We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentry House
Save Saved
You added Gentry House to your Saves list
1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just returned from a five-night stay at Gentry House, and the place could not have been more perfect for our group's needs. There were five of us, so we booked the St. Ann Suite, which had three single beds and a queen bed (the queen bed is in its own separate room, while three twin beds were in a room without a door, off of the kitchen area). Before arriving, I was slightly wary of the noise and safety of the French Quarter, but Gentry House was not only very safe (protected by an iron gate), but also was a few blocks away from the main drag of Bourbon Street, so there wasn't too much noise (don't get me wrong though - there was still some noise, especially on Saturday night, but nothing I couldn't sleep through). The beds were perfectly comfortable, and there was plenty of room for all of us. The location (and particularly the price for the location - at $180 per night, it was a great deal) was amazing - a 5-10 minute walk to anywhere in the French Quarter, and other neighborhoods were also very accessible either by walking, bus, or streetcar. The croissants in the morning were a great touch, plus the fridge was stocked with beverages, cereal, milk, coffee, juice, and fruit. Lastly, Brian and Charlotte were wonderful and gracious hosts. I would definitely stay again on my next visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: For groups, it's difficult to find anything else like the St. Ann Suite in the French Quarter. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent a very memorable Memorial Day weekend at the Gentry House - we stayed in the very large and spacious two bedroom room at the front of the facility. It was very clean and the breakfast items were great - especially the croissants in the morning!!! Brian greeted us on arrival late Friday night and showed us around the rooms - and then checked on us each day - it is very centrally located - two blocks from Bourbon street - the street is very quiet - you do get the occasional noisy car or drunk but that is expected in every city. We walked to the Basin street stop for the Hop on Hop off bus and also it was an easy twenty minute walk down ST Ann to jackson Square and Cafe du monde - the parking was different - you unloaded on the sidewalk outside the house and then parked in a parking garage 6 blocks down the road - the parking garage looked sketchy - but our car was safe and sound when we returned three days later - also not expensive - all in all I would truly recommend the Gentry House for a stay in NO - it is not a 5 star hotel with room service - but it is pleasant and spacious and clean and friendly

Room Tip: A family of 5 can fit more than comfortably in the large two bedroom suite at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from our first trip to New Orleans a few days ago and we couldn't be happier with our experience! We stayed two nights in the Gentry House Dumaine room and it was an absolute pleasure! We loved the room, we felt so comfortable like we had our own little place! It was a clean and stocked with little comforts like fruit, juice, coffee, cereal etc. The hosts were amazing, we didn't meet Charlotte but Brian and Angel helped us and they were so welcoming and friendly! We really left with not one complaint, except that we wish we were staying longer!! When I first booked I wasn't sure how close it was to all the action but the location turned out to be perfect! It was just blocks from Bourbon street and anything else in French quarter, we walked to everything! Though it was nice that it was just far enough away to be quiet and get a great nights sleep too. If you're there to party hard this is not the place for you but if you there for a genuine charming New Orleans experience with some peace and quiet it will be perfect! We absolutely can't wait to return! Thank you again Brian, Charlotte and Angel!! And ps. the croissants are a real treat, they are delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just returned home from New Orleans yesterday and were very sad to leave Gentry House. Every time we've been to New Orleans we've stayed at a big fancy hotel and regret not stumbling upon this place sooner. It is so charming. There's a private courtyard to hang out in and the rooms are like apartments. Everything is beautiful. It's also on a quiet side street so your sleep won't be interrupted. It's a close walk to Bourbon street and Jackson Square and everything else is easily accessible. The owners bike every day to get fresh croissants for the guests. Best croissants I've ever had. I didn't get to meet Charlotte but Brian and a woman that works there named Angel are incredible, kind people. Hang out in the courtyard and talk to them about anything. I don't have any complaints, and I plan to stay at Gentry House on my many subsequent trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oksboel, Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have visited New Orleans twice, and we love the French Quarter.
Gentry House is a cosy old house in a quiet part of the French Quarter, but near Bourbon and Royal Street.
We have stayed at Gentry House both times. First in room Dumaine ground-floor, and second in room Saint Louis upstairs. Cosy spacious rooms. It was perfect for us.
The hosts, Charlotte and Brian, are very nice and friendly and helpful.
You shall not choose Gentry House, if you want luxury standard.
You can choose Gentry House, if you prefer staying in the French Quarter, and if you like old cosy houses, where you can stay under proper circumstance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We love B & B's and this one was great overall. Each room has an entrance to the courtyard (so you don't feel like you're really in someone's house). The hosts were great to work with getting the reservation. The price was very reasonable considering it's only a few blocks from all the action in New Orleans (whether it's Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street or the Square). The croissants they brought each morning were amazing! Plus, they had milk, juice, fruit, sodas and coffee stocked up in the kitchen (these are more like tiny apartments). Our only complaint is that it's old - but hey, it's an authentic older house in New Orleans! We felt like we were going to break the bed (some of the furnishings were a bit on the older side too). :/ Good value, awesome location, nice people, what else do you need!?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the dumaine appart. For 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay, owners are very helpful and nice. Angel who cleans the premises is also very sweet. This is not a hotel, so don't expect your room to be clean every day. We enjoyed having a kitchen area since we came in December. Every night we would have diner inside after a tiring day walking everywhere. The croissants are really good. All breakfast items are in the fridge-tea, coffee, milk, juice etc....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gentry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.