We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but great hosts and wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gentry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentry House
Save Saved
You added Gentry House to your Saves list
1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Missouri City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old, but great hosts and wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We love B & B's and this one was great overall. Each room has an entrance to the courtyard (so you don't feel like you're really in someone's house). The hosts were great to work with getting the reservation. The price was very reasonable considering it's only a few blocks from all the action in New Orleans (whether it's Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street or the Square). The croissants they brought each morning were amazing! Plus, they had milk, juice, fruit, sodas and coffee stocked up in the kitchen (these are more like tiny apartments). Our only complaint is that it's old - but hey, it's an authentic older house in New Orleans! We felt like we were going to break the bed (some of the furnishings were a bit on the older side too). :/ Good value, awesome location, nice people, what else do you need!?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the dumaine appart. For 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay, owners are very helpful and nice. Angel who cleans the premises is also very sweet. This is not a hotel, so don't expect your room to be clean every day. We enjoyed having a kitchen area since we came in December. Every night we would have diner inside after a tiring day walking everywhere. The croissants are really good. All breakfast items are in the fridge-tea, coffee, milk, juice etc....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Location is good. Accommodations are serviceable but not at all luxurious. Everything is quite rustic. Good if you are not expecting hotel quality which we understood from the beginning. Great croissants in the a.m. and nice owners.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here (Toulouse room) for 4 nights last month. It was an incredible value as the space is a very nice-sized 1 BR apartment. The experience may not be for everyone (shower is weak and the narrow indoor and outdoor stairwells may be a challenge) but staying at a homey apartment in the French Quarter made my trip extra special. The eat-in kitchen was stocked with fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, soda and bottled water. Breakfast is brought to your door from Croissant D'or Patisserie (I highly recommend the almond croissant!). I felt safe although St. Ann tends to be quite dark. Thankfully, the Louis Armstrong park sign (across the street on North Rampart) is brightly lit during the evening.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hot off the plane from the best trip yet to New Orleans. We stayed once again at the Gentry House on St. Ann. Brian and Charlotte where at the gate to meet us with amazing smiles and warm hospitality. It’s like coming home from a long trip and feeling welcome even though you’ve just arrived as a guest.
Everything was as it should be with a few additions here and there. I appreciated the new lights up the stairwell and the new wall art. Thank you for picking up the few items we requested for the fridge. It was a huge help. The full kitchen came in very handy for warming up the remaining exploits of our day.
The Gentry House is a quite, stately home. There’s no fuss here. You can mix with the other guests if you want or stay to yourself. If you need something, ask- no worries. I love that I’m not surrounded by antiques or proper flatware, its charm comes from the mix of furniture that’s careworn with age. I got to relax and not worry about scuffing the dollies.
Out of the way enough to be quiet and comfortable, close enough for an easy walk anywhere in the Quarter and downtown. Next trip I’ll bring my boys. They need to see the place where we come to relax and enjoy a magnificent city.

Room Tip: I prefer to be upstairs as there is foot traffic most of the night - nothing sinsiter, just lively a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This B&B is in a great central location, close to all the touristy stuff yet in a peaceful area, not too much noise. The parking situation however is not the best. At. all. You have to park blocks away from the B&B because there are only 2hr parking spaces in front of the the room. So unloading and loading the car was a bit of a challenge because we held up traffic while parked nearly in the middle of the street when unloading the car. Other than that, we were fine because we didnt need the cars since everything was within walking distance. The inn-keepers were very sweet and brought us croissants in the morning which were very delicious. There was fresh orange juice, milk, fruit, teas, and cereals available to us as well in the kitchen. Six of us stayed in the St. Ann room, we all fit comfortably, it is very spacious. My complaint about this place is that it wasnt very clean. The hardwood floors were very dirty, the futon mattress was dirty and smelled musty and the cushions looked dirty as well. Dinette looked very worn and the chair cushions were falling apart. The place itself has its old Louisiana charm to it, it is very old and still a very nice place however I think the esthetics of it can be a bit improved. The place is over 200 years old, the furniture doesn't have to be. Also, the TV in the living-room needs to be upgraded to a bigger TV, you have to sit up close to watch it because its so small. The plus side, they have cable and Wi-Fi! They provide a linen closet full of extra sheets, blankets, and pillows which was great! We slept very well in the room. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it with just that warning of its room for improvement. If youre looking for a hotel-like stay, this is not it. But if youre looking for that French Quarter living experience, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Four of us stayed in Saint Louis apartment and the place could even fit more, at least one person or a couple (we were two couples staying there so one bed was empty). Brian and Charlotte both welcomed us as soon as we got there, showed us around. We were pleasantly surprised how spacious it is and everything looked much better than online. Towels, cereals, milk, coffee and juice were definitely a plus as well as the croissants every morning. Location is excellent, just few blocks away from everything that's going on in the French Quarter, we didn't have to use the cab not once because you can walk wherever. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to New Orleans!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gentry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.