We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel....Parking stinks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Hotel....Parking stinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is really a great hotel. Very clean, private and close to shopping and dining. Close enough to the French Quarter without being too close. Right across from the Riverwalk which is great and down the street from Mardi Gras World. The Convention Center is practically at the front entrance. The only drawbacks are: there is no parking and valet is 100% with a hefty $39 a night price and the pool area is pretty small. Other than that....great hotel!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Check in as early as possible to get great rooms. But it appears all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear EpitomeofXelence,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased that you adored our great location by the luxury outlets at Riverwalk and the Convention Center. We agree about being perfectly convenient to the French Quarter- our guests can easily access Bourbon Street, but are not affected by the noise that can disturb guests staying in hotels directly on the street. Thank you also for your feedback about our parking rate, which is similar to other hotels in this high demand area. Please accept our apologies if you were not informed about the self-park options in the neighborhood, which have lower rates than valet though they are not as convenient. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next visit to the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    178
    52
    24
    11
See reviews for
62
80
30
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've been to New Orleans many times and there is so much to see and do. This hotel is in a great location. Shops right across the street and many great restaurants within walking distance. The room was ok. Carpet seemed dirty and the room service menu had actually been filled out by a previous guest. No coffee maker in room but there is a Starbucks in the lobby. No parking so you have to use their valet which is $40 a night. When we valeted our car we were given a receipt with a number and told to call down before going down to check out so they could have the car ready. When i called i was told they couldn't do that, i would have to come down and wait. The lady at checkout was a little rude. Athough it wasn't the cleanest hotel I have stayed in, it was still a nice stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Stacey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our amazing location in New Orleans' Warehouse District, which is right next to the French Quarter and recognized as one of New Orleans' trendiest areas. Our guests can easily shop, take a tour, see a live show at the famous Howlin' Wolf and dine in New Orleans' best restaurants while attending their conference or just relaxing during a leisure trip. We deeply appreciate your candid feedback as it helps us continuously perfect the guest experience. Please accept our apologies, as it appears that it was not properly communicated to you that there are nearby parking lots with lower rates than our valet, nor were you shown where our coffee makers are located in the room. We also apologize that your room was not meticulously prepared and if our front desk agent did not deliver the exceptional, friendly service typical of our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to make this up to you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been to New Orleans many times and have stayed at hotels and bed and breakfast. The experiences are very different from hotel to B and B. If your doing a hotel this one is directly across from a great outlet mall and within easy walking to French quarter and canal street. Staff was so great . Really safe area.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with better views we stayed in one that viewed the street it wasn't bad but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear jjfnm,

Thanks for your feedback! It's wonderful to hear that you received amazing service from our staff- they truly do host brilliantly and genuinely want to make sure our guests have the best possible experience in New Orleans. We're very pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location. We're extremely convenient to the Convention Center and French Quarter, as well as the vibrant Warehouse District where many of New Orleans' best restaurants are located. It's great that you mentioned the new Riverwalk luxury outlets- our guests can now enjoy amazing shopping stores like Neiman Marcus Last Call, Coach, and dozens more within a block of their hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were in town for a convention. The convention had linked up with the Hilton but we chose the Marriott. Good thing we did. The Marriott is directly across the street from the convention center and the Hilton is approximately 3/10 of a mile walk. The hotel is near Riverwalk Shopping and not a bad walk or short cab ride to the French Quarter.

The hotel has full amenities from a Starbucks in the lobby, full bar and restaurant, work out facilities and a small pool.

The best feature of the hotel was the concierge, Rhoda Martinez. Rhoda made our trip to New Orleans all that is could be. Recommendations on attractions and the best dining you could ask for in the city. See Rhoda so you can enjoy the best of New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Joe_Blanchek, General Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Jim,

We are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us during your convention! We couldn't agree with you more about our superb location- we're within steps of some of the best dining in this foodie city as well as the Convention Center, the French Quarter, and the luxury outlets at Riverwalk. We hope you had the chance to try Root or Peche, which are some of our favorite and nationally recognized Warehouse District restaurants. Rhoda is truly a gem and embodies the knowledgeable, friendly service that our hosts provide. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our on-property amenities such as our Starbucks and fitness center. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Joe Blanchek
General Manager
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I decided to ask the Concierge for a suggestion for lunch and got much more than I expected. Rhoda, the Concierge Extraordinaire, was far more than an individual with advice but instead she was a passionate advisor who wanted to me to share her love and enthusiasm for what New Orleans had to offer. When Rhoda spoke, her genuine care shone through. She exuded the kind of customer service that I do not see anymore.

Furthermore, Rhoda hit a "home run" with all of her advice for where to go to get good food and hear good music.

Go to the Marriott and ask for Rhoda, she will, certainly, take care of you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear AliRod,

Thanks for sharing about your recent stay! It's delightful to hear that Rhoda was such a help to you. She is a passionate concierge who genuinely loves to share our city with our guests and we are glad that she guided you to a wonderful New Orleans experience. Whether guests are looking for a great hole-in-the-wall coffee shop or a night dancing to live brass bands, Rhoda's advice is spot on. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Location in downtown area makes walking everywhere possible. Emeril's is around the block and Mother's and Cafe du Monde are both in walking distance. The Riverside Outlet Mall is just across the street as is the Cruise ship terminal. We did not even use our car! They charged $35/day for parking, but you could choose to park in nearby less expensive cruise ship lots for $10-12/day, though you would pay every time you come and go. Water available in lobby, though no fruit as other Marrriotts provide. They set up a small fridge free of charge upon request. Great beds as Marriott has a reputation for. No fan in bath. This was our third visit to NOLA. Last time we visited, we paid about the same total cost at the Best Western in the Garden District (with a military discount rate) including a full breakfast and free parking as our rate at the Marriott on Name Your Price with Priceline but we paid for our own parking this time and breakfast at Mother's ($5/pp) bringing the total about the same, both in desirable locations. I'd highly recommend either hotel.

Room Tip: We had no noise during the night on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Karen,

We loved reading your feedback about your recent stay! Thanks for all of the helpful tips to our future guests. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, as well as the many famous tourist destinations like Cafe Du Monde within walking distance. Our hotel's convenient location makes it easy to get around without a car, but we're glad you mentioned our many parking options like valet and nearby parking garages. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorocaba, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This us an Amazing Hotel 5 min. near French Quarter...it's absolutely perfect. For persons that like something "like luxury & cool"... The neighborhood is the best place to stay in New Orleans for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Luiz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted that you found our hotel amazing and the location so convenient. We look forward to welcoming you to another "luxury & cool" experience during your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.