We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Blues Band @ not so seedy part of Bourbon St.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Funky Pirate Blues Club

The Funky Pirate Blues Club
727 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-523-1960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 461 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Blues Band @ not so seedy part of Bourbon St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stopped by Funky Pirate on a Sunday afternoon because we heard the band from the sidewalk. It's a dive bar with no cover, decent drinks, Abita on tap, friendly staff -- and the band featured Smoky Greenwell from the band, War. This four piece band played on a cramped stage, and rocked this old joint. They played a few War songs and some blues covers, but mostly their own songs. We were impressed enough to buy their CD, which in Oct. 2012 was #13 on the Living Blues chart. The bar is about one block from the start of the very packed, seedy stretch of Bourbon Street -- which was alright by me!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    51
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Been there Done That”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was close to oiur Hotel ad we stopped there for a drink. Everyone was friendly but I don't think I would specifically go back there. Music is played very loud to attract walkers into it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The music was great and the beer not expensive. We really liked this laid back place and would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
602 reviews 602 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Stop here first and last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are looking for some great music and cheap drinks you have found it. We stopped in yesterday and listened to two bands, both were great. The drinks were 3 for 1 from 3-6 pm. The waitress was excellent we had a great time.

Wish we had stayed for more music, we did not find anything this good the rest of the trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Found some blues bands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Low key atmosphere, but great bands that keep you glued to your seat. Just on bourbon street on a Friday night. That's the magic night. Go for the magic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Funky Pirate Blues Club also viewed

 

Been to The Funky Pirate Blues Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Funky Pirate Blues Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.