We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #46 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here during Essence festival. The hotel is nice and very comfortable. It was quiet after all the hubbug on the streets. The restaurant inside was nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    161
    45
    22
    10
See reviews for
57
71
29
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Across street from convention hall. Walk to Ruverwalk shopping mall and other restaurants. No wifi in rooms. Computers on Floor 2 in business center. Starbucks in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh and all over
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great staff, super friendly and very helpful. The street is brightly lit and very busy so always felt safe outside the hotel. The Riverwalk is right across the street, the casino is down a few blocks, and the convention center is right across the street. Its a Marriott so you know what you will get, a nice room with a wonderful bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We attended a conference at the convention center and this hotel was nicely situated to the event. However, with your stay you do NOT receive free Internet or a continental breakfast (which for the price, I feel we should have). Beds are comfy and showers are nice. When I return to NOLA, I will be finding a different place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and we could hear traffic very easily. Light sleepers should stay on the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a nice, clean hotel located across the street from the convention center. The rooms were quite large, by New Orleans standards, and I really appreciated the higher ceilings in the bathroom as I did not have to bend over to see myself in the mirror like I did in the Marriott on Canal Street.

That being said, my family experienced problems from the moment we checked in...from rooms not being ready at 5:00 PM (we had four rooms reserved) to the front desk putting us in one room and having the computer show we were in another room...which resulted in a stranger entering our room as they were given it also. (Please note there are no room safes!) Each time I was at the front desk to discuss issues with management, I overheard many guests complaining of charges on their account they did not incur. This also happened to one of my family members who had a $70 charge for mini bar items which they never consumed. Buyer beware, check you bill twice or three times upon checkout to ensure it is correct. The incompetent front desk clerks were inexcusable, however, points go to David Johnson, Senior Manager, for making our stay "right."

Room Tip: Check your bill for accuracy upon check-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is modern and extremely clean. The services were good, and the rooms spacious. However, hotels within 2 blocks of equal or better status were more than $50 less per night. The conference rate was inflated. Would not stay here again for this reason. If booking for a conference at convention center, shop around.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I always enjoy my stay here. Close enough to festivities, but far enough away to rest. Great room service, and staff, access to the warehouse district and restaurants.

Room Tip: Valet parking can be expensive, but off-site parking is within one block of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.