We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a true NOLA resident” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentry House
Save Saved
You added Gentry House to your Saves list
1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Felt like a true NOLA resident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here (Toulouse room) for 4 nights last month. It was an incredible value as the space is a very nice-sized 1 BR apartment. The experience may not be for everyone (shower is weak and the narrow indoor and outdoor stairwells may be a challenge) but staying at a homey apartment in the French Quarter made my trip extra special. The eat-in kitchen was stocked with fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, soda and bottled water. Breakfast is brought to your door from Croissant D'or Patisserie (I highly recommend the almond croissant!). I felt safe although St. Ann tends to be quite dark. Thankfully, the Louis Armstrong park sign (across the street on North Rampart) is brightly lit during the evening.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hot off the plane from the best trip yet to New Orleans. We stayed once again at the Gentry House on St. Ann. Brian and Charlotte where at the gate to meet us with amazing smiles and warm hospitality. It’s like coming home from a long trip and feeling welcome even though you’ve just arrived as a guest.
Everything was as it should be with a few additions here and there. I appreciated the new lights up the stairwell and the new wall art. Thank you for picking up the few items we requested for the fridge. It was a huge help. The full kitchen came in very handy for warming up the remaining exploits of our day.
The Gentry House is a quite, stately home. There’s no fuss here. You can mix with the other guests if you want or stay to yourself. If you need something, ask- no worries. I love that I’m not surrounded by antiques or proper flatware, its charm comes from the mix of furniture that’s careworn with age. I got to relax and not worry about scuffing the dollies.
Out of the way enough to be quiet and comfortable, close enough for an easy walk anywhere in the Quarter and downtown. Next trip I’ll bring my boys. They need to see the place where we come to relax and enjoy a magnificent city.

Room Tip: I prefer to be upstairs as there is foot traffic most of the night - nothing sinsiter, just lively a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This B&B is in a great central location, close to all the touristy stuff yet in a peaceful area, not too much noise. The parking situation however is not the best. At. all. You have to park blocks away from the B&B because there are only 2hr parking spaces in front of the the room. So unloading and loading the car was a bit of a challenge because we held up traffic while parked nearly in the middle of the street when unloading the car. Other than that, we were fine because we didnt need the cars since everything was within walking distance. The inn-keepers were very sweet and brought us croissants in the morning which were very delicious. There was fresh orange juice, milk, fruit, teas, and cereals available to us as well in the kitchen. Six of us stayed in the St. Ann room, we all fit comfortably, it is very spacious. My complaint about this place is that it wasnt very clean. The hardwood floors were very dirty, the futon mattress was dirty and smelled musty and the cushions looked dirty as well. Dinette looked very worn and the chair cushions were falling apart. The place itself has its old Louisiana charm to it, it is very old and still a very nice place however I think the esthetics of it can be a bit improved. The place is over 200 years old, the furniture doesn't have to be. Also, the TV in the living-room needs to be upgraded to a bigger TV, you have to sit up close to watch it because its so small. The plus side, they have cable and Wi-Fi! They provide a linen closet full of extra sheets, blankets, and pillows which was great! We slept very well in the room. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it with just that warning of its room for improvement. If youre looking for a hotel-like stay, this is not it. But if youre looking for that French Quarter living experience, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Four of us stayed in Saint Louis apartment and the place could even fit more, at least one person or a couple (we were two couples staying there so one bed was empty). Brian and Charlotte both welcomed us as soon as we got there, showed us around. We were pleasantly surprised how spacious it is and everything looked much better than online. Towels, cereals, milk, coffee and juice were definitely a plus as well as the croissants every morning. Location is excellent, just few blocks away from everything that's going on in the French Quarter, we didn't have to use the cab not once because you can walk wherever. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to New Orleans!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My three friends and I stayed in the St. Louis room this past weekend (8/2/13-8/5/13) and I have to say, the experience was amazing! You can't beat the price for the location (just blocks from Bourbon St!), plus you get a fully-functional kitchen and delicious croissants delivered every morning. I would HIGHLY recommend this for anyone traveling to NOLA in the near future!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the Toulouse #3 apartment and found it changed the entire NOLA experience for us. It felt as if we actually were living in the Quarter. The owners were perfectly lovely and helpful and even brought breakfast pastries each morning. The Toulouse apartment is cozy, but you must be able to negotiate the steps to get into it. I would not receommend it for those with small children or those with mobility issues. In addition, you need to understand that you will need to take out your own trash, bring your used towels to exchange and be responsible for the maintainence of the apartment. We used the vaccum in the closet and spruced up as we went so that our surroundings were always pleasent. Frankly, I dislike people waiting on me and enjoyed being able to do for myself. If you are a responsible traveller with a spirit of adventure, you will truly enjoy your stay in the Gentry House

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at The Gentry House July 5 - July 10 2013. It was perfect location. We stayed in the largest of the rooms - The St. Ann - It was roomy and the temperature of the rooms was excellent. The croissants each morning was lovely. My only complaint is the beds were not very comfortable. The queen bed was very hard and my back started to act up. The futon mattress was typical futon - thin. The 3 twin beds were much better and I ended up sleeping in there. Would I stay at Gentry House again - absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GentryHouse, Owner at Gentry House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We really enjoyed having them as guests, and the opportunity to share with them our enthusiasm for New Orleans ... even in July. We sure wish that one mattress would do for all ... we chose "hard" because that's what most seem to find most comfortable (at least judging from the comments we get), and because it's what we use ourselves: Brian has a history of back problems. We're looking forward to their next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gentry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.