We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for conventions,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #62 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great hotel for conventions,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

parking is $34 per night with tax....very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    198
    60
    25
    15
See reviews for
68
94
31
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ms
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

very clean comfy rooms, nice staff. Located around the heart of the french quarter and great restaurants . Would stay again. Warning parking is around $30. There are plenty other garages around the hotel , we parked on Fulton st. and paid $20. They have other options if you don't mind walking a little.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I chose this hotel based on the online reviews as well as their Better Business Bureau rating. I found little to no complaints. I booked through my travel club, Resorts Plus International, and received a wholesale rate to help seal the deal. Will be back again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The location is great. Jacuzzi and gym aok. Terrific location if going to the convention center. Starbucks right off the lobby. Subway down the street. Corner store with everything a block a way. But where is the maid service? It's 445pm and my room is still not cleaned. The pool is smaller than even a lap pool. And it is not heated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly area, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you're going to New Orleans for an event at the convention center you can't get any closer - it's right across the street.. If you plan to spend most of your time in the French Quarter or other part of the city - you might want to stay somewhere else. Walking at a constant fast pace from the hotel to Canal Street (the edge of the French Qtr) will take you no less than 10 mins and soak your shirt with persperation if you're there in the summer. To walk to the fun on Bourbon street will take another 10 mins at that pace. As you walk you'll pass several large decent hotels much closer to the Quarter. Harrah's is about 5 to 7 minutes on foot.
The hotel itself is ok/good - Check in and check out were smooth - bed was comfortable - room was clean - bathroom was clean and well stocked - elevators were fairly fast and all of them were working - the pool is very small and on the third floor on an outdoor deck/roof - the hot tub was not functioning and was next to the pool. The hotel has 1 washer and 1 dryer for laundry for the entire hotel. The laundry room is on the 3rd floor - by pure luck my room was 3 doors away from it! The machines are free but are almost always in use. The hotel service for laundry (out and back in same day) is outrageously steep - a regular load of laundry would cost close to $50 this way.
The service staff at the front desk were friendly but not very knowledgeable however. I would think the conceirge would know if the casino had a steak restaurant or if there are boat rides offered on the nearby river or how long it would take to get to Magazine St by cab - even a rough guess would have been ok. I requested a newspaper to be delivered to my room each morning - it never happened. I had to make 2 or 3 calls each evening before the phone was answered to get a wakeup call. Marriott points were never credited to my account even though I was assured at checkout that they would be.
These were minor inconveniences I could live with and I would stay here again for a convention just knowing what to look out for. The pluses outweighed the minuses.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

As a regular visitor to New Orleans for quick getaways and family adventures, we decided to stay outside the French Quarter for this overnight trip. I settled on the Convention Center area, and booked this hotel. There were some nice things about it..... friendly & competent staff, large room, and I never heard another person when I was in the room. But there were some significant issues as well. The most problematic was the fact that the room never cooled appropriately. When we arrived, the thermostat was on 72, but it was several degrees warmer in the room and the A/C was steadily blowing trying to cool it down. Even after setting the thermostat at the lowest possible setting of 60 degrees and leaving it there for the entire duration of our stay, it only cooled off to around 70 early the next morning. The lobby & common areas were a delightfully cool temperature, but our room never got close to the same. It was 97-100 degrees outside during our stay, and a cool room was an expectation that was not met. In addition, two of the four elevators for the large & busy hotel were out of service when we checked in, so moving up & down from our eighth floor room involved long waits. We went down the stairs several times. With a convention of 50,000+ going on directly across the street, it was a serious problem. The pool was surprisingly small. The poolside whirlpool was out of service. We were only provided three towels, even though we were in a room with two beds. The parking is ridiculously expensive, even more than in the French Quarter, which I didn't know was possible. Valet (the only option for parking at the hotel itself) was $31, and self-parking in the large lot a block away was $32! Finally, there was no wi-fi available anywhere that I found, and the wired rates were bordering on insane. Wired internet would not have helped, as we only needed wireless for our iPhones, but I would have never considered paying the outrageous amounts for wired access even if it had been a possibility. I do not understand why every McDonald's and Holiday Inn, along with all the other similar businesses, can provide their customers with free wireless internet access, but upscale hotels still insist on raping their customers with such charges. Overall, the stay met the basic requirements, but it was far from exceeding expectations. If you are attending a convention across the street, it would be a perfectly fine choice. But it is a long walk to the French Quarter or Canal Street, and a bit of a hike to St. Charles Avenue to catch the streetcar out to the Garden District.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

If you are going to relax in the pool or spa this is not the place for you the spa was out of order and the pool is VERY SMALL. The towels were really hard and of low quality. Location is right across from the convention center so it is excellent for going to seminars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.