We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Conventions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Save Saved
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #43 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Owatonna, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location for Conventions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently stayed at this Marriott for a Convention across the street at the NO Convention Center. Awesome location for anything going on at that convention center. Room was nice, quiet and clean. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I will definitely look to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    170
    46
    22
    10
See reviews for
61
75
29
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bighorn river montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were taking a carnival cruise and stayed at the Marriott. It was a great hotel within easy walking distance to all the local atrractions. The best part is that it was so convenient to the cruise ship terminal. The rooms were gorgeous and the staff very nice. Would stay here again on a trip to New Orleans. Much quieter than staying on Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was definitely a convention hotel. It was clean and the staff was great. Our bathroom was a little worn around the edges, but still tidy and clean every day. We only had to walk a couple of blocks to be in the French Quarter. Nearby the hotel were an abundance of fast food places (if you are on a budget) and the Ritz Carleton with a fabulous outside area for breakfast and lunch (if you aren't)! It was easy to catch public transport to the Garden District and the zoo. If you can get convention rates, it's a good choice.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevators and it was REALLY noisy. Make sure you ask for a room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We paid 109 for one night but they do charge for parking about 32 bucks but better than public parking. Restaurant and bar available, very nice but a little pricy for food but it seemed New Orleans was really more expensive for food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

a really big hotel but the check in was really efficent. New elevators programed so that you rarely had to wait. Newly renovated rooms and an extremely comfortable bed. Perfect location for dipping into the quarter or simply avoiding it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maennedorf
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stopped here for 2 nights. Location is OK, but neighborhood is not spectacular. It's within walking distance to the wild French Quarter and even wilder Casino, as well as the Riverwalk.
Staff is friendly and helpful, Concierges are exceptionally friendly and efficient. Maintenance needs more management control (a problem Marriott has worldwide): Toilet seat was flipping around, the shower sprinkled water everywhere except where it should be. The charge for the WiFi Internet is onerous and outrageous (again a problem we have complained to Messrs Marriott for the past 10 years without success). This seems to be a generation problem with Marriott. We do not see why any guest should pay for wireless internet (yes we have arrived in the 21st century).
Restaurant : Service and food quality are good, prices are on the high side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I booked three rooms here for a family of eight, for the one night we were in town prior to leaving on a cruise from the New Orleans port. I booked the hotel based on it being across the street from the port, it having a concierge level for Marriott Gold members and because it had a pool for the kids traveling with us.

The pros:
1) The staff is by far the hotels most significant asset. I am often frustrated by the dismissive attitude in service oriented businesses. But at this Marriott, every staff person we encountered was customer oriented, positive and pleasant. In addition to their "what can we do to assist" attitude, each staff person appeared to have been empowered with the ability to resolve an issue without having to locate a manager. They were kind and attentive to the two children in our group and responsive and service oriented to the adults.
2) The lobby was busy but there was no wait for check in. The front desk was appropriately staffed and check in was not only efficient but the staff person (Sean) was extremely pleasant. I was disappointed to learn the concierge lounge was closed on the weekend, as I had thought I had verified the hours at the time of booking (which was several months earlier). Sean provided breakfast vouchers for us in lieu of there being no lounge available, which satisfied everyone in the group.
3) We couldn't locate a bell person to assist with our luggage (a lot of luggage for a group of 8) and when I saw a manager in the lobby and requested assistance in locating the bell staff, who were obviously busy with other guests, the manager, without hesitation, interrupted what he was doing, took the luggage cart and accompanied us to our rooms himself. Impressive.
4) The staff in the restaurant were incredible. The chefs preparing "made to order" egg dishes and pancakes were entertaining and engaging and the wait staff were very attentive. Outstanding.
5) You never are left waiting. Even when I was waiting for the return of a staff member who was checking on something for me, another staff person would suddenly appear and be concerned as to whether my needs were being met, as I appeared to be unattended.
6) Rooms were clean, had the usual Marriott comfortable bedding, were quiet and sound proof and well appointed.
7) Late check out was provided for Gold status members.
8) Despite the hotel being busy, the elevators to the higher floors were quick.

The Cons:
1) We received unrequested "wake up" phone calls at exactly 4:59 a.m.
2) We watched a movie in our room, which on the plus side was a film still in theaters, put on the down side, appeared grainy and fuzzy on the TV. On the plus side, when I went to talk to the front desk the next morning about the movie and the wake up calls, they removed the movie charge and were appropriately sympathetic about the inconvenience of the unwanted phone calls.
3) The pool is really small and was not heated. It was freezing and not suitable for swimming.

Overall, great location, lovely hotel, nice restaurant and exceptional staff. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.