All-in-all great stay and would go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Wonderful place! The hospitality is terrific (Tom the owner is extremely helpful.) and the place is beautiful. Very well maintained. Each bedroom has a separate bath. The location is perfect, close enough to walk to the French Quarter but away from the noise. I recommend it highly. One thing to know is that since it is a B&B, the kitchen, living room, dining room and pool area are communal so you must be willing to be with others you may not know!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison DuBois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuBois

Address: 1419 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Location! Nowhere is this more important than the French Quarter where the sights, sounds and adventures are unlimited. Maison DuBois will beckon and entice you with an ambiance unmistakably New Orleans. First time visitors are struck by the lush tropical foliage of hibiscus, banana trees, jasmine and queen palms that line the courtyard while the fountain splashes playfully into the pool's waters. Each guestroom is uniquely decorated to enhance their comfort and appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Dubois Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison DuBois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;