We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out gas lamps and historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights

Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights
521 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
504 522 9485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 146 Shopping in New Orleans
Attraction details
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Check out gas lamps and historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Greeted by very friendly staff who explained history of gas lantern in New Orleans. Can walk to back and watch lamps being hand made. Beautiful old building with some interesting antiques including garden collection. A nice break from very crowded streets.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not just lighting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Remember Bevolo for your next mailbox. We just installed a beautiful Bevolo copper mailbox to adorn our front door.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Company - they only one I will work with for gas lanterns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We purchased a number of Bevolo lanterns for our hotel and could not be happier with them. The quality of the lanterns is only rivaled by their customer service.

Well done Bevolo!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great products, superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just had a lantern created as part of the renovation of our entryway. We were very impressed with the time, thoroughness and thoughtfulness of the sales staff. We were shown several styles that fit the architecture of our home and given extremely helpful advice on sizing, placement and design to provide appropriate lighting and to address our installation needs. The lantern was finished sooner than expected and it is beautiful. So glad we made this investment and even happier that we purchased from Bevolo.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing lighting and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I visited Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights during the holidays, I had never been to this store in the French Quarter before and decided to walk in. What I quickly found out was the lights you see in the French Quarter are actually made in the French Quarter. Bevolo has an amazing family history, one that you rarely hear anymore of a 3rd generation family owner and all the products are hand made in the city. I had no idea that copper craftsmanship was still a trade and something practiced in the U.S. They offer an extensive variety of lights and I was surprised to see how many home decor items they carried. The visit to Bevolo turned into a real experience for me and my family. I suggest anyone who is visiting New Orleans and the French Quarter to check out Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights, you will walk away with a bit of New Orleans history.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights also viewed

 

Been to Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bevolo Gas & Electric Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.