We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   519 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

If you're looking for something away from the madness but close enough to partake in it, this is the place. I stayed in a one bedroom condo and couldn't have been happier. The room was spacious and clean, there's a nice little patio on the second floor, and there's a pool and hot tub out back. As for management, they were easy to deal with and recommended several amazing places to eat. Another plus is the hotel is located across the street from several bars where the locals go to hear live music so you don't have to deal with Bourbon St if that's a bit too crazy for you. But if Bourbon is your thing, it's a 5 min walk and you are in the thick of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My husband and I had never been to New Orleans before so when we saw the location on the map we were somewhat skeptical as it seemed from the little we knew to be off the beaten path and away from where our friends were staying. Lesson learned--don't rely on a tourist map. We couldn't have been more wrong and the location could not have been more ideal.

I was in town for the Mardi Gras Half Marathon so while I wanted to be able to explore the sights and take in the nightlife, I also needed to be able to relax as well. This place was incredible. There is a kitchen with all the amenities, a beautiful bathroom complete with state-of-the-art shower and soaking tub, and a gorgeous living room. There were flat screens in both the bedroom and the living room and an amazing stereo system. We may not have spent a ton of time in our room, but it was great to have a place to unwind and recharge at the end of the day....or end of a late night.

Also, the staff could not have been more wonderful. Our room was consistently cared for and anything that we needed it was instantly taken care of. A true VIP experience.

As for the location, it ended up being an absolute godsend. It's a GREAT thing not to be on Bourbon Street, but at the same time, the Frenchmen Orleans is located in the heart of real New Orleans. While all the attractions (Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, Harrah's, Bourbon Street, etc.) are a short stroll away, bars and live music clubs where locals go (not where tourists puke and strippers dance) are right outside your door. It has a real neighborhood feel and by the end of your trip, you'll be reluctant to say goodbye. Also, with an elegant courtyard and fountain running the only sound you'll hear when you go to bed at night (or early morning) isn't the blare of music, but the soothing sound of the fountain. Again, it was great to be able to visit the tourist spots, spend time with the locals and hear some local music, and return to a place we could truly consider a home base. We are already planning a return trip. If we could stay anywhere in New Orleans, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Staying here is like staying in some one's condominium. We had a two bedroom suite which was very spacious. Included were a very nice living room, a full kitchen, two bedrooms and a nice bathroom. If you're tired of being crowded in a hotel room (especially if you have more than two people) this is the place to stay. The front desk was always staffed and very nice. I did get to see a one bedroom and though larger than a hotel room it would not work for more than two people as the couch in the living room was not convertible into a bed. There is parking behind the hotel for $12 per day and if you have a car it is well worth taking this option as parking in New Orleans is always an ordeal. My only complaint is that we did not get our room serviced on Sunday. It wasn't a big deal to me so I didn't ask why. I am sure that if I did they would have taken care of it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Hotel was somwhat run down, tv didn't even have a power button, but we were brought a new one. We had a suite, so we had plenty of room, rm 300 was the size of an apartment. Air conditioner didn't cool well, ceiling fan in bedroom didn't work. Nice immense antique furniture was impressive, the king size bed in bedroom was so comfy. Sofa sleeper in living room was a backbreaker.
Front desk clerks (especially Angela) were super nice and helpful.
Location couldn't have been better, easy walk to French Market, small delicious cafes, art, antiques, jazz bars. We felt safe because the Fire Station was right across the road. Pool was nice, rooftop patio wonderful. No elevator. Large clean bathroom, large full kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort

Address: 519 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festiva Hospitality Group is proud to introduce its very own Frenchmen Orleans. Within walking distance of all the world-famous French Quarter attractions and the newly acclaimed cultural and arts district of Frenchmen Street, the Frenchmen Orleans is as close to the action of New Orleans as you can be! Whether you’re there for shopping, history, architecture, music, art, sightseeing or Mardi Gras, the Frenchmen Orleans is the perfect home base for a stay in the Big Easy for any interest and age group.After a busy day enjoying the sights and sounds of the city you may wish to take advantage of the Frenchmen Orleans’ private courtyard, pool and spa; or perhaps you want to enjoy a quiet evening inside preparing a meal in your fully equipped kitchen. Regardless, our staff is committed to your comfort and convenience during your stay.Connect with Festiva Hospitality Group on the major social networking sites. Festiva is very active on following and updating new and information so you will never lose track of events and specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Orleans At 519, a Festiva Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchmen Orleans at 519, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.