We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost too Fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Almost too Fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while at a conference - excellent location to the Convention center. Only a short walk to the French Quarter. Very nice, but almost too fancy. There was no coffee maker in the room (probably because there was a Starbucks downstairs) nor was there an ice bucket. I probably would pick a different place next time I visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Njoytravl,

I'm glad you liked the location of our hotel and that it was convenient for your travels to New Orleans. I'm sorry to hear that your room didn't have a coffee maker and ice bucket. These amenities are standard in all of our guestrooms. They are located in the cabinet just under the TV.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    178
    52
    24
    11
See reviews for
62
79
30
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I wanted to stay somewhere convenient to the Port of New Orleans. I chose New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center because of my affinity points, the location (walkable to the French Quarter, casino, and shopping). The property is located directly across the street from the Convention Center. Because we were checking in very late and using points when WrestleMania and two other conferences were at the convention center, I fully expected to be on a lower floor near the elevator and/or ice machine. Imagine my surprise when we received a top floor suite. From our suite, we could see the ships docked at the Port. While we didn't eat at the restaurant, it was bright and nicely appointed. A Starbucks is located off the hotel lobby. The hotel's bar is well laid out and its servers are excellent with many helpful hints for negotiating New Orleans, including the best restaurants for charbroiled oysters, the most efficient and cost effective for getting around the city. The bed was very, very comfortable. Our location was very quiet. One negative is that there is only a very small area next to the reception desk to pick up incidentals. There is a very overpriced store about a block from the property if you really need something. Check out was very quick even though there were a number of people waiting. We wanted to give a special thank you to Brittany Clark at the front desk for her wonderful service and professionalism. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are planning a trip back to New Orleans so we can spend more time at this lovely property.

Room Tip: Generally higher floor facing Convention Center Boulevard, but ask the front desk (nicely) for their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Joya,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed wonderful service during your stay, particularly from Brittany as well as your knowledgeable servers. We hope you had an excellent time on your cruise and we hope to see you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel definitely knows how to support a small business group. We organized a short 2-day meeting for some overseas visitors and the hotel did everything right. The service was superb and the convenience and ease was exactly what we needed.

It's located in the Warehouse district, which is undergoing a renaissance and becoming a neat art and restaurant area with safe walking around, albeit with construction going on in several places. So the hotel was much more peaceful than the other Marriott's nearer Canal street and the French Quarter.

Couple of observations for those thinking about staying here. First, if you are attending any event at the convention center, you can't get any closer. If your main focus is the French Quarter, it's an ok walk, but other hotels may be more convenient. There is no guest parking, just valet, so keeping a vehicle here is $34 per day - similar or a little higher than other options around.

For business folks, the people in the lounge are very helpful, but the lounge is a little smaller compared to other key Marriott's. But does have an outside patio which is nice.

In the end, Rhoda and Sandra are super at the Concierge desk and Jerrica knows exactly how to organize your meetings.

Room Tip: The higher floors facing south have great views of the CBD buildings. The nearby Malate Restaurant i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Corky,

It was a pleasure to read your feedback about your meeting and stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention. We're thrilled that you were beyond satisfied with entire meeting experience and particularly mentioned Jerrica's excellent service. We are also happy that you enjoyed helpful service from the concierge. Thank you very much for your feedback and it would be our pleasure to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I had not visited New Orleans before and really did not know what to expect. Arrived in a deluge (late February) and watched pre Mardi Gras parades getting absolutely soaked. Cab rides from the airport are regulated by price ($32 or so), but drivers appreciate a tip. Spent a week and was less than impressed with te check in area. Don't judge a book by it's cover. Re-purposed building, I think it was a molassas storage or processing operation. Nice rooms, very cool verandas and patios. Very nice meeting areas and an interesting bar/bistro that opens at 5:00 pm evenings and 6:00 am mornings. Bummer if you get thirsty at 4:00 pm. Good location if you want to walk to Harrahs Casino (about 15 minutes) or the French Quarter (30 minute walk). Close to good eats (Emerils is around the corner 2 blocks) safe and accessible. Check out the WWII Museum, if you are a history student, this is one of the best. Note...wireless connection only. If you are old scholl like me, no go. If I go back, I will stay here. My company booked a second meeting here based on first experience. Bon Chance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor for a patio..higher up for a small veranda. I had the patio and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your kind words about the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the patio areas, as well as the meeting space. We're glad you noticed our historic features: our hotel was once a cotton mill close by the Mississippi River. It's also great to know you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to hosting you and your company again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great location especially if you're going to the convention center which is right across the street. Nice full service hotel. Great restaurant with good food. Full service bar. Rooms are nice and beds very comfortable. Good AC and is quiet. The computers in the business center were not working so the front desk allowed me to use their computers to print boarding pass.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We're glad you found it a wonderfully situated hotel near the Convention Center. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and the restaurant. Please accept our deepest apologies about any inconvenience you encountered while printing your boarding pass and we are very pleased that the front desk was able to assist you in successfully printing it. It would be our pleasure to serve you again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha Nebraska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was a lovely hotel that is directly across the street from the convention center. It is an easy walk to the casino, Bourbon street, and the French Quarter. The staff is incredibly helpful. First. the bellhops greeted us at the door and helped with the luggage. IF I was waiting at the counter, they asked if there was anything they could do to help. They were friendly with a bottle of water or a welcome back. The front desk staff was also very kind and answered any questions. The rooms were average in size with very comfortable beds and a nice desk/work area. I usually requested to not have my room cleaned but when I saw the maids in the hall they asked if I would like towels, shampoo etc. Always so nice. I used the workout room. It was rather small with three treadmills, two ellipticals and free weights. They had water and towels available. I never had to wait for a machine. The outdoor "pool" was very small in size. My family would have not even considered it a pool. My only concern was the business center. They were in the process of remodeling it so there were no computers or printers available. The computer they had in the lobby was out of order. The staff at the desk was very kind in letting me use their computer and printer but it was a bit awkward. Overall it was a great stay with a comfortable room in a super location. There is a Starbucks on the property and a convenience store on the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear raska,

Thank you for your kind words about the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed our prime location near the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, and Harrah's Casino, as well as the Convention Center located across the street. We are even more pleased to know that you found our staff incredibly helpful, thoughtful and accommodating. We apologize for any inconvenience with the business center during your stay and we hope for the opportunity to make that right should you stay with us again. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a one night stay and found this hotel very accommodating. The rooms were clean and the bedding plush. The staff was extremely courteous: bell desk, registration, concierge, restaurant and lounge servers. The restaurant had a great menu and the food was excellent. That was a plus for us as we were visiting the city on the weekend of a very large event and lines were long most eating establishments. I highly recommend this hotel for a business trip or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Tammy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We're thrilled to hear about your lovely stay. It's great that you enjoyed the restaurant, the clean rooms, and the excellent hosts. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.