We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Save Saved
You added New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #46 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before leaving on a RCCL cruise on December 17th. The location is very good, as you are only a few blocks from the French Quarter and a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk and the Cruise Terminal. They also offer a stay and park package that will save you money.

The valet parking was quick and easy, and they had you bags up to your room within minutes. The room is modern and clean. They do have an expensive restaurant downstairs along with a Starbucks. You are also within a quick walk of some very top notch New Orleans restaurants. We did try the breakfast buffet which was quite good. It is pricey, but there are hotel deals that include the breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    161
    45
    22
    10
See reviews for
57
71
28
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Hotel cleanliness and affordability are my top priorities when searching for a hotel to book during business or vacation travel. On the surface, this hotel appeared to meet both of my reuqirements, however, the costs seemed to accumulate expoentially after check in. We got the room for a nice rate of about 99.00 per night. But there is a required 31.99/night fee for mandatory valet parking. It is probably not fair for me to downgrade my review based on the valet parkingt because most of the hotels in the downtown New Orleans area probably have this same fee BUT, I can't ignore an additional 60.00 being charged just to park. HEre is a run down of my Pros and Cons

PROS:
1) Clean
2) Beautiful fluffy clean beds that were amazingly comfortable. These matresses were awesome
3) Orange Zest energy bath products from Bath and Body works - these are just unbeatable. Pluse the orange zest is my favorite scent so it was a win win
4) Big 46 inch flat screens in the rooms
5) Fabulous down town location. We were just three blocks away from Emerils. About 7-10 blocks from French Quarter (about a 30 minute walk). We walked to the French quarter during the day but we were uncomfortable making the walk at night so we chose to take a cab. Harrahs is also within walking distance
6) Clean fluffy towels
7) Friendly, hard working staff. They really know their city and they have great suggestions. SHout out to Vickie Lee from Boston who works in the bar-welcome to the south and NO MORE SNOW up to your second floor. Thanks for the exceptional service
8) No pets and no smoking
9) Starbucks in the lobby with FREE wifi


CONS:

1) This place can get expensive really quickly. $3.50 for a bottle of water, $31.99 for nightly parking, tips for the valets EVERY time they bring your car around, $14.99 daily for wifi access. The drinks were extremly expensive ($17.00 bucks for two white Russians). Restaurant prices were very high even though the food was just mediocre ($8.00 for a single bowl of gumbo) TOO MUCH.
2) The valet situation can be frustrating. You have to wait for a valet to become available to retrieve your car. Once they get your ticket, they have to go and find your car and bring it around to the front in the midst of downtown New Orleans traffic. This can be a 15-20 minute process. Not good when you are trying to make your reservation or flight. Plan ahead and be aware that this wait exists.
3) The hotel is a little older and there were some old stains in the curtains. Not a big deal, but I mention it because it just requires cleaning to resolve.
4) THe cleaning staff was a little slow. Our room did not get cleaned until almost 3pm.

