We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kerlerec House

The Kerlerec House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kerlerec House
Save
You added The Kerlerec House to your Saves list
928 Kerlerec Street, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were there for a really unique experience: a 5 night writing retreat. The house was beautiful and a special place to be in. We couldn't have asked for more charm and history, which inspired all of us immensely. We rented the whole complex, and the cottages are extra special too. Especially the French Quarter and Mardi Gras, which would be perfect for a couple looking for a romantic getaway close to the fun of the Quarter but not in the midst of the wild scene. It is also a few short blocks from Frenchman Street, which is so much fun.

And Wendy and Don are amazing people. Whatever we needed, they were there for us. The house is from 1808 so it is quirky, but any time something needed to be solved, they were available. Don is also very good at trivia. The owner, Scott, has an electricity about him that was also great to see. Everyone felt so at home there that we were sad to leave our New Orleans compound.

Room Tip: The Mardi Gras cottage has 2 bedrooms and is gorgeous and the French Quarter has a king size bed, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
14
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This house was great, the location worked well with an approximately 15 minute walk to the French Quarter/bars on Bourbon Street. And Frenchmen Street is even closer if you are looking for jazz bars (more low key area).

The house is huge and worked well for a large group. We did stay here just four weeks after Hurricane Isaac, and there was some damage in the Jazz Club and quite a bit of mold (possibly from that damage). One thing I would mention is that in the living room some of the couches and chairs were very old and fragile, so we were afraid to sit on them, which made it kind of hard for a large group to all gather in there. You need to be aware that the air conditioner resets itself four times a day, which caused the house to get VERY hot VERY quickly until we realized what was happening. On a positive note, there were plenty of towels and dishes for our large group and the beds were all comfortable and clean.

We were kind of worried about parking before we came, but were able to pull up in front of the house and unload and then parked just a couple of blocks away. Although there is a "shared" courtyard, which was another of our concerns initially, we never even saw our neighbors.

A couple of suggestions for the owners would be to maybe offer more cooking dishes/bakeware in the kitchen (i.e. 9x13 pans and mixing bowls) and maybe some paper plates and salt & pepper - or recommend the renter bring these items along. Also, the showerhead in the downstairs bathroom of the main house needs to be replaced.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again with a large group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wendy and Don were fantastic! Everything was all set up for us from the minute we arrived. The facilities were large and clean and perfect for a big group. I was there for my 30th birthday with 15 of my friends and it was a once in a lifetime experience. The location was simply perfect so much to do and it was easy getting everywhere. Check out was a breeze and I would definitely recommend the complex!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived late afternoon on a Friday- and Wendy met us at the guest house. She was kind, incredibly friendly- and had a few suggestions for the two of us (as neither of us girls had been to New Orleans before). She shared her cell number with us, and assured us that no matter the time- if anything went wrong to give her a call. We felt immediately comfortable in the beautiful French Quarter Suite, and proceeded to enjoy our vacation. The only other people that were staying on the property were super friendly, and it was clean and within walking distance of absolutely everything we wanted to see! It was an incredible vacation-

Until the day before we were supposed to leave. Hurricane Isaac blew in on the last couple days of our vacation- and we found ourselves in a very sticky situation. We couldn't get an early flight home- and the airport was closing it's doors and so we were very worried as to where we would bunker down during the storm. We didn't have to worry long though- as Wendy called us and assured us that we were welcome to stay at the guest house until we could arrange for a flight home- and that her two wonderful sons were going to be staying on the property during the hurricane to make sure we weren't alone- and that we had some company. Ryan and Jay (Wendy's two sons) checked on us- after we lost power and the wind died down they even went out to the quarter and had some food with us.

Wendy and her family took us in, and made sure we were safe. They made what could have horrible and very stressful situation, an incredible experience. I will recommend Kerlerec House to absolutely everyone I know travelling down to NOLA. I cannot begin to express the extreme gratitude, and love we both feel for the family.

This was easily one of the best travel experiences in my life- and it wouldn't be complete without the gracious hosts we had. Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Kerlerec house was an excellent place to stay when 15 of us came down to New Orleans. The people who own the house are very easy to get in touch with, are extremely friendly, and we could walk to every spot in the French Quarter. The house itself is beautiful.

One thing I would highly recommend is to be very careful. The house is old and things can break easily. If you have a wild group, be sure to talk to them in advance about not breaking anything.

Overall though, the experience was excellent and we enjoyed our stay. We came in the beginning of August when there were some serious rains and one of the rooms had a leak. They instantly came and went about handling the problem and were more than accommodating.

