We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour

Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour
2306 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)
504 821 5009
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #88 of 172 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Once Home to the French Impressionist Edgar Degas, the Degas House Historic Home, Courtyard & Inn is a master-piece of history and hospitality. It is the only home or studio of Degas anywhere in the world that is open to the public beautifully restored and located on majestic Esplanade Avenue just eleven blocks from the famous French quarter. Extensive collection of Degas' reproductions are available by appointment, and our gift shop offers high quality remembrances of your visit. If a wedding or special event is in your plans, our lovely courtyard and grand parlors will provide the perfect setting for unique and treasured memories for guests and families.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was neat to see where Edgar Degas stayed and painted. What made it even more interesting was the tours are given by his great grand niece. She gives a very good tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do the "Breakfast and a Tour" program!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I did not stay at the B&B, but I got their early for their Breakfast and a Tour program ($35). If you do this as well, make sure to both call ahead for a reservation AND confirm your reservation the day before. When I got there, the cook had not been told that I would be there. Fortunately, she was SUPER nice about it, and still had things set up in the kitchen for the B&B guests, so I still got food - which was amazing. I highly recommend the French toast w/ bananas.

The tour started after breakfast and was given by the great-grandniece of Degas. The "House" is actually two houses that used to be connected, and you get to see a bit of each, including the room that was Degas' studio during his 4 month stay at the house. The tour is more of an education on the family history of Degas than of the actual house, but you get some of that as well. Over all, definitely worth the $35! (I believe just going on the tour - without breakfast - was $10 or $15)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Paint where Degas painted...FUN...FUN....FUN!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I did not stay here, but i attended the Bottle and Brushes Program one evening for a few hours - there was wine and nibbles - we were in the big front room, where Degas painted back in the day - it was $40 - call for reservations - Mark and the rest of the staff were great...the teacher was lovely - sorry, i can't recall her name - but i got to paint a ballerina - a replica of one of his famous works - SO MUCH FUN...i did a mardi gras themed one - complete with mask - although, i have to confess, it was because i messed up the face!!! Great ideas evolve when necessity dictates it! They do have tours of the house, but i did not have the time...i look forward to doing another one the next time i'm back in town...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A museum and B&B all in one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for several nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was undergoing renovations and wasn't completely "put together" but we liked the casual but elegant environment. Beautiful courtyard for breakfast outside in the morning and wine in the afternoon. Our room had a balcony and we enjoyed sitting out there, too. Plenty of food for breakfast. Lovely neighborhood. Another side of the City and quite beautiful.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour for history and art lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I took this tour on a whim and am so glad that I did. It was really interesting and entertaining. If you like history and/or art, take this tour. It’s a little long, but worth the time spent. One of the best things I have done in multiple trips to New Orleans. They have a great little courtyard and are right near a small park, so if you are travelling with someone that might not be into this tour, tell them to bring a book and go relax outside. Also, I walked to the house from the French Quarter, and while it is a bit of a walk, I recommend it because it’s so pretty to walk down Esplanade Avenue and you really get to see a variety of beautiful New Orleans homes.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour to your Saves list