Overall, my stay was very, very nice. I just want to give a word of advice to this Marriott and all other hotels that are in this price range...pay a little more attention to what your competitors are doing. In these tough economic times, even business travelers are looking for value in their hotel accomodations. Parking fees are probably unavoidable because of location, but $3.50 for a bottle of water, and $14.99/day for internet is just foolish. Especially considering that there are hotels out there that are supposed to be of lower caliber but who have rooms that are just as upscale as yours, just as clean and comfortable as yours, newer than yours, and with the same upgrades YET they offer free breakfast, free internet, free parking, and free snacks. I understand that your intention is not to compete with these type of hotels/motels and that you offer high end services like valet, room service, concierge services, but whether you like it or not, you are in competition with them and loosing. Consumers (leisure travelers and business travelers alike) are perfectly happy to forego some of these luxury services in order to keep more money in their pockets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our room was decent for the price and most of the employees we encountered were pleasant. The employees in the concierge lounge were especially nice and extremely helpful. Our mistake was dining at the hotel restaurant Wolfe's in the Warehouse. We made reservations for 5 during the Saints - Falcons Monday night football game. We requested a table that would allow us to view the game, and we were thrilled to find a table set up for us right in front of a large flat screen tv. We were the only ones in the restaurant at that time except for a gentleman sitting in a booth behind us watching the game. Kenny, our server, was polite and quickly accomodated our request to increase our table size to fit our party of 7. Everything went downhill after that. Three of us ordered the crab salad. When the salads arrived, they were loaded with dressing, and there wasn't a hint of crab meat in sight. After they picked around the salad for a while, we spoke to Kenny about the lack of crab meat on all three salads. We also had to ask him about the entrees of 2 of our party because they had yet to arrive. He returned from the kitchen to notify us that they were out of crab but didn't tell him about it. So....the kitchen got a ticket for 3 crab salads and instead of telling the waiter that they were out of crab meat, they decided to serve $15 salads without the main ingredient and hope we wouldn't notice. We were sure that a candid camera crew was going to hop out at any moment and tell us this was all a joke. That never happened. Kenny said he was trying to work with us and offered the 3 ladies sauteed shrimp instead. We asked to speak to the manager because the crabless salads were fraudulent and an insult. When the manager came over, he was the man that was sitting in the booth behind us watching the football game while his kitchen was not stocked with the proper ingredients and his cooks were unprofessional. He said the salads would be taken off our bill and offered the sauteed shrimp to the salad eaters. We also inquired about the 2 entrees that had not arrived and were told how busy the kitchen was at that time with room service orders and how they had 60 people in the restaurant the night before and had run out of things. His tone was adversarial and unapologetic. We were stunned! When my husband's blackened fish arrived looking rather beige instead of "blackened", my husband asked him about it. The manager, Calvin, had the nerve to go back to the kitchen and return with a pan of beige fish to show my husband that his fish was the "blackened" fish. Again, we were shocked. Calvin is the most unprofessional restaurant manager we have ever encountered. How he became a manager in a Marriott property restaurant is completely beyond me. He clearly does not value his customers or his job. While we were finishing our dinner, we heard the sound of glass breaking between the bar and restaurant. We turned around to find that Calvin had broken a glass but instead of immediately cleaning it up he covered it up with a towel and a napkin. That way he wouldn't have to take precious time away from watching the game to make sure his restuarant was clean and SAFE for his guests. We later kicked a piece of glass after dinner while we waited for friends to arrive after the game. This place is poorly managed, and I will NEVER eat here again. I don't know what service is like when the Saints aren't playing, but if servicing 10 or so customers is too much for their staff to handle.....they have some retraining and reorganizing to do!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with a convention, and all of our meetings were held at this location. We were able to walk to most of the local attractions (Bourbon Street, Harrah's, etc.). Rooms are pleasantly decorated and seem updated and clean. This hotel has two towers, and I didn't see any real advantage to one over the other - views appear the same, same distance to get to hotel amenities, etc. There is a restaurant on the lobby level, which has slightly better than average food, but the menu is pretty limited (and it's at hotel lobby prices - expensive). There were constantly lines at the front desk, but I know the hotel was sold out and very busy with the convention there. The elevators took me a minute to figure out, but they are quite efficient, which is great because during a convention with a sold out hotel I would normally expect to wait, but the wait times were usually quite short. During my visit I requested my room be cleaned at a certain time, and they complied with that. There is a full Starbucks in the lobby. The trolley is right outside the hotel, and taxis are plentiful out front as well - but we pretty much walked everywhere as a group. One side of the hotel has a river view, if that's your thing. I had city views, which is fine for me. This is a tall hotel - can't remember how many floors, but I usually request a high floor to stay away from city sounds. However, this usually means that if the elevator is packed, I have to endure many stops before getting to my floor - but their elevator system seems to help with that considerably. If you're looking to plan a business meeting, I highly recommend this hotel. Meeting rooms were nice, the service was good, and it was extremely convenient. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid city sounds. Some rooms have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-South
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

I love good customer service and it's top shelf at this property from every single employee you come in contact with. Kudos. Great value for cruise package...room, wonderful breakfast and parking during cruise. Only downside was the noise and housekeeping coming in while sleeping. Will be back for a conference in 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I typically love staying at Marriott's when traveling for business, because they are usually very good at providing a standard level of service.

Pros:
This hotel was right across from the convention center, had a Starbucks in the lobby, was within walking distance to the Riverwalk mall, and had pretty quick room service. Their concierge lounge had a nice variety of food at dinner. They only had water and sodas in the fridge (other lounges have juice as well), and did not serve alcoholic beverages.

Cons:
The service provided by the hotel was variable in terms of customer service. When calling for housekeeping services when I left the room for 3 hours, and then came back, it was still not completed. When asking questions (like how to have a room charged to your credit card for your boss), having a reservation representative repeat an answer that does not apply to your question can be frustrating. It is always helpful to ask for a manager at this point.

Overall, I would stay here again if traveling for business at the convention center.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I was in New Orleans recently for a work related stay. This hotel did not disappoint! The staff is professional and very helpful, the rooms large, nice, well maintained and comfortable. Anything you need the staff will find it for you including taxis, shuttles, site-seeing recommendations, etc. It is also located just steps from many great area attractions. Of course the area is known for great food. I visited many restaurants while in New Orleans. Many were great but the hotel dining room was truly one of the best which was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.