We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly charming New Orleans experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentry House
Save
You added Gentry House to your Saves list
1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly charming New Orleans experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from our first trip to New Orleans a few days ago and we couldn't be happier with our experience! We stayed two nights in the Gentry House Dumaine room and it was an absolute pleasure! We loved the room, we felt so comfortable like we had our own little place! It was a clean and stocked with little comforts like fruit, juice, coffee, cereal etc. The hosts were amazing, we didn't meet Charlotte but Brian and Angel helped us and they were so welcoming and friendly! We really left with not one complaint, except that we wish we were staying longer!! When I first booked I wasn't sure how close it was to all the action but the location turned out to be perfect! It was just blocks from Bourbon street and anything else in French quarter, we walked to everything! Though it was nice that it was just far enough away to be quiet and get a great nights sleep too. If you're there to party hard this is not the place for you but if you there for a genuine charming New Orleans experience with some peace and quiet it will be perfect! We absolutely can't wait to return! Thank you again Brian, Charlotte and Angel!! And ps. the croissants are a real treat, they are delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just returned home from New Orleans yesterday and were very sad to leave Gentry House. Every time we've been to New Orleans we've stayed at a big fancy hotel and regret not stumbling upon this place sooner. It is so charming. There's a private courtyard to hang out in and the rooms are like apartments. Everything is beautiful. It's also on a quiet side street so your sleep won't be interrupted. It's a close walk to Bourbon street and Jackson Square and everything else is easily accessible. The owners bike every day to get fresh croissants for the guests. Best croissants I've ever had. I didn't get to meet Charlotte but Brian and a woman that works there named Angel are incredible, kind people. Hang out in the courtyard and talk to them about anything. I don't have any complaints, and I plan to stay at Gentry House on my many subsequent trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oksboel, Denmark
Level Contributor
475 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have visited New Orleans twice, and we love the French Quarter.
Gentry House is a cosy old house in a quiet part of the French Quarter, but near Bourbon and Royal Street.
We have stayed at Gentry House both times. First in room Dumaine ground-floor, and second in room Saint Louis upstairs. Cosy spacious rooms. It was perfect for us.
The hosts, Charlotte and Brian, are very nice and friendly and helpful.
You shall not choose Gentry House, if you want luxury standard.
You can choose Gentry House, if you prefer staying in the French Quarter, and if you like old cosy houses, where you can stay under proper circumstance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We love B & B's and this one was great overall. Each room has an entrance to the courtyard (so you don't feel like you're really in someone's house). The hosts were great to work with getting the reservation. The price was very reasonable considering it's only a few blocks from all the action in New Orleans (whether it's Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street or the Square). The croissants they brought each morning were amazing! Plus, they had milk, juice, fruit, sodas and coffee stocked up in the kitchen (these are more like tiny apartments). Our only complaint is that it's old - but hey, it's an authentic older house in New Orleans! We felt like we were going to break the bed (some of the furnishings were a bit on the older side too). :/ Good value, awesome location, nice people, what else do you need!?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journ2train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the dumaine appart. For 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay, owners are very helpful and nice. Angel who cleans the premises is also very sweet. This is not a hotel, so don't expect your room to be clean every day. We enjoyed having a kitchen area since we came in December. Every night we would have diner inside after a tiring day walking everywhere. The croissants are really good. All breakfast items are in the fridge-tea, coffee, milk, juice etc....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloKnoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Location is good. Accommodations are serviceable but not at all luxurious. Everything is quite rustic. Good if you are not expecting hotel quality which we understood from the beginning. Great croissants in the a.m. and nice owners.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Family581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here (Toulouse room) for 4 nights last month. It was an incredible value as the space is a very nice-sized 1 BR apartment. The experience may not be for everyone (shower is weak and the narrow indoor and outdoor stairwells may be a challenge) but staying at a homey apartment in the French Quarter made my trip extra special. The eat-in kitchen was stocked with fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, soda and bottled water. Breakfast is brought to your door from Croissant D'or Patisserie (I highly recommend the almond croissant!). I felt safe although St. Ann tends to be quite dark. Thankfully, the Louis Armstrong park sign (across the street on North Rampart) is brightly lit during the evening.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Remorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#37 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#32 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#83 of 156 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Saint Philip Hotel
The Saint Philip Hotel
#3 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#131 of 156 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#24 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing