We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the bar experience... not the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboula's

Bamboula's
514 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Improve this listing
Ranked #654 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cajun & Creole, Pizza, Seafood, Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go for the bar experience... not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were out for the early music on Frenchman and stopped by Bamboula's to grab a bite a few drinks before continuing our evening. I had really high hopes because it was a new place and the menu sounded really great. Unfortunately, both of our meals were pretty disappointing. First, it was only 6pm on a Friday and they were out of alot of stuff. I ordered the Caribbean plate with the brisket and the pulled pork with the island slaw and black beans/rice. The meats tasted the same and were overly spicy and the island slaw didnt have any flavor at all. My boyfriend got the sliders and had the same comment about everything tasting the same. The service was very friendly but they charged me for a more expensive meal. They corrected it for me but when I received the credit card receipt to sign it was for a different amount than the bill. It just felt a little sloppy overall. I think they should lose trying to be a restaurant and stick with drinks and music.. which seemed like a great one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    8
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great New Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Bamboula's on Frenchmen Street has a great vibe ! We heard Raddy Tattat and the Cats....rock and zydeco, and Smokey Greenwell...blues. Both bands had the place packed. There was no cover, so put money in the tip jar or buy a cd. Bar drinks were good, staff friendly, a great place to go !

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stopped in while hopping around on Frenchman street. The bar gets jammed, i guess because there is no cover and of course since the music is good. Just remember to put money in the tip bucket when they come around.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic New Orleans Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Fantastic bands. Clearly experienced. The second band was Lil Red and Big Band. Lil Red was a fabulous singer with so much feeling. The bar tenders were awesome and mixed up some great drinks. Even on a quiet Wednesday night we had a wonderful time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta ga.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time on Frenchmen St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I think this club is fairly new. Really nicely decorated, easy to get a seat. They serve some food, although we didn't have any. Clean, nice, fun, great music the two nights we were there. Fun to watch the people dance, I could never keep up with those steps and twirls!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboula's also viewed

 

Been to Bamboula's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboula's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.