We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside Bar and Outside Courtyard . . . both GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Amelie

Cafe Amelie
912 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116
+1 504-412-8965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Amelie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Dumaine St. & St. Philip St.
Transit: Cafe Amelie is accessible by the RTA’s redline streetcars that run along the river; the nearest stop is Dumaine Street, then Cafe Amelie is a short 4-block walk from the river.
Description: Please note that the courtyard is seated on a first come, first serve basis. A reservation does not guarantee seating in the courtyard but we will have a table available inside our beautiful, historic carriage house. We normally allow reservation space for only 50% of the dining room to accommodate walk-ins. Additionally, in order to accommodate all of our guests who are waiting to be seated, we are only able to seat your party once everyone has arrived. Nestled in the historic 150-year-old Princess of Monaco Courtyard and Carriage House on Royal Street in the French Quarter, Cafe Amelie is a rare combination of superb Louisiana fare served in a lush, enchanting New Orleans courtyard setting. Cafe Amelie has a full bar offering an array of signature cocktail creations. Cafe Amelie and the accompanying Princess of Monaco Courtyard are also available for private parties, weddings and receptions.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Inside Bar and Outside Courtyard . . . both GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great time visiting with the bartenders inside. They were very informative and helpful about all things New Orleans. AND, we learned about Luxardo cherries. Our Manhattans will never be the same again!

Long wait for outside (with unorganized, confused and RUDE hostesses) but worth the wait. Beautiful courtyard at night. Food was great, service too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    187
    47
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Brunch today was wonderful. We went to Cafe Amelie-with a pretty courtyard. We waited outside the gate and Mike called to make reservations for brunch. They were able to "squeeze us in". Glad they did. It was charming. We sat in the courtyard and the fountain trickled sweetly behind us. Mike ordered a Bloody Mary and I had a pot of Earl Grey Tea. My tea was lovely, with a large with cup that I sipped contentedly while waiting for the first course of nut bread with goat cheese and fig jam. Wonderful! (I'm not a giant fan of goat cheese-but this was like a cream cheese with wonderful hearty, nut bread and amazing fig jam) My husband and I both shared...Recommend reservations, even for lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful outdoor seating and best muffuletta in the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Strangely, outdoor seating is hard to come by in the French Quarter. This place has the courtyard dining in town. Dog friendly as well. Mostly sandwiches, but entrees and Sunday brunch as well. Great twist on the traditional muffuletta. Salads are great also. You won't find a better place for a casual and relaxing meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and courtyard, very romantic couples' night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We didn't make reservations so the wait was almost an hour. No matter; we enjoyed a glass of wine in the torchlit courtyard with the moon overhead.

Very interesting wine list. Delicious salad, crab cakes the best I have ever tasted, savory carbonara-like pasta.

We were in the French Quarter for a four- day stay and sought excellent restaurants each evening. This was the best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was a must stop on our vacation weekend after reading all the reviews...And i must say it was well worth it!! We should have made a reservation but instead arrived early (don't open until 11am on Sunday) and waited in line to be first. Thankfully we got a table...unforunately it was inside, but still window seating and fantastic. Amazing views, beautiful garden fountain, and found out then entire place was rented out for a private ceremony the night before which must have been absolutely lovely. Highly recommend the shrimp and grits, and the fig/goat cheese bread...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Amelie also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Amelie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.