If we do another bachelor party in New Orleans, we will be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A group of 10 of us stayed at the fantastic Kerlerec house last year for the Final Four and we couldn't have been happier. The owners were so helpful- they even provided a newspaper for us and suggestions on some activities we could do while in New Orleans. The location was close enough to the French Quarter that we could walk, but it was far enough away so that we weren't right in the middle of the craziness. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I organized to New Orleans for a large group of guys for a bachelor party and The Kerlerec House fit the bill better than I could have hoped for. The location was perfect, a short walk from bourbon street or a very cheap can anywhere. Despite being in a large group everything we wanted to do was easy because it was so close. The house had a unique New Orleans feel to it and accommodated 15 guys with ease. I had a remarkable

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#31 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marigny
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#30 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#3 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kerlerec House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kerlerec House

Address: 928 Kerlerec Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeps 1 to 32, Bachelor & Bachelorette Parties, Family Reunions, Etc. The Kerlerec House is conveniently located one short block from the French Quarter and only one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Enjoy three wonderfully lush courtyards and other sitting areas or relax in our Jacuzzi hot tub. Other Activities: Audobon; Aquarium, Isectarium, Zoo & Park. Carriage rides, Tours; Historic homes, Cemetary, Ghost, Vampire, Haunted history, Swamp, Plantation. Excellent: for Bachelors, Large Groups, 16 separate sleeping spaces. Sleeps 1 to 26 Max. of 32 guests, for Ultimate Privacy rent the entire property. You and your group will have the entire property to yourselves. Including; Hot Tub, Courtyards, all other spaces. Great for large groups, Bachelor Party & Ette wanting privacy & luxury. Furnished with beautiful Antiques & Original Historic Architectural details, stained glass, beamed ceilings plus a 42' Plasma flat screen TV in the Main House & a 32' Plasma flat Screen TV in the Mardi Gras apt. DVD,VCR & Stereos and all the conveniences of home & Hot Tub.. The Kerlerec House is available nightly with a 3 night minimum. A 4 night min, for special events. The Kerlerec House is located one short block from the French Quarter and one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Or enjoy 1 of our 3 Lush Court Yards. You can rent our entire Property for only $1,500.00 to $1,900.00 (depending on season & special events) For the utmost in privacy and comfort. History of property.: Experience all of wonderful New Orleans while staying in one of the oldest Creole Cottages in the city. This home was built circa. 1808 and has some of the finest examples of architecture and details fashionable in the late 1700’s and early 1800’s. You will be staying one short block from the French Quarter and one block from Bourbon Street. Our cottage is luxuriously furnished and elegantly decorated, having antiques from the mid to late 1800’s. THE HISTORY OF THIS AMAZING HOME This elegantly decorated Creole Cottage built, “of columbage and bricked between post” circa. 1808, is one of the rarest examples of early Creole cottage architecture remaining to date. This home is in the first subdivision of New Orleans named Faubourg Marigny. The plantation was subdivided in March 16 1806. This home retains almost all of its original architectural features including; its rare Ram’s horn hinges and original latches on the French glass doors. More history of property.: There are also very outstanding long latches which were used to open and close the doors. The ceilings are original and are “dressed and beaded” which are rare to find intact to day. The mantels are the most distinguishing interior elements in Creole domestic architecture. Two of the mantels are box mantels in the style dating from the late 1700’s to 1810 with columns supporting a frieze having strong horizontal moldings. The floors are beautiful large plank and the original moldings are intact. This property was sold to one of the first women of color to purchase property in the United States. Madame Magdalene Baure’ purchased three lots which now form the sites of 1426 and 1434 Burgundy and of 928, 930 and 934 Kerlerec. This property now has 4 other cottages, two of which were believed to be very early barge board cottages from the early 1800’s most likely moved here at a later date. Rental polices: Deposit & Cancellation Policy; Prices are subject to Change Until the Deposit is received. 50% Deposit required upon booking, Bookings are only confirmed when the deposit is received and approved by our Credit Card Prioress or a Pay-paw is deposited. Rates Vary with Out Notice prior to receiving the Deposit. Balance required 15 days prior to arrival. Balance required 90 days prior to arrival during 'Special Events' Cancellation 30 days prior to arrival, & 90 day for Special Events. * 30 Days notice required for 50% refund of deposit (minus 4% fee). * Less than 30 days notice, no refund. * 90 days notice required for Refund during 'Special Events' and Holidays. * Force Majeure Event. * 4% processing fee retained for all cancellations. Cancellation refunds may take up to 30 days to process. “Special event” dates include, but are not limited to: New Year, Sugar Bowl, Super Bowl, Final Four, Mardi Gras, French Quarter Fest, Easter, St. Patrick’s Day, Jazz Fest (last weekend of April and first weekend of May), July 4th (Essence Festival), Labor Day, Sou ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kerlerec House Hotel New Orleans
The Kerlerec Hotel
Kerlerec Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kerlerec House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.