We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour
2306 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)
504 821 5009
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Edgar Degas House Impressionist Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #200 of 476 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Once Home to the French Impressionist Edgar Degas, the Degas House Historic Home, Courtyard & Inn is a master-piece of history and hospitality. It is the only home or studio of Degas anywhere in the world that is open to the public beautifully restored and located on majestic Esplanade Avenue just eleven blocks from the famous French quarter. Extensive collection of Degas' reproductions are available by appointment, and our gift shop offers high quality remembrances of your visit. If a wedding or special event is in your plans, our lovely courtyard and grand parlors will provide the perfect setting for unique and treasured memories for guests and families.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

the artwork is a definite revelation of Mr. Degas love of ballerinas. this is a great venue for intimate affairs.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A trip into art history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Don't expect to see original art by Degas (go to the New orleans Museum of Art for that) but you will get an inside view of Creole family history from one of Degas' great grand nieces. The house is a work in process and the tour is casual & personal. We thought it was definitely worth the $15 price.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was neat to see where Edgar Degas stayed and painted. What made it even more interesting was the tours are given by his great grand niece. She gives a very good tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do the "Breakfast and a Tour" program!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I did not stay at the B&B, but I got their early for their Breakfast and a Tour program ($35). If you do this as well, make sure to both call ahead for a reservation AND confirm your reservation the day before. When I got there, the cook had not been told that I would be there. Fortunately, she was SUPER nice about it, and still had things set up in the kitchen for the B&B guests, so I still got food - which was amazing. I highly recommend the French toast w/ bananas.

The tour started after breakfast and was given by the great-grandniece of Degas. The "House" is actually two houses that used to be connected, and you get to see a bit of each, including the room that was Degas' studio during his 4 month stay at the house. The tour is more of an education on the family history of Degas than of the actual house, but you get some of that as well. Over all, definitely worth the $35! (I believe just going on the tour - without breakfast - was $10 or $15)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Paint where Degas painted...FUN...FUN....FUN!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I did not stay here, but i attended the Bottle and Brushes Program one evening for a few hours - there was wine and nibbles - we were in the big front room, where Degas painted back in the day - it was $40 - call for reservations - Mark and the rest of the staff were great...the teacher was lovely - sorry, i can't recall her name - but i got to paint a ballerina - a replica of one of his famous works - SO MUCH FUN...i did a mardi gras themed one - complete with mask - although, i have to confess, it was because i messed up the face!!! Great ideas evolve when necessity dictates it! They do have tours of the house, but i did not have the time...i look forward to doing another one the next time i'm back in town...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.