We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of French Market Restaurant

French Market Restaurant
1001 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-525-7879
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #328 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Twelve years before Andrew Jackson won the Battle of New Orleans, The French Market Restaurant & Bar began serving outstanding seafood and ice-cold drinks to visitors and natives alike. Today the ambience remains the same. Hot spicy crawfish, jumbo gulf shrimp, authentic Creole gumbo, red beans and rice as well as real Louisiana specialties are enjoyed with world-famous hurricanes, Cajun bloody Mary's, margaritas and our ice-cold local beers. Join the Marullo Family and Chef David Picou in savoring our grand traditions!
Kutztown
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Overpriced. Food was not that great. Service was even worse.
Outdoor/Balcony seating in a great location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    176
    71
    38
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Voux Carre Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited this dining place while on vacation in New Orleans. It's actually closer to Jackson Square. Has a balcony view which allowed us to hear the live Jazz from the French Market. The food was traditional New Orleans Delecious. The atmosphere simply perfect to experience the square. Service was great and we enjoyed the ambience. I would recommend dining here if you have the opportunity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If the crawfish boiling in the front window doesn't get you in, then I don't know what will! The service was great...fast and friendly. The food was even better! Shrimp poboy was excellent and the fries taste homemade. Not the cheapest around, but worth an extra dollar or so. TRY IT!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Music. But very busy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location. Hence why it was busy. Food price was reasonable and the service was excellent. Best part was the live music. Would go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much food! Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The smell of the boiling crawfish grabbed us by the nose! We had an early dinner and the food was absolutely wonderful. Every plate that walked past us looked like it could feed three people each. Although stuffed to the gills after eating, we were thankful we had leftovers for later. I swear it was even better!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to French Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.