We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour for history and art lovers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour

Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour
2306 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)
504 821 5009
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Edgar Degas House Impressionist Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #200 of 476 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Once Home to the French Impressionist Edgar Degas, the Degas House Historic Home, Courtyard & Inn is a master-piece of history and hospitality. It is the only home or studio of Degas anywhere in the world that is open to the public beautifully restored and located on majestic Esplanade Avenue just eleven blocks from the famous French quarter. Extensive collection of Degas' reproductions are available by appointment, and our gift shop offers high quality remembrances of your visit. If a wedding or special event is in your plans, our lovely courtyard and grand parlors will provide the perfect setting for unique and treasured memories for guests and families.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour for history and art lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I took this tour on a whim and am so glad that I did. It was really interesting and entertaining. If you like history and/or art, take this tour. It’s a little long, but worth the time spent. One of the best things I have done in multiple trips to New Orleans. They have a great little courtyard and are right near a small park, so if you are travelling with someone that might not be into this tour, tell them to bring a book and go relax outside. Also, I walked to the house from the French Quarter, and while it is a bit of a walk, I recommend it because it’s so pretty to walk down Esplanade Avenue and you really get to see a variety of beautiful New Orleans homes.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Did not want to miss this tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Edgar Degas House was a great way to start our morning walk. We took bus #91 from the Garden District and was dropped off in front of the house. Joan is a delight to meet and is a relative of Edgar. She explains the family tree and is an asset to this tour. The house is still acquiring furniture and is rather sparse but the history lesson of the family is worth it especially if you are an Impression fan like me. After touring this house we walked to NOLA. I found out about this house through Frommers walking tour of Esplanade. Worth checking out. Clip off a coupon on one of the tourist maps.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Something Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Tried this place for a night out. This was a groupon or living social deal. Our room was VERY hot and took hours to cool off. We never got our welcome drink. The breakfast was good. Overall, nice to do something different.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family skeletons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Edgar Degas had a brother living in New Orleans so he came to pay a visit. While he was here the brother deserted his wife and ran off with a neighbour woman so poor Edgar stayed on to try to smooth things over. The house is actually two houses which serve as a Bed and Breakfast so you can stay if you like. I just came for the tour and I suggest you call ahead to make sure when tours will take place the day you want to visit. You'll hear lots of family gossip and scandal. The houses and yards are very attractive and boast a few examples of Degas' work done here. From the Quarter you can walk up Esplanade Avenue or take the bus. It's about a 60 minute leasurely stroll. St Louis Cemetery is a bit further on and City Park with the Art Museum and Sculpture Garden further on still.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bottles and Brushes at Degas House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

During our recent stay in NOLA, my wife and I spent an evening at Degas House enjoying their Bottles and Brushes art program. Neither of us are artists and had a wonderful time. The idea is that you come and enjoy a pre-program cocktail and then a local artist guides you through the process of completing your own painting based on one of the works of artist Edgar Degas. You actually paint in the same studio where he worked while he lived with family in New Orleans. We had a great time. It was really fun, totally casual, and we both ended up with pieces we were proud of. Cost is very reasonable. Starts at 530 and ends by about 8-830, early enough that we had dinner in the Quarter afterward. We did not stay at the Degas House but spoke to a couple who did and stated that they enjoyed their stay. Whether you stay or not, I would encourage you to call and tour the home and do the "Bottles and Brushes" program. See their website for details.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.