We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF made the stay great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #63 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“STAFF made the stay great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The property is a typical Marriott convention center type property. Rooms were neat and clean, property was beautifully decorated, etc. Walk out the front door, right into the convention center, VERY CONVENIENT!

The ONE thing that made the stay was the staff. Bellmen, valet, desk, restaurant even housekeeping.... all were TOP NOTCH! Smiling faces, no "attitudes", always made me feel like I was the only guest at the hotel. Mike and Jeff from the bell staff were the stand out employees over our 10 day stay. They were always right on top of our requests, remembered names, had the car pulled around as soon as they saw us, etc. ALL of the front of house were good, I just happen to remember these guys names.

Breakfast was typically overpriced for this type of property, around $20 for a breakfast buffet, but the food was good. The cooks that made cook to order items were very nice.

RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    209
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
74
100
31
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in town for EMS World Expo and stayed here for a week. The goods: large room, nice bathroom, nice towels. The bads: room was not cleaned until almost 6:00 p.m. some days, bathtub drain made gurgling sounds after a shower for about five minutes, even though all the water was gone, and the bathroom sink didn't drain too fast.

Had a little fridge in my room that lit up and that was nice. Stocked it with my own beverages and it was left alone all week (yay for cold water!)

Room faced the west and the A/C could not keep up in the afternoons, unless the curtains were closed. I'd close the curtains, leave and the maid would open them back up again. Sigh.

A good stay and am coming back later this week for another week for a different conference.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor and don't face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in town for the AAP conference and chose this hotel based on the location. It was great to be so close to the conference, and under a mile to walk to the French Quarter and other attractions. Hotel was expensive per night, but I assume fair based on other rates. Concierge was amazing and so helpful. Front desk was hit or miss, bellmen were amazing and awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

NOLA was booked for the Madonna concert and I scored these reservations at the very last minute. Everyone was extremely helpful from the valet to the desk clerk. Room was clean and perfect. Location was great. Overall A++

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I hadn't been to New Orleans in 6 years so I wanted to get ideas for restaurants and activities. I don't always use a concierge as I do a lot of my own research. However, Rhoda was fantastic with all of her suggestions and made the trip even more pleasurable. I'm a foodie so I can say without reservation that her recomendations for dinner were excellent. Be sure to try Annunciation restaurant and Richard the host will make sure you have a great meal. We also really enjoyed the Chop House New Orleans(not part of the Chop House chain) and Domenica. We can't wait to return next year for more fun and we also really liked the hotel. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked a room for a 1-week-long convention and assumed that usual prestations would come, that you expect for this price range and the name of the hotel. The staff was awesome, I have to say. friendly, helpful, I had great interactions.
By everything else, I was disappointed. The bar felt like the one of a Club Quarter (a few bottles, no authenticity, to tap). Fresh fruits for the breakfast buffet were everything but fresh and tasted really bad. The "swimming pool" is a 10x6 feets swim hole against a high wall, no city sight, the deck is not even pleasant, no body hangs out there. No mini-bar or fridge in the room ; the electrical sockets are old and would come undone from the wall when I would unplug my appliances ; the starbuck coffee (only business around) in the hall would close at 2 pm on week-ends and ridiculously early on evenings, and otherwise be crowded from the convention center folks, it was barely accessible. The neighborhood is horrible. Granted, it's conveniently located accross the street from the convention centre but there is no restaurant or bar a mile around. I visited the Hilton Riverside that, for almost the same price, has a wonderful lobby with shops, restaurants, bars, a nice pool deck and fridge in room.... A much better value and a place where you're not embarrassed to invite coworkers or firends over. This Marriot is not worth the $250/night they charged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Marriott by the Convention Center in New Orleans is just across the street from the Center. Staff was very helpful, rooms spacious and clean and location was very convenient to walk to restaurants, Bourbon Street, shopping and trolley stops. Price was reasonable and breakfast and free Internet was included. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.