We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Guest House B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elysian Guest House B&B
Save
You added Elysian Guest House B&B to your Saves list
1008 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay when you visit New Orleans to be close to all the action. It was within walking distance of the Quarter and downtown. We didn't need our car during the entire trip! The rooms were large (suites) and comfortable with a TV, refrigerator and coffee maker. There was no pool but the hot tub and outdoor patio provided a bit of relaxation after a long day. We were able to walk to many restaurants and the French Market as well as the French Quarter. The staff was very charming and helpful. All of our questions were answered and they recommended some fun places to visit and eat. We even enjoyed some time visiting with them and talking about the history of New Orleans. If you visit there, I suggest you find some time to go on a swamp tour ... what fun! Staying here was so much more homier than staying at a hotel. The next time we go to New Orleans we will be sure to book a room at the Elysian Guest House. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family and I made a point of reserving two rooms three weeks in advance of our trip to New Orleans. We had read wonderful things online about this place, and were looking forward to its touted charm and atmosphere.

First, I had to make a minor change to the reservation. It took three unanswered emails, an unacknowledged phone call, and a total of a week and a half for the change to be made. I was notified of the change by a one-line email, which also demanded I state the exact hour we intended to arrive.

Then, within a week of our trip, whoever works the phones at this place got drunk early on a weeknight and rang my father two timezones away to slur an apology for double-booking our accommodation and let us know we'd be staying somewhere else.

They didn't even wish us luck finding another accommodation for four on short notice in one of the most popular tourist destinations in the United States.

I will not be dealing with these people again. They have almost certainly ruined this trip. Their lack of professionalism is appalling, and they are a disservice to their B&B association.

Find your New Orleans flavor elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked the entire house for a group of people over a long weekend in NOLA - entirely based on previous reviews. Our experience was AWFUL - and we couldn't relate to any of the previous reviews after our stay. It was absolutely filthy. Would NEVER stay here again.

PRE-STAY:
A friend who was in town called to see if she could stop by and see the house- she did not get any responses. Phone calls with David were incoherent - he could not hold a conversation or answer basic questions. We at various times thought that our reservation was lost. Took multiple phone calls to coordinate payments.

STAY:
Upon arrival, the house was filthy. Dirty cups, plates, and cigarette butts were all over the house. The living room couch was filled with dog hair, and the mattress on the pull out couch in the front room was completely sunken - we had to put an air mattress on top of it in order to use it.

Stains all over the furniture, and hair on the bathroom floor. The floors left our feet black with dirt. There was so much dust in the house that no matter what surface you touched you got to take some with you.

Additionally, Jeff and David were always walking around the property - making it feel significantly less private. They also had dogs in the office on the property - right off one of the bedrooms. It felt like they lived here - very likely that one of them did. They had no clear sense of reservations - at one point asking when we were leaving because they thought another group would be arriving.

Location was decent - but the area immediately surrounding the house felt unsafe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I wouldn't call Elysian Guesthouse a B&B, since there is no breakfast. What you get for your money, is a lovely room with plenty of space in an authentic NOLA house. The room was lovely with a small walkway, containing a fridge, leading to the separate bathroom and a lovely room with a beautiful antique bed, a couch, TV and a desk.
Outside there a several small corners with garden furniture, where you can relax and enjoy the weather. There is even a open air hot tub, which you can use free of charge (but remember, this is swamp country, the mosquitoes will bite!)
The area feels safe, although I probably wouldn't walk home alone as a single woman, just because there is not too many people on the street. There is a supermarket just around the corner and Frenchman Street is just a short walk away with its abundance of bars and restaurants.
The owner is really nice and helpful, he will give you good hints to where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had an amazing stay here. David, the owner, is an amazing person to work with. He was more than accommodating. We never had a lack of communication and he was always quick to respond. As far as the house, it was amazing. We rented the whole house. All the rooms were great in size. It is not a B&B!!! A few of the beds could use a little updating, but other than that....just awesome. The hot tub/patio area is awesome and quaint. As far as the area, it's in walking distance to pretty much everywhere. Just don't go passed the Walgreens! I highly recommend this place for any occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We rented the River Suite, Porch Suite and Avenue Studio for a party of 10 people. First off, they were very accomodating with respect to adjusting the schedule of renting the units (several of my guests were coming in at different days). David, one of the property managers, was very prompt with his emails and always was very receptive to our needs.

The Elysian Guest House as stated earlier is not a B&B. You have the option of opening doors between the two suites which make a nice big room with space to sleep 8. The house itself is an old, charming house with updated bathrooms, a jacuzzi, porch swing and barbecue grill (which unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use). The location is just about 3-4 blocks outside of the French Quarter, very, very walkable to Burboun Street. You're literally a five-minute walk to fantastic restaurants on Frenchman.

The Porch Suite has (in my opinion) the prettiest bathroom with wonderful natural light. This suite is the one with the nice relaxing porch swing and wind chimes (which they offer to tie up if you find it annoying. I didn't!) The bedroom has a brand new queen sized bed, and the living room has a fold-out futon couch, which felt like a double (not sure what it was advertised as). There's a piano in the living room which was mildy out of tune. Given that we had a couple of musicians in our group, it was made use of.

The River Suite was right off of Elysian Fields Avenue. We used the living room in this suite as our sitting area for the group, as it was the the largest room that could accomodate most of us. It had three comfy arm chairs and a pullout sofa. The bedroom was fine. The only problem was the bathroom sink was a little slow to drain.

The Avenue Studio had a king sized bed and a little kitchenette area that I think I would have used more had we stayed for longer. I initally had problems with the toilet when I first arrived and notified David as soon as I got there. He addressed the problem and I did not have a problem with it since.

The grounds were quiet, even though there were supposedly another group in the other suite (we didn't hear a peep from them). The hot tub was cleaned & the water was newly added & treated several days before we arrived. Unfortunately, we didn't get to use the tub. The only real problem we had was we had difficulties accessing the internet, even if they left a internet key for us. Nonetheless, we spent most of our time exploring New Orleans rather than on the internet.

We had a fanatstic experience here, and would definitely be reccomending this hotel to others!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1,797 helpful votes 1,797 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We had a pleasant stay at the Elysian Guest House. The hot tub is large and nice. We rented the Porch Suite and found the room to be quite spacious, clean, and had all of the basics well covered -- it was nice to have a separate living room and small fridge.

The location is a 10-15 minute walk from the French Quarter, but we found the neighborhood to be clean/safe or just a $5 cab ride if you don't want to walk late at night. When we didn't want to walk to the FQ, we found plenty of local bars & restaurants ranging from right next door to just 3-5 minutes away (and even a Walgreens a block away which has the basics to stock your room -- as far as restaurants within 5-minutes walk, we loved La Panache for breakfast, Port of Call for amazing Burgers & Bloody Mary's, and Buffa's for great bar food 24-hours).

It should be clearly noted that this is NOT a B&B and NOT a hotel - this is like renting an apartment from a friend. At first we were a little surprised that there were NO services available and we had to call to make a request to get clean towels & sheets on the 4th day (Ted was accomodating and is a very nice guy, he is always easy to reach by phone and he even met us at Midnight for a late check-in). We were a little disappointed that the air conditoner was a outdated and a bit noisy, but that is the only thing that was even a minor problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysian Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Guest House B&B

Address: 1008 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Guest House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.